ARB Under Bonnet Air Compressor
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:16
Member - Reiner G (QLD)
I'm looking at compressors right now and would like to know if this is the one to buy or is there something better on the market. Been told the price is not a good guide for quality.
Reiner
Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:50
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:50
Reiner,
I was told by an ARB Salesman that the Bushranger Max Air Pi$$ed all over their own Brand Of Compressor Which is what I have at the moment.
Matt
Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:07
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:07
Could be better or worse, all I know is that I am extremely happy with the way my ARB unit has been doing the job for many years now, in all types of conditions.
Happy
trails, Mike.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:21
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:21
My ARB under bonnet as fitted with the diff locks has had plenty of use without coming unstuck . The only problem I had was that it used to spray oil . Apparently this is part of the way it works and ARB fitted a tube to it to take any oil to the bottom of the engine .
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:24
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:24
Oil?? or condensation?
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:29
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:29
Leroy ,
My mechanical skills are as bad as my computer skills . All I know is that when I got back from my last trip where I used the diff locks a lot , there was oil around the compressor . They looked at it and said it comes out when blah blah blah , but we can stop the mess by fitting this dump tube .
Sorry I am not more help .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:17
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:17
That would be diff oil, can come back through the tube especially when the locks haven't been used for a while.
Reply By: Banjo 1 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:21
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:21
Yep - as with Mike, my ARB has been a winner for years.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:41
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:41
My ARB lives under the drivers
seat away from dirt, dust mud and crap
Works on my tires, and lockers.
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:55
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:55
thank you heaps for all the replies, sounds like the ARB unit is pretty good. I like the under
seat position.
Better put it on my Christmas list, i might get lucky :-)
Reiner
Follow Up By: V8troopie - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:42
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:42
If you mount it under the
seat better invest in some good earplugs as
well. These thing are way too noisy to have inside the cabin IMO, especially if its used with diff locks and would cut in randomly then. Could cause an accident, that sudden loud roar from under the
seat :-0
Klaus
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:46
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:46
Sudden loud roar? cause crash?
Something *MIGHT* have been wrong with yours,
mine is fine under there.
used it numerous times to inflate others tires while sittin in the
seat..
YMMV
Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:01
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:01
I agree too.. have just bought the ARB one as although it might cost a little more than some others (less than some too) it has the full support of Austrlaia Wide ARB so- whever I am I can get it repaired and I know ARB stuff is tried and tested.. only regret is not getting it mounted.. will do it myself over Christmas.. that way it's always there when you decide to head off on that spur of the moment drive up
the beach etc..
Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:08
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:08
I got Max-Air under the bonnet and it is doulbe the speed of the ARB compressor...
Reply By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:54
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:54
Once upon a time there was a air compressor who, boasting how he could inflate tyres faster than anyone else, was forever teasing little arb compressor for its slowness. Then one day, the irate arb compressor answered back: "Who do you think you are? There's no denying you're swift, but even you can be beaten!" The max air squealed with laughter.
"Beaten in a race? By whom? Not you, surely! I bet there's nobody in the world that can win against me, I'm so speedy. Now, why don't you try?"
Annoyed by such bragging, the arb compressor accepted the challenge. A course was planned, and the next day at fraser island they stood at the starting line. The max air yawned sleepily as the meek arb compressor trudged slowly off. When the max air saw how painfully slow his rival was, he decided, half asleep on his feet, to have a quick nap. "Take your time!" he said. "I'll have forty winks and catch up with you in a minute."
Reply By: Witchdoctor - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:53
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:53
I am running a co2 inflation system it's tops, i would not have an inflation device that comes with wires TOO SLOW.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:34
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:34
I couldn't give a rats if my tyres take 5 or 10 minutes to air up. I can crack a can, have a quick coffee compare stories on the last leg of the trip, bag the guy with the jeep, whatever...
If you are in that much of a hurry you might as
well stay in the big smoke where the pace of life is faster.
I'll pit my ARB against an empty air up CO2 system half way down the canning any day. Too big to carry compared with a compressor when space is at premium too.
I didn't see an AirUp refill station at
Well 33 but then I wasn't looking :o)
My ARB has performed faultlessly and that's all I ask of it.
Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:46
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:46
I like that reply dave and thats how I feel. Holiday starts when you leave home and I don't care either if it takes a bit longer. A slow pumperupperer is still quicker than a broken one. Do they honestly have a pump thingy on the CSR now? I did the canning in 97 up on two wheels and down on 4, the only thing I remember is the bathtub somehwere half way with a pump and a phone box with a solar panel on top. reverse charge calls only :-)
have to get back there soon.......hmm
Reiner
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:08
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:08
I'll put my vote in for the ARB under the
seat.
Mine is under the passenger side so whenit kicks in it sounds like mum is farting and we all get a laugh while it pressures up.
Follow Up By: rickwagupatrol - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:30
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:30
Yup, ARB under the passenger
seat,,,missus loves it for some reason...:)
been there for three years and never missed a beat. as for time to inflate,,,who cares, your on a break from the fast pace.
rick.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:25
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:25
There's an ARB one and a Glind Shower on Ebay at the moment.
Long quiet boring night shift at work - 6 hours down 8 to go.
I've been through the entire 4wd accessories section - 18 pages and couldn't find an item to bid on.
Very depressing as that possibly means I have more toys than I need.
Though I did go into Trelly's (the guns & rod
shop in Shep) for 2 new shrimp nets ($15) for cod opening last week and walked out with a new rod & reel ($180) so i guess lifes not over yet.
I certainly knew I was alive when I got home and told Lynne I'd bought my Christmas present for her - she didn't buy the I thought I'd save her valuable time excuse!
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:50
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:50
The ARB compressor is primaraly used for diff lock opperation. (high preasure/low capacity) For pumping tyres they are comparitively slow although seem to be a quality unit that just keeps going. "is there something better on the market".
Well yes. Bushranger Maxair are twice as fast & arguably the best alround portable compressor for the price. Thomas pumps are both faster & continuously rated for heavy use.
The big Thumper beats them all at 3 to 4 cfm with the belt drive compressors 25% quicker again. All comes down to how many tyres you intend to pump up, how often & how long you want to wait.
Cheers Craig........
Reply By: Pterosaur - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 00:17
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 00:17
G'day Reiner,
I have an ARB compressor fitted under the bonnet of my troopy for my diff locker, with a fitting to attach an air hose for tyre inflation. Has worked faultlessly so far, and didn't seem to be appreciably slower than the maxx compressor my mate had when we were reinflating tyres on
Cape York.
It did spray a bit of oil while I was using it (diff oil), and when I got back home the ARB crew told me it was a problem with an "O ring" at the diff end of the airlocker line, and took the troopy in for a day to replace it ( at no charge to me). Good service I reckon, and the compressor seemed to be as reliable as one could wish, although the plastic protective cap over the air hose fitting did melt ! Bit hot under the bonnet for plastic, I guess.
Hopr this helps
Terry