Best overall All terrain

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:51
ThreadID: 28667 Views:25124 Replies:14 FollowUps:15
Hi Guys,
Anybody mildly surprised that after comprehensive testing of the fourteen top selling all terrain tyres by 4wd monthly over many surfaces that Pirelli Scorpion has come up trumps.It has out scored Cooper and left BFG midfield in the testing.Results from top to bottom go like this:Pirelli,Cooper,B/stone,Kumho,Michelin,Yokohama,Dunlop,BFG,Serengeti,Micky t,Toyo,Silverstone,Simex,Goodyear.
Dunno how much faith you read into these tests coz i have a set of Kumho's and i doubt i would rate them ahead of Michelin and according to the test Dunlop Grandtrek AT2 has come in ahead of BFG.The testing is extensive though and makes interesting reading.
Cheers Mark

Reply By: Mike - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:05

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:05
I believe there is a BIG difference between a controlled test and the real world. Firstly, look at what the guys outback use, they're overwhelmingly with BFGs. Second, try to buy a pirelli at Birdsville or Derby? Thanks but I'll stick with my BFGs.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 142752

Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:10

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:10
yeah had a good read of that article. interesting results too.

can't wait to get get rid of those Goodyears i've got on the frontera .....................
AnswerID: 142754

Reply By: Trev88 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:27
Interesting that Coopers came out so far ahead of the BFG's I like the look of the BFG's but it looks like I might try out the Coopers when I chnage from the Standard tires i have.

Problem is the 17" rims on the playdo my choices are limited at this stage I figure the longer I wait I might actualy get to pick from more than 3 brands

I still think the test was over taken by the antidotal recoring of how a tire performed from one person (not knowing which was which) but as you know it is not just speed over the same corner it is also the line and it is hard to repeat the same line and speed over and over again.

Cheers Trev
AnswerID: 142755

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:27

Interesting figures, but I for one wouldn't give you 2 bob for Pirelli Scorpions.

Had a set on a Disco a few years back and they were average at best and didn't last more than 40K.

AnswerID: 142756

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 20:00

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 20:00
G'Day Rosco,

Been trying to reply to your E-Mail but the optusnet address keeps bouncing.

You can E-mail the new one to

uhuforrest AT yahoo DOT com DOT au

Rolande

FollowupID: 397203

Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:51

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 10:51
It is like vehicles: the common are common because they represent good value for money.

Sometimes a dearer product is good value for money, other times a cheaper one.

I've had my fingers burned more often by stepping out of line than anything else.
AnswerID: 142758

Reply By: scoof - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:01

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:01
I would not recomend Michelin for stoney outback roads , I had a few punchers last trip. Even the guy at Pink roadhouse comented how thin it was.The tryers would have been about 20,000 km old hlf worn.I know I would never get them again.
Scoof
AnswerID: 142794

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:07

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:07
punchers??
FollowupID: 396330

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:15

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:15
Yeh punchers from rocks going in between the tread .The others I was traveling with had no probs all traveling together.At times we changed the order in which we lined up but it didn't seam to make a huge difference , I also tried different tyre pressures.????????
FollowupID: 396334

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:35

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:35
Ali and Fenech were punchers.
Holes in tyres are punctures.

I think Shaker was being picky, but I knew what you meant.
FollowupID: 396337

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:45

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:45
I was a puncher 2 may that's what's wong.
FollowupID: 396338

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:31

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:31
We have the Scorpions on the pathfinder... I wouldnt dare take them offroad.. They are less of an AT than a road tire.

>>> Dunno how much faith you read into these tests
Is there a number below zero?
AnswerID: 142799

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:53

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:53
you've probably got a point there truckie.

You only have to look at the Scorpion's profile - and the test result swhich show that it did best on the blacktop (from memory)

It did well in other areas but you do wonder...............
FollowupID: 396381

Reply By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:17

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:17
Which MickeyTs did they test - FC2 or MTX?

AnswerID: 142812

Follow Up By: South - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:12

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:12
FCII... I was surprised how poorly the rated, as I've heard good reports about them.

Pirelli won on-road, whilst Cooper won off-road...
FollowupID: 396394

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:28

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:28
I run FC2s - 305/70/16

I'm pretty hard on tyres as most of my driving is outback roads and harsh rocky country. The FC2s havent punctured (yet) and have stood up well to the abuse.
They are excellent on rock and rocky terrain, wear well and dont chip too badly. Downside is they skate a bit on loose corners (the width wouldnt help there) and they are probably too noisy to be a good AT.
FollowupID: 396398

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:53

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:53
they did well in the high country too eh ..
FollowupID: 396502

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:16

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:16
Didn't happen to be an add for Pirelli Tyres in the same mag by any chance????

He who spend the most on advertising rates the highest in the results.

AnswerID: 142828

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:43

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:43
Hey... stop stealing my lines!
FollowupID: 396357

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:55

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:55
Errrr!!!! "OK" Sorry consider myself smacked. (Please)

FollowupID: 396370

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:55

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:55
oddly enough, as far as I remember from the mag, Pirelli were the only tyres that didn't have a full page ad.
FollowupID: 396383

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:06

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:06
Hi Marcus
Mate it's everyone to his own experience I think as far as tyres go, how much weight you carry on rough as guts roads can sort a lot of brands out.
I'm in earthmoving have a Landy 130 Defender ute, carry about one ton of gear around all the time on sealed roads, bush tracks over excavations etc.
Michelin have been the worst for me to soft in wall, Dunlop Adventures b----dy
hopeless tread lasts well but look like their full of tumors in about 3yrs .
Dunlop sp road grippers fantastic, hard to follow I know ?
Had Pirellies on Subaru car lasted well shocking balance problems, changed to Dunlop Monzas smooth as. I think where you travel what you do determins it all.
Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 142861

Reply By: NJ SWB - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:43
Last time 4wd Monthly did this the Cooper came out on top, despite low scores on bitumen. Obviously, cream always rises... :-)

Last time they tested with three Pajeros, this time with one Hilux. I wonder if the results would change if the testing was performed with a Troopy or Patrol?

Scott

AnswerID: 142869

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 01:04

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 01:04
my new jack came with bfg at fitted, so i'm pretty happy, knowing what sort of life i can expect, they are reasonable off road and great on road.

our 96 2wd hilux has bfg at fitted, last week it copped a nail in the tread and got repaired , and the tyre guy actually commented on how good they looked as far as tread left / condition goes, these tyres do a lot of dirt and gravel road work as well as general bitchy, and regularly carries a ton or more (with pressures adjusted accordingly of course). They were fitted at 50,000k and the vehicle is now at 165,000k !!!! Enough said i say, they have been awesome.

If i get half that on the jack I'll be wrapped...
AnswerID: 142923

Reply By: Member - Des - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:00

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:00
A Beaurepaires manager told me that he thought BFG were now off the pace with production standards and quality control. He ordered a set of BFG A/T's for a customer last year and found that they were ALL badly out of round - and the distributor was reluctant to change them. The manager said that the occasional out of round tyre was not that unusual, but 4 was a terrible indication, and the distributor's attitude suggested that the problem was common. His theory was that BFG (or Michelin, who own them) have such a market share that they rest on their laurels.

Dunno, but interesting story.
AnswerID: 142962

Reply By: Rasman - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:32

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:32
It basicly goes to show that as we move on in technolgy the tyres get better patterns like the BGF AT is out dated and are now soley relying on there reputation to sell them. Other products like the Pirelli, Cooper, Mickey T and Bridgestone are committed to give there customers a product that is up to date and goes under strong quality checks to ensure that you get what you pay for!
AnswerID: 143982

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:05
Rasman,

The pattern is only one component. A couple of years back the BFG changed to a new model with KO tagged on the end. This was apparently a compound change, many argued that it was a backward step off road but it may have helped on road performance. The tread pattern stayed the same. I am pretty sure other types have had compund/construction changes too without any real difference in tread pattern. The pattern on racing slicks has not changed much in the last 30 years so obviously the advancements have been in compound and construction.

Even within an brand there are different manufacturing sources, some dud's only in particular sizes and so on so it's hard to generalise.

Seems like Coopers are flavour of the month at the moment and I'm often asked why I still run around on BFG's. My answer is this, from what I have heard Cooper are a good tyre, perhaps better than BFG, but I've been using BFG AT 265/75/16 made in USA for a long time now with ZERO problems. If and when I do I may consider a change, until then it's a problem I don't need to solve.

I 100% agree that BFG are relying on thier reputation to sell their tyres, at least to me!!

Have a good one..
FollowupID: 397490

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:14

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:14
Rasman,

Opps, just found you on another thread:

"Hi Rigor..... The Cooper's are made in the USA by one manufacturer Cooper Tire and Rubber Co. There are 5 plants across the USA which produce the tyres and are all operated by Cooper Tire and Rubber Co.
All the Cooper Tires undergo over 200 quality control checks to make sure that the tyres measure up to there high standards. Cooper Tires are also well known for being the tyre with two names, in the building process the builder puts his or her personal identification on the tyre as a hallmark of Cooper craftsmanship. If you have any questions about Cooper Tires please call 1300 COOPER (1300 266 737).

http://www.coopertires.com.au/tyres/index.htm "

Seems like you know quite a lot about tyres and may find my reply somewhat inane, sorry about that....
FollowupID: 397492

Follow Up By: Rasman - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:42

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:42
Thats great that the BFG has been a good choice for you as the old saying goes "if it aint broke don't fix it" many people have different choices in there tyres many stay with the brand they have been using for the last 5 -10 years others like to put there feelers and try something new maybe to get better miles maybe for beter traction etc. Each to their own I spose.
FollowupID: 397495