Diesel bugs

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:29
ThreadID: 28681 Views:2789 Replies:11 FollowUps:19
I have just had the 120TD serviced and injectors and rail cleaned. With only 50K on the clock, there was a load of junk (bugs!) come out of the system that filled the lower 1/5 of a 1.5 litre softdrink bottle. It looked like milk curd and I believe this to be diesel growth.

What is it and how can I stop it? I have seen the ad for the Debug but am very sceptical about another magnetic cleansing/joint aches and bug removal device. I am not against additives but would like to know what works best and where to get it. I am based in Newcastle.

Rob

Reply By: brd - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:49
Rob
Most diesel growths are slimey, mucous looking masses...black, brown or green are more common. Is yours a milky colour, or the consistency of milk curd?

You need to remove any water from the fuel system to remove the breeding medium, but that doesn't kill the resistant spores of the fungi. A biocide is needed to do that. HB Sales at Islington stock the FTC Decarbonizer, which is also a biocide. If it is the fuel bug that will clear it up. Then make sure you get your fuel from a good source, drain fuel sediments regularly, etc.
AnswerID: 142838

Follow Up By: roblin - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:16

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:16
Milky colour but in a semi-solid mass when it settled. Does anyone use a DeBug unit?
FollowupID: 396346

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:49

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:49
I use chemtech deisel additive to kill the bugs.

John D
AnswerID: 142839

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:03

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 17:03
G'day John, who stocks chemtech?
FollowupID: 396341

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:47

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:47
you should be able to buy it at good auto parts places or most truck stops, comes in a blue container (small) or can be bought in about 2 litre bottle.
I bought my last bottle at supercheap.
FollowupID: 396363

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:10

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:10
I also use Chemtech. Slip it in every time I fill - had no issues over the past few years. Most auto shops stock it.

Don't forget the basics - fill up at truck stops so you get fresh diesel; keep your tanks relatively full, so water condenstion isn't occuring; and alternate your two tanks.
FollowupID: 396405

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 09:17

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 09:17
Thanks guys will get some today.
FollowupID: 396436

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:23

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:23
Roblin,
I have had a Morison & Morison De-Bug unit for about 3 years now and haven't had any issues with dirty fuel. The only thing I can say which may encourage you that this thing actually works is the following little story......

In September last year we went to Cape York, via Innaminka. Amate of mine with a 3L Patrol (from Yass), met up with us out there and we fuelled up from the same pump at Innaminka before heading off into Qld. About 100klm up the road his Patrol spluttered to a halt. It turned out that he only had to drain the fuel filter out, re-prime and he was off again. My Patrol with same fuel, had no such trouble. That may or may not have been anything to do with the DeBug unit......he may have already had a dose of gunk waiting to clog his filter (and can't have been too bad anyway I guess).

One other thing i would recommend..........keep your tank/s full all the time. A lot of blokes with big tanks, tend to only keep a small amount of fuel in the tank/s in the belief that the extra weight is adversely affecting their economy etc. Others only use their 4x4 for trips and tend to leave it garaged for weeks at a time and only fill the tank/s before a trip. My understanding is that partially filled tanks attract condensation and this then forms a thin layer of moisture (water) on top of the diesel. The algae and other krap lives in the air-gap (?) between the water and diesel and breeds like wildfire. So, if you keep your tank/s full there is less chance of moisture/condensation occuring etc

AnswerID: 142849

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:40
My my...what don't you have on that truck of yours.

As I have mentioned before...maybe NASA would be interested in your gadgetry.

How come my old 4.2 plodd3er doesn't get any of these ailments? Or is it bound to happen.

FollowupID: 396377

Follow Up By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:53

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 19:53
G'day Roachie, the diesel floats on top of the water not the other way round.Anyway the rotten little microbes live in the diesel and one of the best ways to slow 'em down is to chuck a couple of mothballs in the tank about once a month or so {mothballs = napthalene = hardware store usually}
We used it in trucks for about 20 or so years and it used to help a bit.

cabbageoz
Leave nothing but footprints and take nothing but photos
FollowupID: 396382

Follow Up By: carpenter ant - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:25

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 22:25
willem the reason you dont have any is they couldnt put up with your whinging at them lolol
FollowupID: 396411

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:08

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:08
who are you carpenter ant?
FollowupID: 396485

Reply By: Rigor - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 08:37

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 08:37
I am with you Willem , 4 diesels over the years , round Oz a couple of times and never had a fuel problem . Just luck I imagine as I add nothing to the fuel just normal filter changes when required.

Dave L.
AnswerID: 142933

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:42

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:42
Had a mate who had 3 filters full of that sort of gunk after a tank of pure biodiesel. I think the biodiesel sellers in SA are blending it these days to prevent this problem (or straining out the fish and chip remnants :-))
AnswerID: 142951

Follow Up By: Dodgy Dan (WA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:26

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:26
I think you'll find that the biodiesel kills any bugs and spores that are in the tank - they can't live in the biodiesel. The first few tanks of biodiesel will fill your fuel filter with crap - in this case it might be worthwhile putting a cheap in-line filter between the tank and the main filter.
FollowupID: 396449

Follow Up By: Member - Hughesy (SA) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:48

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:48
Phil I think your right about that Biodiesel. I've never had any problems with bad fuel in all my travelling but I filled up at Ceduna (at the servo call SAFF or something) the other week before doing the Goog Track. Truck ran alright but when I got home and did a full service the following week both fuel filters had heaps of water and crap in them.

The only thing I could put it down to was the fact that the diesel at that servo was 20% Biodiesel (they had brochures advertising the fact). Maybe a coincidence but I don't think so. Probably explains why it was about 7c/l cheaper than the rest of Ceduna too.
FollowupID: 396607

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:51

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 12:51
Most likely a microbiological contanimation which is a particular problem in diesel and aviation turbine fuels. It is probably the single biggest problem faced by scientists trying to develop storage solutions for these fuels.
The most common contamination is from a fungus-like micro-organism called Cladisporium Resinae. The fuel in storage tanks can sometimes develop a dirty slime at the fuel/water interface. Apart from being unsightly it can block tank strainers and vehicle fuel filters. If left unattended it can spoil the fuel and contribute to tank corrosion. These airborne spores which occur naturally in diesel, have an oxygen source from the water and use the elements as a food source to propagate growth. It becomes evident because of the fact that filters clog up, vehicles may lose power and their overall performance deteriorates.
The conventional method of eradicating the bug is to use a biocide. However, this has two major drawbacks in that both the water and the dead bug remains in the system and removal is costly.
In the aviation world, regular fuel samples are taken from various places in the airframe and engine fuels systems to try and pick the growth up long before it becomes a problem......nowhere to park up there if the engine(s) stop. Super fine 10 micron filters in the airframe fuel systems become blocked very quickly and go into bypass mode but it don't take long to contanimate the engine FCU once this happens.
Best solution is to try and prevent growth and that essentially means removing the water from the fuel to be successful - now here's an opportunity for those inventors among you to develop a gadget to put in the inlet of your fuel tank to try and get the water out before the fuel is pumped into your tank(s). The alternative is to use a biocide and if you do get a big contanimation flushing the entire fuel system several time to get as many of the spore out that you can. Good luck - there ain't an easy solution to this particular fuel storage problem.
(PS this stuff can't survive in leaded fuels so it is not a problem for storage of AVGAS or for that matter the leaded gasoline we used to use).
AnswerID: 142971

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:45

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 19:45
BOY OH BOY, How wrong can that statment be wake up guys I am sick of telling you all . Prevent ALL growth FIT FITCH check it out , IT is advertised on this site and that is why it is advertised.

Regards BILLS
FollowupID: 396776

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 21:19

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 21:19
ROB, There is an add appears on this forum on the side it is called FITCH it WILL fix ALL your problems in this regard no additives ever just fit it and forget it problem solved.
With this product now offering a 120% refund if not happy what have you to risk??? providing it is fitted correctly and to a HEALTHY motor.
I used to use chemtec in my business until i came accross FITCH.
And for all you sceptics out there I am quite entitled to answer this question in this forum. and as stated before say nothing untill you have experianced what it has to offer, then you have every right to comment
AnswerID: 143027

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 09:28

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 09:28
Is there anything a fitch can't do?

Leroy

PS I don't think it's your right to push your product the way you do on this forum
FollowupID: 396573

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 10:20

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 10:20
Bill,

Sceptascism is based on lack of scientific fact. This is the first claim I've heard that Fitch solves diesel bacterial growth, and now you add that Fitch will fix "ALL" our problems. I guess it works because the bugs eat enough of your BS to catalyse self destruction and die in symapthy with the other readers of this forum.

Hugh
FollowupID: 396577

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 10:06

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 10:06
LEROY, One thing Fitch cannot acheive is to FIX faults with engines,these need to be rectified before fitting
.And once again I purely answered a question with honesty to a member who asked about diesel growth,now if you feel this is promoting my product so be it. I am in the position to have documented proof of what I state in regards to my product.On another note I will never enter in to a debate on what I tell you, i tell you the truth on what I am told from users and my own experiance,it is your choice if you do not want to believe what I say.I really do not care if you bag what I tell you as you are the loser you pull your own plug..

BILLS

BILLS
AnswerID: 143079

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 11:01

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 11:01
HI HUGH WA, Mate sceptisism is ignorant fear of the unknown, think about it.

BILLS
FollowupID: 396581

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:51

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:51
So Bill,

How does a Fitch prevent algae and water problems in diesel tanks????
How does it work???
FollowupID: 396727

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:31

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:31
HI PHIL, In answer to your question,lets tackle the water problem first point 1/ water in fuel is caused by a few things the most common is thru handeling during transfere,a very important second is tha fact that a lot of people run their tanks near the low mark, this cause condensation to form on the uncovered area of the internal of the tank.
But a point here is Fitch will not fix water content and I have never stated that.
What fitch does is change the molectular structure of the fuel to enable it to burn more efficiantly thus deriving more from the same fuel. As most are aware fuel is manufactured to the best of the manufacturers ability, but they can do nothing about the deteroriation of the fuel thru storage.When fitch is fitted it is like you have a mini refinery in your system so that if you buy fuel that has been in storage for some time when it passes thru the catalyst it is reformed to as good or better than when it was made. You win. Hope this answers your question Or the other system is drop inns which lay in the fuel all the time and acheive the same result.

REGARDS BILLS
AnswerID: 143242

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:42

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:42
Change the molecular structure of diesel - what a load of codswallop! No device like the fitch can possible do that! Chem 101 will give you the fundamental understanding of matter Bill S - stand back and take a breather...the fitch is no bloody reactor!
AnswerID: 143374

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:01

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:01
Patrol22,, Fitch WILL change the molecular structure of Diesel or any other fossel fuel it comes into contact with. If diesel is documented to change from 50centain to 58centain after contact with the element, what sort of wallop is that/ And mate your are rifgt in your assumption of what it is one could probably call it a mini rerefiner .

Regards BILLS
FollowupID: 396937

Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 13:33

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 13:33
Guys. If you want a more precise answer to Fitches reaction on diesel here it is direct from the manufacturer.
When Fitch alloy metals come in contact with diesel they form a toxin which destroys the bacteria which grows the algie,and that is how it is done.
A similar thing that all accept is the fact that tin on the inside of food cans is similar in effect.
So do not say codswallod until you know what you are about
.And a very merry christmas and a happy new year to all my knockers and believers alike.

BILLS
FollowupID: 397158

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 17:50

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 17:50
Hello Bill,

Thank you for this folllow-up. Is the manufacturer able to provide a report detailing the reaction process and chemistry of the toxin? Also, I would be interested to know if the there has been toxicology studies into the effect of this toxin on the bacteria? I am not having a dig at you - I would truly like to read these reports out of scientific interest.

Hugh
FollowupID: 397192

Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:25

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:25
HI Hugh, Mate check out the parragon chemical report in relation to fitches ability to stop algia growth in diesel . This report is available on our website featured on this forum. Jusy click on our add on the RH side of the page and all is revealed.

Regards BILLS
AnswerID: 143808