Nissan Patrol 92 reliability, replacements?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 11:10
ThreadID: 28730 Views:4728 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
Replacing my 92, 4.2 D Nissan ? The car covered 340,00 Kms without failure, almost every trak in Australia. Does anyone have any comments on major mechanical problems that occur on these older (well serviced and maintained) Nissans?

As I am unsure wether there are much better bush tools out there to replace it with. New 4wd have shiny paint jobs ( that you spent 1/2 a life time recutting after a trip) , plastic gimicy stuff that falls off and I never wanted anyway, and engine systems I have'nt got a clue about ! Not really sure these are any real improvement on the old one.

Comment?

Reply By: vitara - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:24

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:24
Hi there Alan sorry to say but that is the way most of them are going now, all compuerised stuff, electronic injection, abs,(ifs, luckily not on the patrols yet) electric this and that, unless you buy the 4.2 again without the turbo, not so computerised. I’m debating whether to get rid of the old hilux and get new one (not the brand new shape) or stick with what I'v got. No computer only problem lacks the get up and go, but 280klms on the clock and still going well. Sometimes I think better the devil you know than some one else’s trouble. My’n has been around oz twice and have had no major trouble with it. Regular servicing and the like. Only had the injector pump done once, 2 new clutches, coming up for the third one, and have done the front knuckles twice with the second one only about 2 months ago. Cant complain about that. OME all round due for replacement now getting a bit soft. Any way good luck with your choice when you decide or if you decide to get a new one. I think they are all great vehicles, just depends on what you want, wheel travel cant go past the patrol, want refinement cant go past Toyota, want bullet proof drive line patrol once again, and to think I’m a Toyota man but you some times have to admit the truth ouch. Any way mate good luck with your choice. Regards Toyota
AnswerID: 143103

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:45

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:45
340,000 - its got another 300k klms at least left in it if its been serviced well!

Keep it, no plastic.. plus setup costs to get a new gigger where yours is now, would be quite expensive on top..

YMMV
AnswerID: 143109

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:14

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:14
Mate..as truckster said...its got another 300,000 to go..at least !!!

Id hang onto it. Bloody electronics are the pits now. Unless your up to date with tech....ya cant fix em at home no more. I cant recall the last time either one of my GQ's ever saw a workshop. Would have to be back in the late 80's..maybe 1991.

Ange
AnswerID: 143118

Reply By: revhead307 - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:54

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:54
G'day, must say i have to agree with the others

I just changed my 350,000km 88 GQ SWB diesel for an 88 GQ LWB Dsl (albeit imported)

Engine and mechanically the old one was still brilliant...but was needing the injectors, fuel pump...suspension looked at...and for its small resale ...was too much to spend.
I had only ever replaced the water pump..and the clutch, and it hasnt missed a beat.

The new (yet old) GQ, will last me many a year and am more than happy with it.

So i reckon keep what you have...spend a few $$$ to bring it back to scratch if necessary...

you would spend $$$ upgrading...then even more $$$ getting the setup as you have now.

Overall still saving a packet and having a good reliable vehicle.

rev

AnswerID: 143124

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:15

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:15
Only 1 choice if you want to get a new vehicle with all the old school bush freindly attractions (and the bonus is they are thinner than tthe patrol so less scratching) and that is the Normally aspirated 79 series ute or 78 Troopy
AnswerID: 143174

Follow Up By: warthog - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:55

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:55
Or if you want something a bit stronger a 4.2td patrol is the go ;-)
FollowupID: 396666

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:23

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:23
Last I checked the Patrols werent available without a fandangled intercooled turbo diesal and as for being stronger I will reserve my judgment until I see let alone use one out bush or down the hole
FollowupID: 396671

Follow Up By: warthog - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:22

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:22
Plenty of 'em here in the N.T. Still, I spose the sun does rise a bit later in W.A. Also plenty of people unhappy with the weak diff housings and prado gear boxes in the n/a 78/79's. There aint enough metal in the diff housings to handle constant high speed corrugations.
The 4.2 patrol has electronics, the fuel shut off solenoid. When they do arrive in W.A :-)) park one next to a 78/79, have a look underneath and compare the size of the drive line componentry.
FollowupID: 396762

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 20:53

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 20:53
Dont have to compare anything Ive used them for all sorts of things from Bulldozer out bush to underground miner to Open pits to loading them up with samples till the springs turn backwards. Never been much interested in what people have heard from other people coz i have personally tested them and found them to be VERY tough and up to the job
FollowupID: 396786

Follow Up By: warthog - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 21:11

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 21:11
Agreed, the old 75's were tough, have to disagree with you on the new ones though.
FollowupID: 396787

Reply By: Vince from Eastlakes 4 X 4 Club- Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:09

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:09
Cricky Alan, I got to get out more. My '92 -4.2 (Diesel) just clocked up 175,000 kms. I intend to keep it as long as possible and at the going rate that would be about 34 years......guess it's going to the grave with me!!!

Vinnie
AnswerID: 143185

Reply By: PatNav - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:09
GQ's are like Cheap toilet paper. Rough, tough and you cant put sh*t on it
AnswerID: 143557