a full on 48 seat bus convert

Submitted: Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 12:01
ThreadID: 28731 Views:3561 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Bumped into some old friends of ours last night, they've been busy for the last 3 years doing a full on bus conversion to a camper. Apparently its pretty rare, they've got the attention of all the businesses involved in that stuff, and some international people too she said. Bought for the original carcass at about $18K, worth $600K now. Full on bedroom, lounge, kitchen, shower, toilet, everything. Its meant to crap all over the Winnebagels. Haven't seen any no photos yet - and I might post some up if I get permission off the owners later. Tentatively teed up a labour day weekend somewhere with them, I can't wait.

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:26

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:26
Some photos... outside only. Click here
AnswerID: 143104

Follow Up By: signman - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:27

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:27
Nice departure angle at the rear.....NOT
FollowupID: 396611

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:29

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:29
Whats rare ? The Bus ? or the Conversion ?
AnswerID: 143105

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:32

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:32
Apparently the conversion is.
FollowupID: 396598

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:09

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:09
Not likely , but looks good all the same.

The Motorhome mob , have a base at Casino , should see some of the Buses they get.

I have seen a couple of those Double Decker Buses (the newish ones) converted to Motorhomes , and plenty of New Buses (few years old).

These things are worth as much as some smaller North Shore Homes (1m plus)
FollowupID: 396616

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:44

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:44
G'day Tonester,

Taking nothing away from your friends' efforts, but ppl have been doing that for years (long before Winnebago & the like caught onto it)....
Perhaps not so common nowadays, what with more & more ppl wanting to get "off the beaten track" ( hence the increasing popularity of campertrailers), but you still see a few of the oldies gettin' about....

Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 143108

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:51

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:51
Course they have. But buggered if I know anyone, or anyone who knew anyone. Esp just private individuals. I reckon its beaut. Bloke did it in the last few years, while looking after his son (now 4yo) and wife worked.
FollowupID: 396599

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:51

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:51
There must be hundreds if not thousands of buses like that running around Oz. Not such a rare event.

You see them in Deals on Wheels type magazines after the owners have done their Round the Block trip and have no more use for them and can find nowhere to park them.

BTW it is Winnebago not Winne bagels...thats something you eat lol
AnswerID: 143110

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:20

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:20
bagel was intentional cause I couldn't be assed looking up spelling
FollowupID: 396601

Follow Up By: techie - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:26

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:26
Actually, I like the term "Winne bagels", nice play on words.
Techie
FollowupID: 396620

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:29

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:29
That's a very large pop-top... if that's what it is!
AnswerID: 143121

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:00

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:00
love to have a look inside myself
FollowupID: 396608

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:59

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:59
It looks like he's done a great job Tone. Are they intending to tow a smaller vehicle with them?
AnswerID: 143127

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:07

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:07
Well, they got the square tow receiver shown in one of the photos... I think she said (aside from touring) they'd use it as a base camp and get another vehicle for running around. Something like that, was hard to hear, very noisy where we were, lotsa drink too, haha. Knows they will be limited in where they can get to in it.
FollowupID: 396610

Reply By: Blackie - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:42

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:42
Nice bus!!
But if you want something out of the ordinary have a look at this.
(it may have been on this site before)

link text

AnswerID: 143152

Follow Up By: Blackie - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:46

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:46
That link isn't working .Try this

http://www.robgray.com/index_mot.htm
FollowupID: 396635

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:04

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:04
So your mate spent the last few years as a stay at home dad and converted this bus into a tourer???? While his SWMBO worked??? Good for him! And for all the others who put bleep on it...

"There must be hundreds if not thousands of buses like that running around Oz. Not such a rare event. "

"Taking nothing away from your friends' efforts, but ppl have been doing that for years (long before Winnebago & the like caught onto it).... "

"That's a very large pop-top... if that's what it is!"

Didn't your mothers ever say "If you can't say something nice..... don't say anything at all!!!!!!!??????

Good on him!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 143163

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:33

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:33
Brian,
I note that you have quoted from my reply (above), so I will respond...
"Taking nothing away from your friends' efforts" meant just that!!!
It was NOT "putting bleep on it", it was meant as a compliment...
As you say, Good on him!!!!!

The thrust of my reply was in response to the claim that it is a rare conversion... It is by no means rare...

Again, nice effort... Good on him!!!!

satisfied???

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 396657

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:44

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:44
Ed,
I stand corrected on that one then..... I had indeed mis-interpreted your posting.... my apologies to you.
FollowupID: 396707

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:10

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:10
Ed - why did you interpret my posting ""That's a very large pop-top... if that's what it is!"" as anything other that what it said? The square-ish box stucture above the roof-line looks like it's designed to pop upwards in my mind. I think that'd be a great feature!

What are you trying to say?
FollowupID: 396722

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 08:57

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 08:57
Hey Brain and all. Back at work for the week :-(. Wouldn't get too worried about poo poo comments. Personally I reckon its great achievement, and so do they.
FollowupID: 396917

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:18

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:18
About as rare as getting an overdone steak at the BreakyCreek on a friday/saturday night.
AnswerID: 143193

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 08:52

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 08:52
and nice steaks they are too. I esp like where you can choose you own cow and go get it popped, skinned, sliced and done to your liking.
FollowupID: 396916