Hands up the landy members!

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:07
ThreadID: 28763 Views:3983 Replies:30 FollowUps:43
Been a member for some time but us Landy folk seem to be in short supply.I'm a 98 Defender owner from theMildura ,Vic area Just wondering how many like devoted folk are out there?
Cheers with guts and dignity,Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:13

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:13
Must have guts to admit owning a Landy. LOL.

AnswerID: 143281

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:09

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:09
Bwhahahahaha --- wonder how many people were thinking the same thing ?? i sure was :)

Frank

FollowupID: 396799

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 10:00

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 10:00
Na, they are all stuck out on the road trying to stop the oil leaks LMAO!

99% of all landys ever made are still on the road.
the other 1% made it home
FollowupID: 396819

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:52

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:52
I think he said hands up Landy owners, didn't he, well, which means that your childish comments are not really needed, if you haven't got anything better to do than have a go at someone about what vehicle they drive, then why comment at all, i mean would you say it to someone you don't knows face.

John i thought you were better than this, as for the other 2, well same old boring comments, yawn, yawn, get a life kok eds.

Baz, a proud Landy owner

FollowupID: 396844

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:07

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:07
Jeez!! Baz take it easy, Just a bit of the usual Yota v Nissan v Land rover v whatever fun. Nothing personal.

And yeah before the comment comes about you should not comment if you have not driven one etc, Well I have driven one and its so bloody small that a guy with my height found it the most uncomfortable vehicle I have ever driven, so personally I don't think to much of them.

Why do people get so defensive about other passing negative comments regarding the vehicle they may own, hang all you like on yota as I really don't care what others think, Its my money and I will do as I please with it.

Take care and have a good Xmas Baz.

FollowupID: 396849

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:08

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:08
Oh by the way I think Mary is a she not a he. LOL.

FollowupID: 396851

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:22

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:22
John, after a while it's not funny anymore, maybe the first 5000 times but after that NO NO NO.

Maybe i should take the bleep out of your car everytime you post, this way you might get to know what it's like !!!!!

After a while you would get sick of it.
FollowupID: 396852

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:33

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:33
I understand your point Baz, But life goes on as long as your happy with what you have thats all that matters. You remember the old sticks and stones.

FollowupID: 396853

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:42

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:42
Would you like a Ponstan Baz? or a box of kleenex?
FollowupID: 396861

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 07:41

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 07:41
Yes please, got any spare in ya purse
FollowupID: 396908

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:20

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:20
Hi John, first off, I too think baz was a little over the top and I personally thought your post about having guts was funny but baz does have a very valid point. Mary asked for landy folks to respond.

Again, your post was, I imagine, intended as light humour but there are plenty of other posts that are intended to be nothing more than slagging sessions.

As for your comments about lack of room in a disco, couldn’t agree more with you but as I posted in a later thread, after having a very disappointing series 2 disco, shock horror, I went looking at other makes of 4bys to try and find something better than the disco.

One of the prime areas I was looking at was an improvement in driver space and I did not find one 4x4 with anything more than a marginal improvement and certainly not anywhere near a reason to switch from the dud disco.

Now, if you haven’t already done it John, go test drive a new D3. Not only is this most advanced 4x4 in a whole host of areas but one in particular will surprise even a devotes tojo driver like yourself, and thats the huge amount of driver area. This is the only other 4x4, besides the MkIII RR, that I find comfortable to drive.

Try a test drive John, you probably won’t swap vehicles but it will most definitely change your opinions about LRs.

And for anybody else who does not own a landy, also try test driving a new D3 and you too can then wish you had one.
FollowupID: 396924

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:24

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:24
Maybe a tad over the top, sorry John, but Tim ya just get sick and tired of it, i'd had enough of the bagging when i had the Explorer, so for it to continue with the Landy and most of it is for no apparent reason other than they can, well, it just $hits me to tears.

FollowupID: 396942

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:25

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:25
Hi drivesafe
Have not driven the D3 as yet, I hear pretty good reports about it to date, I just hope they have cured the reputation for poor reliability that seems to have plagued the brand for many years.
And provided a bit more leg room, Jeez all those poms that buy them must be 2ft 10" tall, Blokes like me with 6ft 6" frames are in trouble.

Your point about poor space in general is very valid, My Troopy has always been marginal in its stock form, I just fitted Recaros and they custom built the base frame and moved the seat back 100 mm.
Problem was that far back and I almost can't reach the gear shift. LOL.

No worries Baz, take care catch up again one day.

FollowupID: 396946

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:40

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:40
Hi Baz, I know exactly how you feel but in Johns case, I was neither condemning or supporting his comments but his was funny while other postings do show the limited intelligence of some of the no-brainers that continually slag off at LRs and I can also understand exactly how you feel. It happens time and time again, not only on this site but you know too, on other sites.

In most cases, I think it is nothing more that blind jealousy so don’t take it to heart Baz, remember us Landy owner KNOW we have a good machine.

Anyway Baz and John and everybody else, have a happy Christmas and I know if you don’t own a landy, it WILL be hard to enjoy the festive season was well as Landy owners do, BUT TRY ANYWAY.

BTW John, that extra 100mm would make a big difference but next time buy an auto and then you will be able to really enjoy the extra leg space

( notice I didn’t say buy a Landy, it’s nearly Christmas so I’ve got to be nice )

Cheers Baz and John.
FollowupID: 396948

Reply By: MartyB - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:40

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:40
I am not a member, but will admit to owning a landie.
I have a 94 Disco. I have owned it for a couple of years & have had a good run so far, so I am happy with it.
from Marty.
AnswerID: 143291

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:44

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:44
1996 110 Defender - we've had it almost 6 months now - we call it the beast - but it's more of a beauty
AnswerID: 143293

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:31

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:31
I was just thinking If you never driven anything better you could like a Landy..... but saying that out loud would not be nice...... and how many days to Christmas?

Reiner
AnswerID: 143296

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 07:06

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 07:06
Funny you should say that Reiner. After having a toyota for many years and being very happy with it, I then bought a new 97 disco and have to say it was the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned and even though the toy was good the 97 disco left it in the dust when it came to reliability.

Then came the new 02 disco and this would have to be the worst vehicle I have ever owned and to make matters worst, the dealership I bought it from, Austral in Brisbane, were the biggest pack of crooks I have ever come across.

Within 3 months of buying it, I was out looking at other 4x4s, toys including lexus, nissans, jeeps, mbs and so on. I found lots of sort of similar 4x4s but nothing that could better the bomb I already had.

I had no intentions of getting another LR and then the new Range Rover arrived. While on one of my many warranty trips to the new dealer I had changed to, I was conned into taking a MkIII RR for a test drive.

I was in it for no more than 10 minutes and I couldn’t get back to the dealers quick enough to put a deposit on one.

That was over 3 years ago and I’m still rapped with it and comments like yours are always made by people who have not so much as sat in one, so carry on with your ignorance and driving what can only be at best second best, while I continue to know that if it’s not a Landy then it’s not THE best.

Cheers and a happy Christmas to all.
FollowupID: 396812

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:56

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:56
I was just THINKING If you never driven anything better you could like a Landy.....

No you weren't, and yes not nice

why did you comment, did it make you feel all warm and fuzzie.
FollowupID: 396845

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:57

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:57
G'day Mary W, good on you, forget the rest go with what you've got ...and don't feel you need guts, it's only the petty minded that don't have any.

andy (Mighty Q)
AnswerID: 143300

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:57

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:57
I don't have one but I like them...well some of them.
AnswerID: 143301

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 01:10

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 01:10
I like the old ones with the holden 6 conversion and overdrive. One of my first shooting expaditions as a kid was in one of those and 2 grand will get you a 1/2 decent one
FollowupID: 396809

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 09:56

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 09:56
Yes the old classic landy, gotta luv them. There's usually a few for sale in the trading post
FollowupID: 396818

Reply By: Member - Bware - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 04:48

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 04:48
I think the Defender is a great vehicle but the lights/wiper controls in reverse just freaks me out! LOL

AnswerID: 143309

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 09:20

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 09:20
I traded a 98 Disco for a 100L/cruiser. The cruiser is great for the extra room. Parts and servicing is a bit cheaper but I'd rather drive the Landie any day. Had no probs in the 3.5 years I had it. There sure are a few Wallys who for reasons best known to them, get a bit excited at the mention of L/R and it seems to make them feel better to try and make an ill-informed point. Think I'll end up going back to the L/R.
AnswerID: 143313

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 10:59

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 10:59
About 25 yrs ago (when I was living/working east of Esperance WA) I had a SWB series 11A... This was my fishin' /shootin' buggy.... never missed a beat!!
I was too lousy to buy a decent battery for it (and/or get the charging system looked at), so had to crank start it every time if it had sat for more than a day... always started first turn of the crank-handle, so that was never a hassle.... Sold it after I picked up an Austin Champ for $150.00...(now there was an interesting vehicle, affectionately referred to as "The ol' Rolls";-)).. (used ta hafta crank that one as well:-))...

My bro. had an early (2 door) Range Rover for about 15-odd years (swore by it)...
When the time came for an upgrade, what did he replace it with????
Another (later vintage) Rangie!!!.. He's had this one for 7 or 8 yrs w/- no plans to replace it anytime soon..... (Must be somethin' about 'em :-)))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 143321

Reply By: Member - Tim F (NT) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:43

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:43
G'Day Mary,
I own a 1968 series 2a, it's ex-army and I have a matching trailer, I have owned them now for 17 years. Been to alot of the places that are mentioned on this web site (albeit, slowly), lived in Alice Springs for over ten years and taken the vehicle to places that most of todays plastic fantastics would never go. Living in Broome at the moment, 4wding at every opportunity.

I'm a member, for the moment anyway, don't think I will renew though, too many wankers that highjack posts with stupid little comments!!!! Seems to be the same blokes everytime, also seems to be the same wankers that reply to every single post, even if they know nothing about the subject.

and thats my 2 cents worth!!

tim
AnswerID: 143324

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:00

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:00
Yep agree 100%, must boost their pathetic egos.

I wanna know what gives them the right to abuse someone for no apparent reason??
FollowupID: 396846

Follow Up By: Ozimagemobile - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:28

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:28
There are those that need to be putting someone else down in order to feel good about themselves. An insecure person with self worth issues and possibly a low self esteem, often presents as ten foot tall and bullet proof. Agreeing with a line of thought or a point of view doesent get you any attention. But if you have a loud critique, you might be able to kid yourself that you are more worthy than you secretly fear.
FollowupID: 396859

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:59

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:59
Beautifully put Ozimagemobile. Why is it that the same people are always the LOUDEST around campfires.
FollowupID: 396974

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:55

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:55
Yeah! I have been real good this year,so I am hoping Santa or Rosco are listening/viewing (or a finance co) and will give a new or used Defender for Christmas..We drove Landies in the army during my six years..Loved them..Did some wicked things in them,all in the interest of "driver training" of course..Never had on expire on me..With "race winning" "Big Blue" now owning the manafacturing division of Landrover now,the increase in quality is becoming ever more evedent..Those magic,real live axle differencials are to die for when heading to the "great offroad outdoors"..And (teach said to never start a sentence with and) noticed,in the 4x4 mags,guess which rig most of the photo journalists cover the arid wastes of Australia in? Landrover Defender..100series mite make it with a couple of spare wish-bone carried just in case..So many great rigs to choose from..So little time..Have fun .. RockyOne!MPG:6!
AnswerID: 143326

Reply By: Jeepster-WA - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 12:17

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 12:17
You reckon owning a landie makes you feel an outcast, try being a jeep owner LOL

Jeepster
AnswerID: 143328

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:03

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:03
Mate they don't get it, simple, as you guys say, "it's a Jeep thing"
FollowupID: 396847

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:08

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:08
An American Jeep is probably better than the Indian produced Mahindra Jeep!!! I think they sold about 30 in Australia in 1999 and the last bloke to kep his going went and bought up the other 29!!!! Cant imagine why!!! LOL. Michael
FollowupID: 396855

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 15:51

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 15:51
Hi Mary
Not a member but own a Landy 130 tray back 1996 model, best work vechicle
I've ever owned. Working out on new golf course site at moment, had the joy of towing a new Nissan Navara 4wd ute out of a sand bog yesterday, they are usless in heavy going carrying weight. Hilux out there to not much better.Turbo power comes on to quick which causes imediate wheel spin. Keep reading the posts you will hear all the probs with Toyo and Nissan eg of past week over heating, Toyota .
Prado gear boxes ? toyo diffs? and axle housing to light, fuel system problems.
But they still say they are the best dumb eh! But quick to knock Landys
Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 143333

Reply By: Blackie - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 17:19

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 17:19
I've got an aged RR that goes exceptionally well. I'm in Mildura too.
AnswerID: 143339

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:39

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:39
Hi Blackie,
I'll have to srart waving to every aged rangie I see!
Cheers ,Mary

FollowupID: 396972

Reply By: Redback - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:43

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 18:43
I've got a Disco 2, i'm happy with mine goes great and off road it's awesome.

AnswerID: 143352

Reply By: Ozimagemobile - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:41

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:41
Hi Mary,
Landies and Rangies are an aquired taste, not everyone has enough depth to fully apreciate them. But those of us that do, have helped rescue plenty of tojo's and others that had floundered, trying to get into Rangie country.

To each his own, and isn't it just as well.
AnswerID: 143373

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:57

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:57
You've got to admit they have always been the quintessential 4wd, evident by being commonly used by advertises and in many articles in the mags.

I bought a '03 Td5 Disco mainly because it's got to be a daily driver too, but often I think a Troopy, Patrol or 80 would be a nice change but overall the LR wins me - comfort & looks, economy, no IFS, cdl, capable off road, pulls anything.

BUT!...... bleep e am I worried when I get to Kununurra one day and the thing breaks down and the mechanic with the Toyota cap smiles and points to the tow service sign to Darwin or Karratha. Then I will wish I bought that Troopy when I had the chance.

I will start a special savings account just for this day - $4000 should do it. :)

!MPG:8!
AnswerID: 143375

Follow Up By: Ozimagemobile - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:11

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:11
Hey Ozdyssey,
Love the pic. The boys at Rover should see that, might be a good Stock'er.
FollowupID: 397041

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 21:04

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 21:04
hi Mary w
Dont let the nipon drivers upset you as they are very scared of LAND ROVERS when they dicover a new LAND ROVER on the waliby they role over and admit defett why do they do that also they comit hari cari by condemining all landrovers to being hel bent on leaking oil they are scared of the LAND ROVER Brand The LAND ROVERS THEY talk about are 20, 30,40, 50, years old nipon vehicle do not last that long the lastest nipon vehicle sell a lot in Australia Landrover out sell the nipon vehicle in the WORLD
SNAILBAIT
PS GET YOUR FACT CORRECT
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 143378

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:09

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:09
PS: learn to spell
FollowupID: 396881

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 07:40

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 07:40
Kettle say hello to pot

FollowupID: 396907

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 00:09

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 00:09
Yes, I must admit there are masses of spelling errors in those 3 words I typed.
FollowupID: 397245

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:21

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:21
Drove an ex army 2A from Perth to the NT via a lot of backroads and tracks once. Used a 110 with the 3.9 Isuzu for work as well as a series 3 tray back. Have driven various RR's and more modern Landies. The old man drove his SWB 2A around Australia in 1966.

They have character and I like them, but I just can't trust them enough to feel comfortable I'm afraid. I have no doubt as to their off road ability either, even the old 2.25 petrol 4 pots went well in the dirt. Who knows what the future will bring, I may change camps yet if LR fix the build quality / reliability issues that have plagued them in the past.
AnswerID: 143392

Reply By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:25

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:25
We've had a Nissan, a Jeep, another Nissan and for the last two changes a TD5 Disco. It's the first time in 10 cars over 25 years that I traded in for the same vehicle. We've found the Disco is, for us, just the right size for city/touring (Patrols were too big/Cherokee was too small (but my wife's favourite)), engine's great, rear air suspension compensates for the camper, reliability has been fine, big calcium standard battery so running the Autofrdige has been no problem and trade-in price was good (much better than the jeep that lost half its value in 2 years). Dislikes - expensive dealer servicing and very few dealers. Like someone else said, getting support outside (and sometimes within) main cities is a problem.

What will the next vehicle be in 8000km? I've been in the Disco 3 - very, very nice but price may be prohibitive so will cross that bridge next year

Adrian
AnswerID: 143393

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:29

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:29
Hi AdrianLR, the reason I have LRs is not just for business but to investigate all thing related to railways, so can you tell me where the tunnel pics was taken.

FollowupID: 396929

Follow Up By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:56

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 12:56
It's the Cheviot tunnel near Yea Vic. Full details were in 4X4 mag as a Nissan trek:

Cheviot tunnel

It's a very pleasant day trip from Melbourne

Adrian
FollowupID: 396949

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:48

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:48
Hi Adrian, thanks very much that great info.

I’ll go for a trip up that way next time I visit the relos in Melbourne.

Cheers, thanks again and have a merry Christmas.
FollowupID: 396955

Reply By: disco driver - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:32

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:32
Have driven most of the jap crap on the job for 22+ years: what is so good about them??
Privately, over some 47 years of 4wd ownership I had only 1 tojo (FJ55 for less than a year) 2 subarus, 1 Niva, 1 courier, 1 Series 2 SWB,(built up from a box of bits) 1 Series 2A Lwb, 1 Series 3 Lwb, 2 Classic R/Rovers, and now a Disco TD5.

"When you are on a good thing, Stick to it".

Hang in there, Mary
AnswerID: 143394

Reply By: marcus - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:03

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:03
Have sat in the Patrol and reckon you have to be over 6 feet to see adequatety over the bonnet.100 series is too big and heavy .For me it is the discovery Td5 for comfort,economy,driving position,luxury,towing ability and reliability.For the last four years it has been great.
cheers Mark
AnswerID: 143418

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:33

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:33
Thats a good point marcus, I can’t remember being in any other make of 4x4 that gives as much clear and close road views as the LRs do.

FollowupID: 396930

Reply By: Alan H - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:29

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 11:29
Hi Mary. I may be a bit late on this but I'll stick my 2 bobs worth in anyway. I had a 96 300 Tdi Discovery for around 4 years and found it to be comfortable and competent in the rough stuff. Reliable as it never let us down and we did many miles in it. Economical but could have done with more power for towing our van whcih weighs 1.5 tonnes.
Now I've got a 2003 Td5 Defender which again is proving to be a good vehicle, the only trouble being a lack of decent mechanics who want to work on anything other than jap vehicles. That applies to the specialist service people as well who can't get enough reliable workers.
Strangely enough it doesn't leak oil either so there must be something wrong with it!
I'm a lapsed member because I forgot to renew, not because of idiot comments from some of the tossers out there ............. I drive what I want to drive not what others reckon I should just to make them feel better about their own choice!
Happy Land Rovering.
Alan H.
AnswerID: 143439

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:05

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:05
Hi Mary, I also have a 1996 300Tdi and love it. It took a family of five and an off road trailer to Mitchell Falls and The Bungles in comfort and never missed a beat. It gets regular runs off road and loves it. My mechanic reckons that driving off road is the best way to stop the famous oil leaks, he reckons it exercises all the right bits!

We looked at several vehicles before buying the Disco, we were replacing a 1990 Pajero which had also been a very good vehicle. We initially looked at a newer Pajero and several other brands but found that in most of them the rear seat wasn't really suitable for three kids - the middle bit was either a hump or had a split. Not really suitable for long trips. Once my wife saw the Disco she fell in love. My efforts to direct her attention to the Defender failed miserably. The salesman claimed that most couples are the same, he wants a Defender and she wants a Disco - so they drive off in a Disco!

Shame you live over East, with a Defender you are a rare woman who has everything a man could desire!

Shame you live in the E
AnswerID: 143462

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:53

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 13:53
I hope your wife dosen't read your posts greydemon.

FollowupID: 396958

Follow Up By: kesh - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:14

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:14
Mary, wonder if you are the lady who loves gold panning and has a teenage daughter? (another forum) If so, good on you for having a Landy also. If not, still good upon you for having such a vehicle.
You now know that this is not much of a place for Landy owners, but with a foot in both camps, so to speak, I can say I have a s111 diesel trayback, a 300tdi Disco and a 97 Tojo trayback. They all have their purpose, and the properly maintained Landy is no less reliable than any other. In fact the old '76 s111 would set off and make an around the block tour no problem at all.
Glad you posted on here, and pleased you got such an interesting response! (heh heh) Stick with the Landy, look after her, and she will look after you.
the kesh
FollowupID: 396962

Reply By: Justin - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:00

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:00
Disco 1 owner, 95Tdi. Great car, better to drive (for my needs) than the various patrols, cruisers and pajeros I have driven. Also, could not get better value for money when compared to the others. Off road capability equal to, and if not better than most others.

But, yes it does ocasionally leak a little oil, and have several build quality issues that are quite evident on the interior fittings - but then I bought the car cheap, and it has many ks on it... Regardless of this, apart from a blown head gasket, it has never looked like leaving me stranded.... (even if the headlining is threatening to sit on my head...).

I am know the Jap cars a great - but for the money the Disco was my choice. And if I had the money - i would still give serious thought to a TD5 or D3. Will motgage house for the Range Rover sport....
AnswerID: 143466

Reply By: Boc1971 - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:36

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:36
Let this thread die people , it was light humour - some members CAN NOT see the light humour and take offence to this post - OTHERS have to resort to name calling such as " NO BRAINERS" no level of explanation will satisfy these humorless people , so just let it go.

Task Master , close this THREAD!

Boc
AnswerID: 143493

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 20:29

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 20:29
Now Boc, why should we let it die, because you don’t drive a landy.

If you don’t like a landy tread, don’t visit a landy thread.

Can’t get simpler than that.

As for all the landy owners who have posted, it always amuses me that a landy owner will tell how much he or she loves their particular landy and then they run though all the problems they have had ( if any ).

This honesty must be a reflection of the higher class of people who buy landies, because I can not remember too many times that the same thing occurs when other brands are being discussed.

FollowupID: 397023

Follow Up By: Ozimagemobile - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:27

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:27
Opinions.................they are like Arm Pits.
Most everyone has a couple, and they usually always stink.

I think the only other topic to rage longer around a camp fire than a Landie V Rice Burner episode,......would be maybe Petrol V Diesel.

To each his own, that's why there are so many choices.
FollowupID: 397046

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:48

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:48
So what your saying Drivesafe is , If I don't drive a Nissan Patrol , I should not read that thread - if I don't have an ARB diff locker , I can not read that thread , If I don't have airbags , I can not read that thread , if I don't have a heat exchange/shower system on my vehicle - I should not read that thread either - not to mention that I don't have a duel battery system or Engle fridge or 6 inch lift kit or STT coopers - am I not allowed to read those threads either ?

MY point was that these landy owners OBVIOUSLY can not see the light side that the thread was mean to achieve , when the opposite is evident , they have been taken a step back and put on the defensive. This thread is turning into a fight rather than a little jest between rival factory vehicle owners - each trying to justify why they are upset or have posted there comments.

but thanks for your comments on threads I am no longer allowed to read- from now on I will only read TOYMOTA threads as you have revoked permission to view any others and removed my option to add comment on open forum

Boc
FollowupID: 397057

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:23

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:23
Boc, at now time did I say you could not read this tread, I simply suggested that if you, meaning you personally Boc, don’t like landy threads, you don’t have to waste your time and far FAR more importantly, you don’t have to waste our time by visiting landy threads.

I and from what I have read, no one else has suggested that you can’t read this thread but just in case your comprehension of the English language is not all that good you were not banned from this tread and where do you get off thinking you are so special that you have the right to ask to let the thread die.

Furthermore, this thread was not started as a humours thread, a legitimate question was asked and the only humour as you put it, has, for the most part, been by people trying to slag off landies AGAIN.

Now if you don’t want no-brainer comments levelled at you, as I have done above, try keeping your no-brainer comments to yourself.

To everybody else, I apologise and contrary to Boc’s thoughts on this thread, I’m finding it very interesting.
FollowupID: 397090

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 06:32

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 06:32
Drivesafe , PLEASE show me DIRECTLY - where I said I don't like LANDYS or I don't like LANDY THREADS , MY comments were in reference to the fact that others comments have began a flame war with local residence and no matter how much back peddling is done, the O.P still will not accept it as being the light humour that it was , MY suggestion was to just drop it as it is snow balling for no reason. PERHAPS this bit of 'PLAIN ENGLISH' was missed by yourself - a bit of a 'NO brainer' which you have replied to- so if the shoe fits ........

Boc

P.s No need for reply - I dont waste my time with dolts.
FollowupID: 397108

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 08:04

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 08:04
So what you are actually saying Boc, is that you have decided to take my suggestion to heart and your not going to waste EVERYBODY ELSE'S time.

Good one.
FollowupID: 397117

Follow Up By: Ozimagemobile - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 23:16

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 23:16
I think we need a few jokes about the Landie owner, the Tojo driver and the Patrol bloke all sitting around some camp fire out in the middle of nowhere trying to figure out who was supposed to be navigating.

You guys sure take this stuff seriously here, I can't wait to read some really interesting info amungst all the tit for tat stuff.

C'mon guys......
FollowupID: 397233

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:27

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:27
Wouldn't have been the Landie owner, he'd be too smart to have got lost in the first place..............my best guess is the Tojo guy!
FollowupID: 397284

Reply By: ImEasy - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:26

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:26
FollowUp 8 of 13 posted 11 Dec 2005 at 19:42 - (FollowupID: 396861)
Truckster (Vic) posted this followup

Would you like a Ponstan Baz? or a box of kleenex?

FollowUp 9 of 13 posted 12 Dec 2005 at 06:41 - (FollowupID: 396908)
Redback posted this followup

Yes please, got any spare in ya purse

All this time I thought Truckster to be a bloke, and now I find out he/she has a purse?

Oh silly ol me......
AnswerID: 143520

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:40

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:40
hi guys
if the toyo people do not try to go brand hunting i think the LR PEOPLE COULD DO THE SAME BUT IT IS NOT the LR people on the site which complane
Snailbate
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 143524

Reply By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:05

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:05
Just amazing !
I didn't envisage that such a simple post would would cause so much fuss!!!!!

AnswerID: 143567

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:00
It didn't, so don't be to fussed.
Just the normal stuff that happens on public forums, A good debate never hurt anyone.

FollowupID: 397081

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 06:33

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 06:33
Hi Mary, posting anything about Landies here or on a number of other sites always stirs the pot but who cares.

It’s a good question and interesting to see some of the landy owners answers.

I don’t mind good humours replies like john (vic) and I must admit, I should not stir the anti landy answers as it does belittle the other genuine posts, but like Redback, I get feed up with other people, who quite obviously, have limited intelligence and think they can make themselves look smarter by trying to take P1ss out of landy owners, so again I apologise but keep posting those landy replies.

FollowupID: 397109

Reply By: Member - Landie - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:32

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:32
Hi Mary

Proud to be a card carrying member! Our Defender has taken places many just dream about, plenty of other vehicles would most likely do the same job, but the Defender is our choice and it gives us trouble free enjoyment.

You certainly started a great debate. The mention of a Landy brings them out in their droves. You can usually count on Truckster throwing in his (her?) usual joke about 99% still on the road…………..1% made it home. The fact that Truckster and so many others are willing to offer an opinion, both fore and against, means they are probably the most talked about vehicle on the forum at present – not a bad thing!

Ask any politican, who cares what they say about you, just as long as they talk about you!

Landie
AnswerID: 143628