2000 GU 3.0 td 211000Ks

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 08:12
ThreadID: 28767 Views:2736 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
had the nissan since 120000 ks been used for what it meant,beach, bush, towing a van serviced every 5000 k with 8.5l of oil never given any trouble and been flogged a bit becoming a cranky starter even in warm weather last service found some fleck in the filter when i cut it open which concerns me (i'll be checking at the next service 1000k to go ,might last that long) do i do it up, put another one in or chuck it ? maybe a 6.5ld chev?

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 08:37

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 08:37
Theres plenty of secondhand 3.0 l motors out there I would drive it till it expires then replace it with another.

AnswerID: 143312

Follow Up By: AJB - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 00:35

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 00:35
Where are the heaps of second hand ngines and how much?
FollowupID: 396896

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:10

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 11:10
Hi DieselUp, At only 120,000 your donk is still a juivenile with plent of potential adventures left in it yet..I want to see you guys with the 3.0 td get good life out of them,as,I steered my mate towards one..Most obvious problen I have noticed on these great ExplorOz forums,is the turbo,on some rigs,causes the motor to "run on" after powering off,caused by the turbo shaft seal allowing lube oil into the inlet manifold.Nobody has alerted the motor to the fact that this is not diesel and being an "oil Burner",it does just that.A puff of blue exhaust smoke may alert the operator to the seal letting the side down..We had Patrols for eight hard years pulling three tonnes plus on a two tonne trailer long distances at 120 just to get there (all private property of course) Our gasaline motors always pulled to the left when a servo came up,but apart from being gas-a-holics,they were magic rigs..Built like a tank (should know as I was a tank 20pounder gunner/machine gunner in 50 ton Centurion)..Add a bottle of BiTron to your oil and you'll easy double your motors life..I run it in my 20year old Mazda R-2 diesel in one of my five rigs (Rocsta SWB diesel) and still purrs..Bi-Tron metal treatment in all your trannys,diffs etc will cut your wear,noise and fuel consumption dramitacily..Snake oil? Almost good enough to drink..Least we know what it is made of..Super re-fined OIL..I dont sell it.Just use it.."There is an element of truth in everything I say" :-) Trust me..? Have fun ..RockyOne!MPG:4!
AnswerID: 143322

Reply By: 120scruiser - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 13:38

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 13:38
Rocky one I think you will find Dieselup's has done 211 000 km.
Nice one dieselup.
You have got a good one. I would continue to drive it and if something happens I would take the time and spend the money to have yours rebuilt and put back in as it is obviously a good one.
I would be interested to know what grade oil you use as they are supposed to run initially 10w/30 and now 10w/40 semi synthetic SM grade.
I find most people use 15w/40 on this site.
I have a customer with one, 2000 model 140 000 km and going great. It has always had 5000 k changes and we have always used 10w/30 until the recent Nissan statement mentioning the use of 10w/40.
I would be interested to know what you found in the filter. Most oil company's will test your oil for you.
We use Gulf Western Oils for all testing and purchases. (No affiliation just a happy customer) It might be worth the $140.00 for a test. A bit of piece of mind.
Hope it keeps going.
AnswerID: 143330

Follow Up By: dieselup - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 14:19

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 14:19
i run anglomoil roadmaster 300 15/40 in all our trucks, 4x4 and other gear it's no problem
FollowupID: 396830