Nissan GU 3.0 td Engine Failure

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:16
ThreadID: 2880 Views:3512 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
A friend of mine owns a 2000 model GU 3.0litre turbo patrol. While touring outback QLD at continuous speed of 120-130kph, the engine lost power while overtaking a road train, threw heaps of black smoke out the back & the engine lost all compression.

Had to be flat towed to a nissan dealer & they replaced the complete engine under warranty with a 2002 model engine. He was told that there was a manufacturing fault to do with the oil sump capacity & oil pick up system. Nissan apparently recalled the 2000 models to rectify the problem but he wasn't contacted about it. There were other vehicles at the dealership with the same problem awaiting new parts / engines.

He was told that the problem arises only when the vehicle runs at high speeds for extended periods of time.

Has anybody heard about this or experianced a similar situation? Has anybody had there 2000 model recalled for a new oil pan & pickup?
Any information would be greatly appreciated

Reply By: Truckster - Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:50

Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:50
Try the patrol list

There have been a few, one was 1000klms old at the time, I think it was a 3.0, but might have been a 4.8, cant remember.
AnswerID: 10950

Reply By: brian - Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:55

Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:55
Hello Matt, i had a 2000 gu 3.0l turbo re sump capacity mine was recalled by nissan,they dont put in new oil pan or pickup just recalibrate dipstic to accept approx 2 litres extra oil into sump.this is the truth.
AnswerID: 10952

Reply By: brian - Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:58

Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 21:58
Matt, ps its not just a few as truck bleep says its all of them just ask nissan
AnswerID: 10953

Reply By: Truckster - Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 22:17

Thursday, Jan 09, 2003 at 22:17
From the patrol list.

Letter was sent in Nov 2000, which I got mine done straight away (and
they included the 20k service for free as it was 95% of the service anywway)

I have been told by my nissan contacts, NEVER own a ZD30 Patrol outside of Warranty, as too many Engines let go, particularly those that get mainly highway km’s (which fits my car, as I only do minimuim 100km trips @ 100kph

I will be getting the extended warranty as I am only 5,000 from getting
out of warranty, and 11 months until I get a New Car (Toyota 79 Ute Tdi is looking the go at the moment

AnswerID: 10955

Follow Up By: Truckster - Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 14:58

Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 14:58
More on it from patrol list.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
all 3.0 owners were advised to return their car for this modification..

also nissan do it on next oil change anyway

did this bloke ever have his car serviced by a nissan dealer? they should have done the change
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first Patrol was built 5/00 at the 10.000km Nissan recalled for a 2.5l sump Increase and put a special oil that came from the factory.
After a while Nissan replaced all the engine in this model.
I made a trade to a new one built 3/01 (2002) Now I am worried because I know that also the new engine that Nissan put at the car, are also blown up a piston, and replaced again Does any one in the forum know the day that they really solved the problem All this not included the problem's of the ECU and the ac pulley, turbo …..

But as Laibenitz said it's not good but it the best we can buy.
Dror 3.0l 55k km
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I hear too many 3.0td stories, one bloke in our club had an engine fail on the f3 seems the glow plug relay fused keeping the glow plugs on, engine cooked, same vehicle had it's chassis replaced because of cracking around the front archs. Another 3.0td with 60k nuked a motor
replaced under warranty.

Sorry but go the mighty slow 4.2
Ross GU4200
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FollowupID: 5954

Reply By: colin - Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 20:25

Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 20:25
any body that buys a 4wd over 2 tonne with a 4 cyld or less than 4 litrs is asking for trouble. I have a patrol with a td 4.2 good old bus. Col
AnswerID: 11017

Follow Up By: Truckster - Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 20:54

Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 20:54
Tell that to a 2.8 owner, they get touchy!

I agree totally....
FollowupID: 6002

Follow Up By: Colin - Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 21:25

Friday, Jan 10, 2003 at 21:25
my mate has one and he used to walk over me, then i supercharged mine, he doesnt say much now!!!, funny that. Col
FollowupID: 6004