Ignore this unless you are electrically minded

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:11
ThreadID: 29066 Views:2682 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
Quick question
23cm oscillating fan - 240volt - label says 50hz 0.3amps

what's it mean?

Running through a 150w pure sine inverter how many amps/hr will it draw from my trusty 100amp deep cycle in the trailer?

Safe travels

Reply By: GUPatrol - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:24

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:24
The rule is:

Volt x amps= Watts
Watts/volts=amps

240v x 0.3 amp= (your result in watts)
but you have to add the inverter's loss to that.

50hz is the cycle for the alternating current when on 240V (no need to worry for what you are trying to find out in this case).

AnswerID: 144971

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:48

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:48
gracias seniore
FollowupID: 398496

Reply By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:28
Well, Watts = Volts times amps so your fan will use 72 watts.

A 100amp battery, which I take to be a 100amp hour battery would power this fan for 1 hour and 22 minutes and 48 seconds fully charged.

It should use 5.2 amps on your battery running at 13.8 volts.

Eq.
AnswerID: 144972

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:44
chit
thks
plan B
FollowupID: 398494

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:45

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:45
Eq,

Not to get too technical, but I'd prefer to calculate it as drawing 6A at 12v, as the battery voltage will drop as it's being discharged.

I think you've hit a wrong button semewhere as I reckon a 100 Amp/hour battery will run something pulling 6A for 100/6 hours = 16.7 hours, disregarding all other factors.

Tim
FollowupID: 398495

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:53

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:53
ummmm..

so not to drain it past 50% or so. that would give me about 8hrs a night, so 5/6hrs of use should be feasible?

that should work
back to plan A
FollowupID: 398497

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:02

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:02

I'm with Tim on the calculation, but again thats in an ideal world, in reality there will be losses, and the heat itself will have an effect on the battery, plus losses in the inverter.........

It should work, but its going to give your battery a bit of a work out and a 12v dc setup would be better all round........ or......

if you must go 240v, how bout one of the cheapie 750/850w gennies... run all day on few ltrs fuel, and if you put a decent length power cord on it and leave it out of your camp, shouldnt annoy you, can be found for around $100 in bunnings.

Whilst its on, you can charge your battery with it, (recommend via a charger, not direct from 12v gen outlet, as regulation not so great on cheapies) then at night run your inverter and then you have a 24hr fan.

QED

Ron

FollowupID: 398540

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:28
Ron / Tim,

Yeah you are right - Still 5.2 amps not counting losses - so that equates to 19.2 hours.

100 amp/hour battery divided by 5.2 amps = 19.2 hours.

I made the error above by dividing the 72 watts into 100 (should have been the amps) - but it was past my bedtime.

Eq.
FollowupID: 398544

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:34

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:34
Eq,

It's only 5.2A if you use 13.8V as the battery voltage. A battery is fully charged at 12.6V, it only reads 13.8v, or higher, when being charged.

So for the fan to draw 5.2A he needs to have the vehicle running at a speed where the alternator is producing 5.2A in excess of other requirements. Therefore the correct answer to his question of how long can he run his fan would not be related to the capacity of his battery rather the size of his fuel tank. Then we'd have to know how many litres per hour his vehicle would consume at idle. That'd entertain us for hours! :-)

As an idea, if he kept his vehicle running, he could run the aircond to keep cool and duct it into his van, but that would require many additional calculations for us. Be a good way to avoid Christmas tho!

Tim
FollowupID: 398579

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:42

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:42
If you REALLY need a fan, buy a secondhand car A/C condenser fan from a small car and run it straight off 12 volts, Way more efficient...............
FollowupID: 398618

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:00

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:00
silly question mate, but why not grab one of the 12v fans, they are a bit smaller but would use heaps less power, and a lot simpler.
AnswerID: 144976

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:28
I know . I know....

but the 12volt won't touch the sides this weekend in Brisvegas.

Sat 35c
Sun 37c

typical xmas day forecast
FollowupID: 398533

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:41

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:41
I'm being really helpful today.

Let's not limit ourselves here. Say NO to a cute little oscillating fan, get yourself a pair of fans that go in front of the radiator to add extra air flow and mount them on a stand. Or two stands, one in each corner and you'd get a willy willy going. Those babies would push out some air, are already 12volt, and probably use less than 6A, maybe even less than 5.2A (apol to EQ)

But I guess there would be complaints about the noise - geez some people are hard to please.

Tim
FollowupID: 398580

Reply By: Ken - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 08:27

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 08:27
Ozdyssey,

Also take into account the inverter is not 100% efficient. For 72 watts out the inverter will require more than this in from your battery.
As one reply says, it is more efficient to use a DC fan

Ken
AnswerID: 144987

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:22

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:22
Isn't there also something about rms (root mean square) with AC.

I agree that with DC, the old rule P=Vi applies, but I seem to recall it being a wee tad different with AC.

One for the really up on it leccie blokes.

Rosco
AnswerID: 145016

Follow Up By: Ken - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:05

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:05
Correct Rosco but I think the current was RMS value and 240 is the RMS of mains so the calc is OK

Ken
FollowupID: 398550

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:43

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:43
There ya go Ken

Always thought oldtimers disease would catch up with me oneday.

.....................?????? wot's me name again???????

Yer ... that's it

Rosco
FollowupID: 398558

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:45

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:45
No real need to complicate things, but the EFFECTIVE mechanical power of 72 watts AC vs 72 Watts DC is exactly the same.
FollowupID: 398619

Reply By: Philo - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:01

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:01
There is minor losses in an all AC system, and minor Losses in an all DC System,
though when converting or inverting either system, u will have a 14-20% loss, these losses occur because system electronics/coils etc have power losses Ie: Heat, depending on the type of inverter/converter and the quality of the Unit, i found JayCar seem to make some Quality inverters @ a reasonable price, if the fan you are trying to run, works usings a Universal series motor u could infact run it straight DC V=IR, P=VI, will only applie to a straight ripple free DC Voltage, ripple free meaning the wave form is dead flat, no voltage lower than the negative, and no voltage/current higher than the Potentual.
AnswerID: 145046

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:28
yes of course

uhhh.....
FollowupID: 398669

Reply By: Nick R - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:25

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:25
Another thing to bear in mind with running an electric motor is that the start current can be as much as 7 times the run current, PSW inverters may handle this, you may know better, I have a MSW inverter which apparently shouldn't be used with electric motors.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 145106

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 19:02

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 19:02
Yo! If ya got a missus and a palm frond why would ya even bother with an electric fan Oh and don't forget the grapes.....
AnswerID: 145130

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:05
hi Ozdyssey (QLD)
the answer from the other people are correct but you have to take in to = to find out how much volts go through the size of the cable you use to obtain the max voltage you need to operate the inverter to give the max amps you need to operate the 240 volt equipment
snailbait
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 145171

Reply By: Dilligaf - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:44
I use a 240v from a 150w pure sine wave inverter
a 240v is more efficient power wise than a 12v fan and produces 10% of the noise
I am surprised a 23cm fan takes so much power on 240v
the 23cm fan we have takes 35w which is 3.5 amps on 12v
you may find if you measure the current on 12v on the inverter it may be less
also have a 18cm 240v bought recently at Coles Supermarket for $12 and it takes 2.3 amps on 12v
the car fans that I tried all took in excess of 3.5 amps, were as noisey as hell, all broke in a fairly short time, the half speed was buy a resistor which bumped up the power consumption, and one unit the resistor and switch housing caught alight
AnswerID: 145178

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:46

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 08:46
thks for that Dilligaf

off to Coles
FollowupID: 398737