2 days into New Year and already I am in trouble

Submitted: Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:18
ThreadID: 29313 Views:2218 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Took a couple of older mates for a drive and a recce around some abandoned gold mine sites today.

We were surveying some ruins when a Suzuki 4by Ute approached, driven at a rate of knots. Stopped in a cloud of dust and a little fella(almost half my size) in Army Uniform jumps out and wants to know who the hell we are and what we are doing there.

I introduce myself as the vehicle owner. He introduces himself

Declares that it is Private Property. Yours?.....Uhmm. There are lots of us who own land around here!

OK...Unaware of boundary demarcations. Apologise. This takes wind out of attack.

"Property Owner" states that he reports all Tresspassers to Police, has my number and will do so. I say No worries...Go Ahead.

PO says once you go through a gate you are on private land. OK.....but what if the gate is on a stockroute....Uhmmmmm And road to mine site is gazetted road...Uhmmmm.

Anyway, we part on friendly terms and carry on our travels. Much discussion by old mates.

Call in on another abandoned mine site along the stockroute. Later we settle down for some lunch under the shade of a large Mallee tree.

Hear a vehicle passing in distance but do not see it. Then Bang! Bang! B .........six shots are heard and one shot whizzes over the top of the hill and over our heads. My non 4x4, old mates, have a very worried look on their faces.

Stay calm

We finish our lunch and beers in leisurely style and move on along the track.

No sign of shooters...... only wheel tracks.......Suzuki width.......

See no one till we get back in to town some hours later.

Hope this is not a precurser to all my adventures coming up this year LOL

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:29
Hi Willem - I hope you took his number plate too!

AnswerID: 146336

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:44

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:44
Hi Motherhen

Hahahahah.....No, it never crossed my mind. But it shouldn't be hard to flush him out if need be. lol
FollowupID: 399875

Follow Up By: DesC - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 16:09

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 16:09
Have you still got your G60?
FollowupID: 399922

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 17:23
Des,
No. He now has a vunderbar GQ 4.2 diesel that goes like the clappers and has been known to run without a requirement for any water in the radiator!!!
FollowupID: 399929

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:41

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:41
Des

No. Gave the G60 to mate for a backup truck on the station he manages. Would have liked to have kept it but the yard was full of vehicles at that time.

Have done 1000k since the 'mishap' and all seems OK except for a dodgy oil pressure sender which was dodgy before.

FollowupID: 399942

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:51

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:51
Hi Willem

You should of told him about the cat LOL

Have a good Year

AnswerID: 146342

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:59

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 20:59
Hahahahahahahaha....!!!

You have a good one too, Richard
FollowupID: 399879

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:38
I am no lawyer but I am pretty sure you have to refuse to leave after being asked to be trespassing. No tresspasing sighns might constatute being asked to leave. I dont think going through unlocked gates does. If they are locked it could be break and enter. There is a squeezer that lives between the Tunk beach car park and tunk Beach Down South. West of Rapid Bay who thinks it is his god given right to try and prevent access to the beach by putting no tresspassing sighns through his paddock. last I checked people just ignored it and accessed the beach anyway. I was also Accosted by a lady with a huge dog To the East of Deep Creek who was trying to prevent us access to the coast even though we were on foot following the coastline towards rapid bay fishing the rocks as we went
AnswerID: 146353

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:40
I am sure that Jeddah would have licked him to death anyway Willie. Have a good one Bro -you, Judith and Jeddah
AnswerID: 146355

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:49

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 21:49
Bossy.
Small.
Gun.
Cant see over the dash of anything bigger than a zook.
Army garb.

EQUALS=SMS....
SMALL MAN SYNDROME... Absolute Classic Example....
AnswerID: 146357

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 22:25

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 22:25
PS.. Nothing against Suzuki owners,,, more the combination of things you described..
FollowupID: 399891