waeco blown up!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:11
ThreadID: 29335 Views:3745 Replies:13 FollowUps:32
G'day all!

I'm sorry my first post is full of gloom but i think this is the right place for it.

In august we bought a waeco CF-60 and have already had problems.

would not work on turbo function. Repairer replaced power supply and said it was common problem.
Got fridge home and it still wouldn't work with turbo on.
Used it over christmas (works fine without turbo), got home plugged into a/c and heard buzzing, followed by cracking then POOF of smoke from motors air vents!

My question is has anyone else experienced this problem?

I know I'm entitled to a replacement or refund just not sure which i would prefer

Thanks in advance for the good advice I know you all give.

Reply By: scottp - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:30

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:30
Never experienced any proberlems with the fridge blowing up, but that might be because I have an ENGEL!!!! Hahahaha

I personally know one bloke that has had the same engel for 16 years and another another that has had his for over 20 years,

Plenty of other opinions available on this topic in the archives.

Good luck with it

Scott
AnswerID: 146424

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:51

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:51
Just as many engels blow up but its usually when they are out of warranty and cost an arm and a leg to fix :)
FollowupID: 399934

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:56

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:56
Hey Scott.....you poke your head up....you'll get clobbered mate!!!! hahaha
I don't believe I'm even responding to this AGAIN ;-)))
FollowupID: 399945

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:02

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:02
Engels are usually 20 or 30 years old when they blow up. Time for a newie
FollowupID: 400015

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:29

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:29
The older of my 2 Engels is approx. 28 years old.......

Does this mean I can expect it to blow up sometime soon??????
Bugga!!!!
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 400245

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:39

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:39
Well I reckon that engel must be a real good friend of yours Ed, been through a lot together eh. I don't know when it will go bust but it'll be a sad day I bet.
FollowupID: 400297

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 03:37

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 03:37
Indeed, Ray....

It's been "around the block" a couple of times, ''across the middle'' on 3 occasions, & no fewer than 10 Nullabor crossings (5 each way), and of course many, many memorable camping/fishing weekends w/- friends & family.....

Bought it 2nd-hand ("as new" condition) in '78 from a fella that had it a few months & decided he needed a bigger one (this one is 29L).... Paid the princely sum of $150.00 (from memory, they were around $280 new at the time), so I reckon I can chalk this one up as a "Good Buy"!!!

It's keeping the um,"refreshments" nicely chilled as we speak, and yes indeed, it will be a sad day (sentiment-wise) when/if it finally decides to "throw in the towel"....

For obvious reasons, when SWMBO & I decided a couple of yrs ago that we could use a 2nd (larger) 'fridge, how could we possibly consider anything other than an ENGEL??? .. (got the 57L combi, & it too has been faultless)....
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 400408

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 18:31
goodday mate
have had the cf80 for over 2 years andstill going strong (touch wood) ring waeco and have a chat to them
AnswerID: 146425

Reply By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:19

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:19
Hi there,
As sad as it gets when something lets go after we buy it, Dont give up YET. Call Waeco direct, speak to someone with authority and get their name. Explain your situation and see what they say. You might be surprised with the reply. Be polite but strong with what you want.

Every brand name has problems these days. Toyota's, Nissan's and yes..even Merc's break down. Its all man made, thats half the problem.

I cant see this being unsolved for too long after you speak to someone with authority.
Good luck, sorry to hear its stuffed.
Ange.
AnswerID: 146434

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:42
Hey Son!

Whats the other half of the problem?......LOL

Happy New Year

FollowupID: 399954

Reply By: cackles - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:37

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 19:37
I should clarify,
fridge died,
half hour later 1 year old air con died (2nd time for it),
6 days later 2 month old jetski broke reversing plate!

So being somewhat affected by these occurances I called the acc and found out some interesting facts.

Because the fridge is $1100 and lasted four months it can be deemed to be
un-merchantable goods and therefore you can ask for a refund or replacement.

What I'm not sure of is if I have a one off, or if it's a problem inherent to cf-60's?

cackles
AnswerID: 146437

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:54

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:54
breakdowns always seem to happen in threes cackles. The more toys you have , the more likely to happen too.
FollowupID: 399958

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:03
Cackles-

I suggest 3 Hail Mary's and 1 Our Father first up - You must have been a naughty boy last year.....tsk tsk.

Iv'e had a Waeco 110lt since they came out run it on the road and full time at home - no probs...

Take the advice and get a nuvva ......
AnswerID: 146441

Reply By: ACDC - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:12

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:12
So which is better Engel or Waeco..^_^....>_<..
AnswerID: 146444

Follow Up By: Member - David B (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:27

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:27
Theres only answer Thermo King.
FollowupID: 399947

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:43

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:43
I can vouch for Thermo King... Took a load to Sydney last summer with full knowledge it was going to be 36C the next day. Packed the swag, dropped my load and set the fridge to 12C, left the rear door ajar and slept like a baby... Not sure how well they work for beer though...
FollowupID: 399994

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:24

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 20:24
That's a personal choice however as I said I have had no probs with the Waeco....
AnswerID: 146447

Reply By: brett - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 21:28
If it went pfft when plugged into the AC then I would think it's a pretty easy repair, just a new power supply. Shouldn't be any drama's there. Don't know about the turbo thing though, wouldn't think that would be related to the power supply going. Anyway I'm sure you won't have any drama's with Waeco and getting it fixed.
AnswerID: 146458

Reply By: hl - Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jan 04, 2006 at 22:10

I have a CF40AC. It also cuts out in turbo mode on DC (not AC) and I was also told it was a fairly common problem. I have the "Best Mate" warranty, which promises a 1 day turnaround or a loan fridge. The local warranty rep thought that was quite funny.....
He couldn't do it for at least 4 weeks. That was in early december.

AnswerID: 146465

Reply By: 4145derek - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 00:41

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 00:41
Most of these units are the same and all use the Danfoss swing or piston compressor. The electronics are mostly the same. Best to speak to someone who knows what they are talking about. Engel, Waeco, Arb, EvaKool all the same.

Call Mike on (07) 5543 8801 or 0429 856 477

He is the Waeco repairer here in Brisbane and is a great chap to talk to.

I fit custom design Dual battery sytems and fit / wire fridges all the time and they are all equally matched.

Regards Derek My Site
AnswerID: 146487

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:59

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:59
dereck...having a co that delivers and install eqipment such as you do , i find it odd that you dont know that the danfoss compressor is a reciprocating piston compressor as opposed to the compressor used in the Engal which is comonly known as a swing type......

and no no no both electronic sytsems (eg - engal V waeco) are different!

FollowupID: 399997

Follow Up By: 4145derek - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:09

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:09
De koel-/vriesbox van EUR-ENGEL heeft een DANFOSS-compressor die schokbestendig is

en ook bij zeer hoge temperaturen perfect zijn werk blijft doen.

Ze zijn leverbaar in kleine maar ook zeer grote formaten.

Source
FollowupID: 399998

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:54

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:54
Dereck....its all double dutch to me.....i speak english.....
I will try to make myself clearer
let me assure the danfoss is a reciprocating rotating cranshaft type compressor why the engal uses the swing motor type compressor utilizing a lateral plunger and piston......both are mechanically different in operation

do a search at danfoss for typical drawing and also do a search on the Sawafuji Swing Motor type compressor...if i recall engel aust. have a cutaway view?
FollowupID: 400007

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:12

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:12
Derek
the NudeNut is correct.

I can't believe I'm typing this, but he's not wrong

well it's a new year
an we may have learnt to live together without fighting after all :-)))
FollowupID: 400067

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:15

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:15
pigs bum we have
FollowupID: 400069

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:21

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:21
Nice try Mainey but I did'nt think you two could last more than a week LOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 400070

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:44

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:44
hehe, looks like Derek is correct as well as those Engel fridges in his link use a Danfoss..what a smart alec he is...hahaha :)
FollowupID: 400075

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:55

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:55
Oh bugger! Looks like it will now be a three way dogfight :))))))))
FollowupID: 400078

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:57

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:57
Hey, he even uses defamatory language when something nice is said of him, obviously he is hurting :-((

NudeNutt, I know your comments about the different compressors is correct
and hope you acquire a better mood as the year goes on L0L
I suppose you have your own reasons for being upset?

As I said it’s a new year

I received my NEW 70 Litre R E E F ER fridge, before the holidays and a dam fine piece of technology and so efficient and quiet as well…

Is good to have frozen ice-cream in the freezer and the food in the fridge at between 1 & 6 degree’s and wake up in the morning with 12.5v still in the battery, knowing it does not go down to the low voltage cut-out of 11.8v at any time during the day.
Oh, what a feeling….

FollowupID: 400079

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 07:53

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 07:53
Mainey....its not often i'm wrong..hahaha
no . Im not upset...thought you were being sarcastic...when you said you cant beleive you typing this.......you probabaly were you mongrel...hehehehe...it tis a new year

70 litre engel you say you got........good for you!

Mad Dog.
Dereck did say "Danfoss Swing"....now danfoss dont make one ...not that i'm aware....engel using danfoss? ...now they know quality when they see it!:)....(i'm not able to translate what is on that site)

FollowupID: 400208

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:18

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:18
??? every other non aust web site have same engel fridges we see on the aust sites...even Engel International...
the site dereck sent us too have units/fridges which seem unique...i do note EUR-ENGEL?...and not just Engel?

not only is construction different, catches for lids are also very different

The engel international site do not mention "heeft een DANFOSS-compressor die schokbestendig is

en ook bij zeer hoge temperaturen perfect zijn werk blijft doen." or whatever the transaltion is...hehehe...what language is this anyhow?...norwegian? Do engel have a seconds shop?
FollowupID: 400209

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:32

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:32
I don't think those eur-engel fridges have anything to do with engel australia nudie, as you say different construction, they look more like the poor waeco construction.

Could be dutch, your phrase = and also at very high temperatures is perfectly work continues do
FollowupID: 400210

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:38

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:38
I'm supposed to be working...but was curious so went looking...theyre Italian

now are they related or have they just used a name to make sales?
FollowupID: 400211

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:43

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:43
mmm the way I read it is this....
the italian mob is a company called Euroengel....and quite remote from Engel?
FollowupID: 400212

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:44

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:44
maybe i'll start importing them...eh?
FollowupID: 400213

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:49
not really an engel! after all Dereck.....
FollowupID: 400214

Follow Up By: 4145derek - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:56

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:56
Hey my mistake. Found the "Real Deal"

What was the quesstion again ?

‰ïŽÐ–¼

PRESS THE 'ENGLISH' BUTTON !
FollowupID: 400215

Follow Up By: 4145derek - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:58

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:58
ENGEL
FollowupID: 400217

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:56

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:56
for a minute there i thought you were an expert in laguages.....

but those euroengels look the part as well....wonder if they're really any good.......after all they can make some good cars that need a fridge...Ferrari, Alfa Romeo, Maserati, Fiat, Lamborghini etc etc...well maybe not the fiat
FollowupID: 400227

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:15

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 10:15
Good question Cackles re replace or refund. Our CF60 is 3 months old and has done about 4 weeks work over two trips - all running very well - we haven't used the Turbo function yet. Got pyjamas for it as an Xmas gift - we like the whole thing.
The decision is a toss-up I suggest - Ask for a brand new fridge and start again ? - maybe accept a whole new power unit in your case BUT with a warranty that starts afresh ! ? IF not, a refund and a different brand ? One thing is for sure in my mind - gremlins strike in all brands - this episode does not mean that the CF60 is a dud fridge. By the way - came across my late uncle's early Engel fridge the other day at a rello's place - must be a good 30 years old - runs like a top - not been to the doctor far as I know.
AnswerID: 146523

Reply By: cackles - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:26
I think by all your replies that ours is a one off occurance, which is a weight off my mind.

I think I will go the replacement route as the repairman had already looked at it twice two weeks before it poofed and replaced the power supply then.

Next problem, do we upgrade to an 80 so we can take more bundy?

Decisions Decisions
AnswerID: 146538

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:24

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 16:24
Hmmm ... might be able to push them for a real good deal on an 80 given what you've been through :)
FollowupID: 400072

Follow Up By: Original Banjo (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:18

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:18
Fridges are the same as sheds Cackles - they are never quite big enough - its a syndrome. If you bought an 80, it would sometimes be chocka - I bet you could get by with a 40L ! We chose out 60L because it was max in the available fridge space (new rear design for the truck) - not because of the 60L - we then modify the food inventory to suit the fridge - we got by prior with a 40L fridge - we could sure use an 80L - the 60L will be fine too !
FollowupID: 400296

Follow Up By: cackles - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 19:27

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 19:27
yeah it's a tough call Banjo, 60 has been good so far. All depends on current draw which means the 80's not looking too good. It's a bit bulky for weekends but it would be great on longer trips.
FollowupID: 400316

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 10:07

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 10:07
cackles, sory for the hyjack of your thread but..... :-)

NudeNutt you posted -> "Mainey, its not often i'm wrong, hahaha
No Im not upset, thought you were being sarcastic when you said you cant beleive you typing this, you probabaly were you mongrel, hehehehe, it is a new year.
70 litre engel you say you got, good for you"

Dammit Nn, now you can't read either ???

Why would I want to 'downgrade' to an Engel.. ?
Do they make a 70 Litre model.. ?
They don't even use the same compressor as you, so it's gotta be less performance, right...
you would not use an Engel compressor for various reasons in your own fridge.... L0L

Engel dosn't have a built in battery charger.... does it ??
Dosn't have a seperate freezer section that will keep icecream frozen, while at the same time the lettuce is still not suffering from frostbite as well.

Nn, good to see you not upset .... makes a change, dosn't it !!!

(why is a HRC fuse illegal ... Woops, don't attempt to answer as you'll get upset again L0L)
true, not often your wrong, but when you are ...... roflmao

cackles,
back to your original post.......

Ask for a refund ....... and then buy a decent fridge :-)

Buy a ...... Reefer Premier

it's not a pretend fridge!!!

AnswerID: 146758