3.0ltr diesel nissan bad news?

Submitted: Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 08:01
ThreadID: 29403 Views:2903 Replies:10 FollowUps:13
looking to purchase a 2nd hand 4wd around the $20000 (approx) and had thought the nissan 3ltr diesel seemed like the way to go. having second thpouhgts,seem there r alot of disgruntled 3ltr diesel owners out there.
I m planning a trip around oz middle of year,would appreciate the good oil on the nissan or similar fourby ,towing a offroad c/t approx 800/900kg thanks.

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:21

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:21
I believe things have been fixed along the way so get the latest model possible. I will be interested to see the replys you get on this forum as there is some people who knows the in's and out's of this very well on what has been fixed etc.
AnswerID: 146747

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:49
Why not a Discovery 2 TD5 - much more reliable and a better vehicle than a Patrol - and there won't be that niggling feeling caused by your sub-conscience wondering when is the engine going to blow.

AnswerID: 146751

Follow Up By: camship - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:18

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:18
Interesting a Discovery More reliable?
Cheaper for sure though.

Go for a 3.0 Hilux Surf, or Prado if you can get one.
FollowupID: 400242

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 20:53

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 20:53
I get it ! friday funny right!!
FollowupID: 400339

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:49
Check this one!
http://www.d2au.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=344
FollowupID: 400383

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:59

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 09:59
Be struggling to get a 3.0l for $20. But if you can look for one where thee engine has already been replaced under warranty.

Leroy
AnswerID: 146754

Reply By: Flash - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:44

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:44
Only the early 3 litre patrols had problems, though I'm not sure of the cutoff date. You are sure to get heaps of people knocking them with a question such as this but all makes have had their flaws! I could tell some very interesting stories about Landcruisers, Pajeros, and Disco's for example. (As for a Disco being more reliable, I find that remark quite amusing.... Don' start me!)

Having said that, I know two people with very early 3 litre Patrols (heaps of kilometres) and neither have had ANY problems at all and BOTH love their vehicle. Nissan however, did make changes with the later ones I think to avoid problems with pistons overheating and therefore sometimes failing.
BTW, my elderly GQ 4.2 has never had a part bought for it other than filters and the like, and new bits for mods like turbo, big exhaust and other improvements. Quite simply the best and most reliable vehicle I've ever owned in over forty years.
Q. Why not also consider a good GQ? If you found a well loved one you could be very happy indeed, and in that price range you'd be able to pick and choose.
AnswerID: 146774

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:03

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:03
I'll 2nd that idea.......If I only had $20K to part with, I'd buy an excellent 4.2 diesel GQ (and add a turbo if it hasn't already got one); rather than a time-bomb 3.0L GU (cos you'd only get a Series II for that amount). I don't think you'd get an early model GU 4.2 (non turbo) for $20K unless it was a DX model (not that there's anything wrong with a DX by any means). Also, if you want/need an auto, that'll discount the 4.2 diesel.
FollowupID: 400254

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:06

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:06
Are you talkin of the 3.0 GU or 3.0 GQ?

You wouldnt get a 3.0 GU for $20k.
4.5 petrols, 4.8 petrols and 2.8's would be the only GU you would get for the money you have.

4.2 GQ with turbo and fully kitted should see you with change.

AnswerID: 146777

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:14

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:14
Yeah you will.

Saw one on sale the other day $19990 , but , it would have been a series II , so pay your money , take your chance.
FollowupID: 400258

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:16

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:16
yea?
Wow..
Must be a real hunk of bleep for that price!

wish I could find me a 03 4.2 for similar price :(
FollowupID: 400261

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:15

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:15
Yeah I paid $35K for a Nov 2001 model- only 43000K tho

I recon you wouldn't get much of a GU 3.0L for 20K
FollowupID: 400307

Reply By: DesC - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:25

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:25
Seen plenty of naturally aspirated 1hz's with oil control problems and having to be rebuilt and replaced early in their life. Also seen a few of the latest turbo Cruiser engines in the ute and wagon with failing cylinder heads. I think give the ZD 30 a shot because the vehicle is only as good as the dealer backup and i don't think Nissan would shy away from your engine if it developed a problem down the track.
PS. also seen plenty of Recent Cummins, Cat and John Deere engines with major mechanical faults as well but nothing that can't be fixed.
AnswerID: 146847

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:17

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:17
Why should a manufacturer have to "Shy away" from an engine?
Why not do the homework in the first place?

In my "spare time" I skipper & engineer a 25 metre vehicle\ passenger barge on North Queensland coastal run.
Have done with the same engines for 4 years.

This vessel is powered by twin "John Deer" 200hp turbo diesel engines & transmissions.
Pushes up to 200 tons regularly in all sea conditions.

10,000 hours with only oil & filter changes.
No piston failures.
No turbo problems.
No overheating.
No injector problems.

Have had similar experiences with Caterpillar & Cummins engines.
For many years

I wouldn't "give it a shot if it was my money"

FollowupID: 400343

Follow Up By: AJB - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:53

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:53
As the owner of a engine failed GU 3-0, Nissan WILL "shy away" from the problems with their engines as according to their customer relations the failures are all heresay.
FollowupID: 400385

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:40

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:40
I am in the trade and have not heard of any problems at all with 1HZ or 1HD-FTE Toyota engines they have both been around for years [1HZ for 16 years 1HD-T since 1996] and are trouble free.
Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 400393

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:46

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:46
>>> Nissan WILL "shy away" from the problems with their engines as according to their customer relations the failures are all heresay.

They are now. There is a cut off date as to when they will support them up to. Thats according to 2-3 people here who have suffered in recent months.
FollowupID: 400397

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:54

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:54
Yeh my brothers 1hz just clocked 500,000 km's this week and never been touched (motor). He's gone through about 3 gearboxes and 4 diffs though. It is a 1993 80 series non-turbo and he's owned it since new.

Brett
FollowupID: 400400

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:55

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 00:55
Similar story with the OLDER proven "TECHNOLOGY"...

Woop on the GQ list and outerlimits his GQ 89 mod TD42 turned over 560,000 before he removed the head, and you could still see cross hatching in the bores from new.

Photos on outerlimits of it.. crazy, but oil and filters every 5000klms pays off...
FollowupID: 400401

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:56

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 18:56
G'day kimtone,

Not sure what state your in, but if you're interested in a 2.8TD GU with a motson's chip to give it the same power and torque as the 3.0lt and dual batts for the same money then give me a holler at pezzamail@bigponddotcom.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 146853

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:10

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:10
I can not understand the need to risk a problem with a 3 ltr patrol. I have two mates with one each and on a trip to the centre last year we all did the same distance, over the same roads , at the same speed, carrying the same weight (approx) using the same fuel supplies and guess what....both patrols (1 auto, 1 manual) got the same fuel consumption as my n/a 1HZ 80 series. Oh what a surprise!! Fuel consumption is a product of weight, speed and terrain and of course right foot weight.
Sure the Patrol is nice to drive but it is still a bl....dy truck so why people risk a problem for no gain is beyond me. Is it just the thought that "hey I can wring the neck of a 3ltr and it can now keep up with a 4.2" I wonder. Imagine the problem of ANY 4wd going BANG in the middle of the Simpson let alone taking the risk with a stressed 3ltr anything. By the way, both my mates 3ltrs have been trouble free and I keep my fingers crossed for them. At least they travel with a Toyota if anything does go bang. HE HE.
AnswerID: 146938

Reply By: DesC - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 23:58

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 23:58
Funny about the John Deere engine not having any problems. I have been working soley on John Deere Machinery for 16 years and i look after 5 John Deere dealership workshops currently, and we had 14 broken crankshafts in the JD Teir 2 6081 engine in the last 6 months and 2 with piston failures. I have also seen the 16 litr Cummins in the TJ new holland's with cylinder head failures to the extent that Cummins could not keep up with the demand. As for your pussridden 1HZ's the amount of 75 series Field service vehicle's that we have had in Dealerships we should have rented an oil well to keep their sumps topped up. Lucky we had Patrols as well i say, as all we did to them was brakes and springs and the normal services. All the Nissans did their 300 - 500 000 km overloaded beyond belief and throttles flat out with operator abuse as per usual company vehicle standards. As for the 75's well i got sick of forking out money for diffs, Cv's, Gearbox's, transfercases and reringing 2 dollar oil burning engines. Also i was sick of the back breaking $1 seats that we had to replace as well , so the Toyota's were f#$%@* off not long after their first timing belt was changed. So if you ask me what i thought was a timebomb well a Landcruiser is right up there in my eyes.

PS. So what i am trying to say is, all machinery has faults and it is how the manufacturer handles the repair,to try and make it as cost effective and painless as possible to the consumer. The crankshaft problem in our engines hasn't stopped us from selling the Rolls Royce of Ag Machinery.
AnswerID: 147084

Reply By: clyde1911 - Friday, Feb 03, 2006 at 13:06

Friday, Feb 03, 2006 at 13:06
Don't know much about the 3.0 moter, but I have just taken my 2.8 turbo diesel to WA and back over the Outback highway - towing jAYCO O/ROAD van. Both performed well and the 2.8 has amazing performance. I have driven a 4.2 l patrol and the 2.8 leaves it for dead. I am selling my Patrol & van - if you are still looking give me a call on 0427726010 and I can give you the details. I realise it is some time since your question, but I have only now logged on.
AnswerID: 152711