prado vs patrol vs crusier

Submitted: Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:15
ThreadID: 29416 Views:5878 Replies:14 FollowUps:10
Thinking of buying a pardo will it keep up off road with patrol, cruiser turbo diesels 00 03 models

Reply By: camship - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:21

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:21
Overlander magazine 4x4 of the year 04/ +05, if you take those things seriously.
AnswerID: 146815

Reply By: 4145derek - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:27

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:27
Prado at the current fuel price.
AnswerID: 146819

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:38

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:38
Depends what you mean by "off-road", most normal dirt road it will be fine. The TD in the prado will be a little sluggish compared to the other two...

What are you going to use it for?
AnswerID: 146824

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:46

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:46
I have trained lots of people in both the 3 litre Patrol and Prados. On paper the Patrol has more power than the Prado but in true offroad low range conditions power wise the Prado out performs the Patrol. A case of lower gearing and down low torque. The Patrol manuals are quite difficult to drive in real steep low range conditions below 2000 revs. The Prado is better off boost. An auto 3 lt Patrol is a very easy and pleasant car to drive much better offroad than the manual.The torque converter compensates for the turbo lag. Autos and turbo diesels are a match made in heaven.
Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 400354

Reply By: foxie - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:41

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 16:41
beach work and 4x4 parks on long weekends
AnswerID: 146825

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:25

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:25
G'day Foxie, (you seen "Runnin' on empty" one too many time aswell eh?)

You blew it when you said " 4wd parks on w/e" really only one option mate, dare I say it.......Patrol.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 146833

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 13:04

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 13:04
running on empty, bought a copy the other day for $10 from Sanity I think it was.. one of the stores.
FollowupID: 400435

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:09

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:09
My old VHS version was on it's last legs so I splashed out and bought another copy on DVD about 12 months ago, mind you I think I got ripped, I had to fork over 14 bucks!

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 400460

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:26

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 17:26
It pains me to say so, but Muddy Doe's Prado has gone everywhere I've been able to take my Patrol so far (he's got a 120 series TD which is pretty-well bog stock).

I'd have to say that until and unless you get into REAL gnarly terrain where wheel travel becomes an issue, the Prado will be as good as the Patrol or the Blandcruiser.

(There, that didn't hurt as much as I thought it would!!!!!)...hahahaha
AnswerID: 146835

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:49
ROACHIE!!!!

Are U ill??????

Yes, Prado is a good tourer and all round bus especially if you don't want the full size models. I am very happy.

Muddy
FollowupID: 400358

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:23

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:23
Muddy,
Think I might email David and see if he will delete this thread...... I hadn't taken my daily medication!!!!!
Now that I've had 2 BEXs and 3 stubbies, I feel much better.
FollowupID: 400378

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:34

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:34
Muddy you obviously needed Roachies prompting.

Roachie obviously also Muddy is an exceptional individual - Judy thinks so anyway. Thats why Muddy's Playdoe can go everywhere the Patrol has done - so far...... Wait til he starts to call her the H A N D B R A K E...
FollowupID: 400414

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:05

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:05
Don,t forget fella's, he said "4wd parks on weekends", wheel travel, clearance and tough underbody, becomes an issue in these places REAL fast.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 400459

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:42

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:42
Dear John R

Pleae get it right....it's Mrs Handbrake to you!!!

Cya
Judy
FollowupID: 401024

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 19:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 19:49
Prado should be fine for 99% of the staff...
Don't expect go rock climbing in it thought...
Great for touring/sand work and general 4x4 tracks...
AnswerID: 146859

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:52

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:52
Did a bit of driver swapping with a mates Prado, 90 series I think, over some rocky steps and ledges. His a manual mine a Patrol 3.0 auto. He had to fight me to get his keys back. Absolutely loved driving his in Low range 1st.
AnswerID: 146889

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:35

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 08:35
Long time no see Pat. 'Avagood one.
FollowupID: 400415

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:30

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 17:30
Pat,
Nuffin a set of Marks Adaptors low-range replacement gears won't fix. I'm getting one of the new sets when they come out....(less reduction than the ones they've been selling up til now, which have required an angle grinder be taken to the inside of the tranny case to allow the new gears to fit). The new sets don't give as much reduction....about 28% whereas the originals were , fromm memory, 43%.
FollowupID: 400463

Reply By: OzRoamer - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:02

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 23:02
Towed a 1.3T camper trailer behind our '02 Prado with a family of 5 for 8 months. Did 25000km and took on any track we could find.
Mine had OME suspension and BFG Muds and never had a problem that I did'nt deserve.
Great vehicle - but I do love my new 100 Series!!
AnswerID: 146906

Reply By: Wilko K - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 10:06

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 10:06
Hi Foxy, Ive had a Patrol for a few years now and its gone everywhere I wanted it too.In all the bush bashing and beach Ive done, Ive never had to snatch out a Patrol but I have had 2x Cruisers and 1 x Prado
AnswerID: 146956

Reply By: foxie - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 10:12

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 10:12
thank you everyone for your help
AnswerID: 146957

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 13:04

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 13:04
Talk about a loaded question
AnswerID: 146970

Reply By: parthy - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 21:20

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 21:20
When push comes to shove give me the patrol any day . I now have a pathfinder and know it's limatation's so if you use a pardo like a patrol it will cost you in the long run
AnswerID: 147058

Reply By: Pat278 - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 09:32

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 09:32
I had the 3L TD Prado for a work car for some time and it could do anything at all you would expect from a large 4wd. I was so impressed I wanted one, at the time 2.7l P was what suited us and It has been marvelous I have been out on very chalenging terain rockclimbing etc. and never had a problem even out performed troopy (4.2D) rockclimbing. My only problem was it is a bit sugish fully loaded and with the shippshape which is why you will find it in the Trader.
It is also really good on fuel.
AnswerID: 147104