Kakadu in the Wet (well next week)

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 22:17
ThreadID: 29447 Views:2123 Replies:2 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
People who love Kakadu - what to do in the wet?

Monday at 4AM I'm off to traverse the 3000K of bitumen from Adelaide to Bitumen with a crew of 5 Israelis. We will do the obligatory stop at the big rock protrusions of course, on the way.

So, who loves Kakadu in the wet, and what are the absolutely must see, must do things - be they muddy tracks, muddy walks, - well anything really.

I'm a photographer looking for places that look and are different.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: tonysmc - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 22:44

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 22:44
Do you have a boat ? I think this is a must have for Gagudju in the wet. If you can give a few details on how you are travelling the site may have a few ideas. You will find ALOT a tracks will be closed at this time of year. ie jim jim and twin falls. I would do the east Alligator cruise if the road isn't closed as mangella creek mostly floods and you can't get to the east Alligator at this time of year. Take a flight over the place and also drop into fogg dam on the way past and do the walk. Go to litchfield park as it is easy to get around and Take plenty of repellant. I find bushmans the best and it smells nice as well. better than detol, baby oil, ect mix.
Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 147071

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 22:56

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 22:56
perhaps we'll try and rent a boat - great suggestion. I had planned the flight and fogg dam.

When they close the tracks they are generally closed for good reason I assume?

Do the rangers still use the roads at all?

Thanks for the advice on bushman's.
I'll let you know what we did.

Ciao for now
Andrew.

FollowupID: 400503

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 15:36

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 15:36