$299.00 Supercheap fridge

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:03
ThreadID: 29559 Views:2518 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
Jeff M are you out there? Just wondering how the supercheap fridge is going....
Cheers Andrew

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:40

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:40
Yeah g'day! funny you should ask, it's just had some "tim the toolmanning" by me yesterday and is running excellent.

Ok, so far since I took it out of the box it has not been turned off except for the many trips to and from the car. I've normally got the thermostat set on about -2 or -4 depending on how thirsty I am! ;-) It seems to cycle between -4 and 1c or -2 and 4c depending on how I have it set. Amps, it's drawing 4.7 amps with the stock fan going while running and has a soft start compressor so it doesn't spike the load when it cuts in, it gradually builds up speed. At rest it was drawing about 400ma because the little computer fan in the condesnor was always running.

It went down south with us over new years and run for 3 days in the sun while we were swimming and having a ball and took some nasty as corrugations on the trip home and still runs sweet, and last weekend it went on its first (boys) trip up to wedge where I was a slack knob and didn't tie it down cos we were only going down the beach and camping. Well we got the tides a little wrong and a small adventure inland was sort after where I got the surf just a wheeny little bit air born and I'm pretty sure the fridge almost hit the roof in the back of the 4by!! (oops). Anyway, there were a few nasty bits that weekend and she's still in the back of the surf now puring away.

Now down to the mod's... I had the surf all loaded up ready for the boys trip on friday night and I had 18 stubbies, a bottle of scotch, 6 litires of coke, butter, a coffe chill, 2 litires of water and a massive pack of sausges in there. I just finished packing the car (it was humid as hells that day and mid to high 30's) and I look at the fridge temp and it had gone up to 9c!! ARRRGH, beer getting warm, what's happening, ARRRGH?. Yeah the crappy little fan inside it had packed it in. So rather than letting my beer get warm I've installed a 120mm 800ma fan in it with a 50 degree c thermo switch cable tied around the compressor. It's good now, the fan only runs every now an then instead of all the time and basically doesn't run at all during the night (making it almost complelt silent) but when it's in the back of the hot car, the fan cranks up and blasts the crappa out of the condesnor and makes the run times shorter. Only took about 15 minutes to do the mod, so bugger warranty, it's heaps better now.

So all in all, very happy with it so far!
AnswerID: 147797

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:56

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:56
mmm, sounds pretty good. Where did you buy it from. Still contemplating one of these or a secondhand brand name one.....

Thanks Andrew
FollowupID: 401102

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 15:02
Supercheap Auto Balcatta WA. I'm not sure if they have any left cos I think they were clearing them out.
FollowupID: 401106

Reply By: searay27 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:48

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:48
hey there what brand and size fridge wasit and whee did you get the new fan from would love to know.
AnswerID: 147839

Reply By: 100TD - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 20:08

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 20:08
hi guys,i bought one of those things as well,found it works great until i heard a clunk in the back,then a rapid clicking sound while 4wding,out to investigate and found fan had broken away from its bracket and fallen down.have refitted it but will look at doing the same mod with larger fan.appears to work ok so very happy with the buy.cheers paul
AnswerID: 147865

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 16:07

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 16:07
I've heard nothing but good reports about these fridges, why buy waeco when you get the same quality at a fraction of the price.
AnswerID: 148069

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:24

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:24
And an even bigger saving compared to Engel :))))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 401373

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 07:10

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 07:10
oooooooooweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Nearly as good as sex

hehehe
onya gramps
FollowupID: 401462

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:33

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:33
You're an incorrigible (that's a bloody big word, bigger than wheelbarrow !) stirrer Ray LOL
FollowupID: 401499

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 23:53

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 23:53
what the heck does that word mean gramps...good, bad or indifferent ?
FollowupID: 401849

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 08:16

Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 08:16
It can be good or bad but definitely not indifferent :)))
FollowupID: 401868