Generator HONDA EU10I or YAMAHA ef1000i

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:43
ThreadID: 29618 Views:11504 Replies:10 FollowUps:15
i've read previous posts on these two & the general opinion seems to be that the Honda is quieter .. yet the actual specs suggest otherwise (Honda 52/58 dB, Yamaha 47/57dB .. the lower figures are when running in eco-throttle mode). Also Yamaha is slightly lighter, & has a bigger fuel tank giving a claimed extra 4hrs running time (ie: 12hrs) in eco-throttle mode. So why would i go for the Honda? (which some folks also think has higher repair costs)

Also, where are the best prices at the moment for both of them? Grahams has both listed as $1435

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:52

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:52
I have friends with both, if you can hear the difference on noise your ears are better than mine.
Don't forget those decibel levels are at 7m- and obviously there would be a difference depending on which end (exhaust or inlet) is pointing at you.
Have you also looked at the Kipor- you can get a 1Kva for $699 on ebay.
AnswerID: 148096

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 16:25

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 16:25
no worries, thanks for trying.

yeah i saw a couple on ebay, i might do the same.
the only thing is, you cant really tell how old, or how many hours the motor has done?
FollowupID: 402110

Reply By: Mr Z - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:58

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:58
i've seen the hondas for $1395 at a place in perth but delivery is another $95 to melbourne

do you have a link to grahams?

where abouts in vic are you located? maybe we could do a bulk buy?

i'll be buying the honda, a mate has one and i use it often, it's never missed a beat.
better looking too :)
AnswerID: 148097

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:09

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:09
sorry, also forgot to add that you can link 2 hondas together to double the power.
which i'll be able to do with my mates
FollowupID: 401368

Follow Up By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:38

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:38
Mr Z. Grahams are at www.grahams.com.au. $1435 + $27 freight

Actually a guy at work has a father-in-law who sells Hondas so i'll let you know that price if it's better than Grahams
FollowupID: 401386

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:44

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:44
thanks Drew, that would be great
FollowupID: 401388

Follow Up By: Member - Drew T (VIC) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 14:09

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 14:09
Mr Z ... guy at works father-in-law can still only do $1450

PS: I bought an as-new eu10i off ebay today for $910
FollowupID: 402095

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 16:33

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 16:33
sorry replied above.

i enquired about the gen you bought of ebay, the bloke said it was 3 or 4 years old? but in the description it says its only done 2 hours work?

so gave it a miss, considering the new price
FollowupID: 402114

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:26

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:26
Not much difference in noise....my Yammie is very quiet. I have a mate with Honda and it's quiet too.

Mine does get the best part of 12 hours time (running 3 or 4 fridges and a couple of battery charges it STILL runs mainly on the ECO throttle, only revving up a bit when Pesty's bloody great 110 L Waeco cuts in) hahahaha

Both good gennies....I'd buy the cheapest available. If Honda had been cheaper at the time I bought mine, I would have got one....but Yammie was about $100- cheaper xmas 2004.

AnswerID: 148106

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:57

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:57
Dont blame the waeco, its that electric motor you haver hidden underneath to wind up the rubber band on that 4 ton trol ready for the next 50 k's? LOL

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 401378

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:32

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:32
Cripes,
Looks like my secret's out!!!!! bugga... ;-))
FollowupID: 401402

Reply By: hazo - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:01

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:01
Hi Slightly off thread but i've had the honda EU2.0i for three years now and its a brilliant piece of kit. Expensive but had no regrets always starts first pull! only negative i can think of is a slight smell when left in vehicle but otherwise none.
I ran mine for a week whilst camping on Dirk Hartog Island and never missed a beatI was told that yes they are expensive to repair but that is mainly caused by abuse eg. regularly o/loading and not servicing. I would imagine the yammy to be equally expensive to repair?
AnswerID: 148116

Reply By: Darian (formerly Banjo) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:18

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:18
With regard to the info contributed here (an "impeccable source" of course !) seems that there is nothing between them - only price. I'd go the Yam, as Roachie did, based on price. Back in Nov 05, the Yam was still on a show special (what bullsheet we have to put with) at an Adelaide dealer for $1340. The Honda was also on a show special too, at about $1440, but you had to get the $150 maker cashback in hand to realise that price (IE about $1600 up-front).
My bet is both will be at those prices soon as the next camping show bobs in your area. Honda would only sell a couple if they don't reduce prices. People will be attracted to the larger wattage chinese jobs (so they can run air cons in the caravans) and have change, when compared to these 1000 W Jap jobs.
I'm attracted to the lightweight units you have targeted, with the sophisticated output.... battery charging, powering touchy appliances.... they can do it all, without the sun, and no extra transformers, regulators or inverters required.
AnswerID: 148119

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:26

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:26
I think you should buy a Waeco.

AnswerID: 148123

Reply By: Kimbo - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:49

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 19:49
I saw a engle Generator yesterday being unpacked from its box it was a 1kva and i believe there is also a 2 kva.The one I saw was the 1st one that the shop had got in so I couldnt get any info on it at the time
might be worth looking into
Kimbo
AnswerID: 148125

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:40

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:40
Those Engle generators are rubbish! No voltage regulation and poor sine wave purity.

FollowupID: 401405

Follow Up By: Jarse - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:58

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:58
Mike, the Engels look like a Suyama with a green case instead of yellow.
Their prices aren't really that competitive with what's out there anyway.
FollowupID: 401408

Follow Up By: Mr Z - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:53

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:53
engel generator

http://www.engeland.com.au/productcloseup.toy?areanid=1530&categorynid=58412&itemnid=60486
FollowupID: 401504

Reply By: porl - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:06

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:06
Am one i suppose of the few that have had both, declare now for Mike i have no sparky experience, owned the honda and sold it to get panels, got caught in a low and resorted to charging batteries by jumper leads so when i got home after stuff bought the yamaha. Difference in practice ? Yamaha is better ergonomically, like the colour better, oil change system up on cleverness, was bit cheaper, didn't like the Kipor and was scared off by the recalls on the cheapies, that's about it. Both start first pull if used regularly. Both like a motorbike if you start after long time and flood, take a few goes to start. Yamaha is easier to use and has more user friendly switches. Word at the time was that Yamaha brought in the model to compete with the Honda so studied it and tried to make something the same and better. Spose time will tell. I have nothing against the Honda and obviously regret that i sold it (since my Honda bike was awsome wheras my first Yamaha bike was a heap of junk) but now i like the EF1000Ii more. I mean, its blue.
AnswerID: 148202

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:37

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:37
I only wish I could afford [or justify] one of those expensive generators. My $99 Bunnings genie does okay for what I want.
AnswerID: 148215

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 08:49

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 08:49
Royce, my Nissan one does most of what I want too, though a mite more expensive if I was just looking for a generator. Unless you need one particularly I agree with you. Expensive generator buyers need to buy trailers to justify their purchase and carry their booty around. ;-)
FollowupID: 401483

Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:15

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 10:15
Or look at it another way JohnR, there are people out there who by expensive things because they can.
FollowupID: 401496

Follow Up By: StephenF10 - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 11:33

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 11:33
Or because they want good, reliable products. The "You get what you pay for" rule is still looking good.

Stephen.
FollowupID: 401515

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:01

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:01
Royce, I too have a $99 genie... Have had it for several years and as stated in another post, have tried as hard as I can to kill it. I've overloaded it to buggery and lend it to anyone who asks. At the end of the day, it has never let me down and I could buy another 14 for the cost of a Honda...
FollowupID: 401590

Reply By: Norwester - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:45

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:45
I own a yamaha(ef1000is) and mates all own hondas(ei01or what ever they are)
the hondas are quieter but don't run as long on a tank as the size is smaller
yamaha holds more oil which is a good thing for the engines size
I have a lot of trouble with the yamaha surging at low revs on eco (two fridges and battery charger) were the honda is very smooth at the same load
which is a pain as you can hear it surging so have to load it up some and make it work harder which stuffs up the fuel advantage

Has any body else with a ef1000is had this problem with surging as yamaha Aust are no help at all just keep telling me its bad fuel

Brad
AnswerID: 148363