Oil Specifications - Help

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:03
ThreadID: 29627 Views:24447 Replies:8 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

I must start this threat by admitting I have very little knowledge on oil.
No doubt with all the knowledge members have on this forum, someone can set my straight.

I am a little confused about oil grades, i.e 15W/40, 5W/50 etc etc etc.
I went to get some oil for the Barina today and asked for MOBIL SUPER XHP 15W/40 as this was the oil recommended to use when I rang the mobil lube line.

The guy at REPCO didnt have that oil in stock and told me to run it on 20W/40as this is what the manufacturer recommends. He was going off a database in his computer. Thinking he just wanted a sale, I decided to go elsewhere to find the oil.

So I went up to SUPERCHEAP auto's to see if they had the SUPER XHP 15W/40. The guy at SUPERCHEAP told me to use MOBIL 1 5W/50. He said it would be better for the engine when I initially start it and that it will give greater protection (being a 50 grade oil) when the car is under load or running in hotter conditions.

I was now totally confused and decided to head home and post this thread on the forum.

Can someone explain to me the oil specifications. What is the difference between all the oils above and most importantly, what should I put in the

92 1.3lt Barina????? and what should I be putting in the 2000 3.4lt Manual Prado

Thanks
Jason
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: 120scruiser - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:46

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:46
The thinner the oil the quicker the initial lubrication will be.
The colder the climate you live in the thinner the oil you need.
The thinner the oil, the less friction and resistance so the better the fuel economy.

Just to throw a spanner in the works, somebody who has the same vehicle in Sydney and Alice springs would run different oil. Because Alice is hotter you run a thicker oil.