homemade camper trailer

Submitted: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:00
ThreadID: 29752 Views:22477 Replies:18 FollowUps:46
Well, well. Last year I said I wasn't going to make one because I thought I'd get 3/4 the way thru and lose interest. But I did it in four days.

I saw that advert in 4x4 monthly about DIY camper from Primus. So, I said to myself, that sounds good. For $1600 you get the whole tent, awning , poles, king size mattress(4" with fitted cover), plywood base with steel tube frame ready to bolt on. Check out the advert, it's as you see it.

I dug out of the shed my ute tub that I took off the Navara dual cab a couple of years ago and made an off road chassis and suspension set-up, Landcruiser hubs, 31.5X10RX15 wheels. I incorporated a storage compartment at the front covered with chequer plate aluminium sheet and bolted on the tent top.
I also made a slide out kitchen out of some marine ply with a two burner stove and a sink. 9kg bottle holder on the front. Jockey wheel and rear stabilizers. Tare is 520 kg and we've just come back from a week at Kingston SE and with it loaded up with all the crap that you take, it weighed in at 740 kg. I got our computer sticker chap to make some signage...."the COIGHT camper"

So there you are. A camper for 3 grand!!

Reply By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:01

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:01
Well come on then. Only half the job. Where's the bloody piccies ??????
AnswerID: 148951

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:03

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:03
Sorry guys. I'm not a member yet so I can't put out pics Rus.
FollowupID: 402125

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:07

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:07
Rus,

You have been busy have'nt you. Did you miss the commotion about a month back. We can all post pics in our posts now :)

FollowupID: 402128

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:08

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:08
Rus,

No more excuses !!! We need the pics of your latest contraption :))))
FollowupID: 402129

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:12

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:12
agree with your banner Gramps
FollowupID: 402130

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:17

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:17
Nudie,

Thanks mate. It's a bit strident for some, I can understand that but I'm intensely proud of this country and it's people.
FollowupID: 402132

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 01:12

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 01:12
bleep off

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 402216

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:01

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:01
If that is a sticker Gramps get me a dozen! I'll send cash
FollowupID: 402220

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:19

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:19
Richard,

Are you OK? Is there a problem?

Truckster,

They're available from the Vietnam Vets Assn www.vvaa.org.au. I have'nt put it in as a link because Exploroz seems to have a problem finding it on the Internet ???????
FollowupID: 402226

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:54

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:54
me think richard has lost his cranium.....
may be he should be the first to leave?
FollowupID: 402231

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:22

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:22
Nudie,

I think he's misunderstood something. Everyone's allowed an off day. I'm probably well in the red :)))))))
FollowupID: 402236

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:00

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:00
wonder if he is going to explain?
FollowupID: 402243

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:06

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:06
It's only 6am over there so we may not hear from him till this evening. Something's definitely got his goolies though :))))
FollowupID: 402245

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:10
Yes

Dumb ass flags and slogans

The only reason to show it on a post about "homemade camper trailer"

Is to stir s h i t

Or am I wrong

You should leave that kind of stuff for in the shed with all your aj mates

Nudie: born and bread in Australia, I am smart enough to have my say and I said It. I do not like the way Australian people are turning out,

It seem John Howard's plan is working

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 402292

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:25

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:25
Richard,

I'm sorry you feel that way. It probably was'nt the best example to choose to show Rus that we can all now post pics. However, I don't have a problem with the sticker or what it says.

I suggest you read a bit further down to my Followup to Crazy Dog's reply 3. He and I both agree that what went on at Cronulla was a bloody disgrace.

I don't care if you're black, brown, white or purple with pink polka dots as far as living in this country is concerned. All I'm saying is if you don't like our way of life or our culture you are free to leave.

Rather than clog this thread up with our discussion my email addy is in a Followup to Reply 5 if you wish to continue,

P.s. What are "aj mates" ?
FollowupID: 402294

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:43

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:43
Are you a Vietnam Vet?
FollowupID: 402295

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:45

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 14:45
No and I've never said so. I was lucky enough to miss that lottery.
FollowupID: 402296

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:02

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:02
then i will take the aj back Sorry

Just mates

FollowupID: 402299

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:07

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:07
No need to be sorry Richard. We're all entitled to have our say both on this forum and in this country. I was just intrigued by your original response.

Still intrigued by the "aj" reference though. What does it mean?
FollowupID: 402300

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:14

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:14
Army Jerk
FollowupID: 402301

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:23

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:23
Sorry Richard, you've lost me with that one. I regard them a lot higher than that.

I think we're finished here.
FollowupID: 402303

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:48

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:48
certainly stirred you up....
no sheit stirred as far as i am concerned.....
i too am born and bread and as far as I am also concerned, anyone who does abide by said banner sticker or what ever it is, should bloody well peess off!
FollowupID: 402306

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:47

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:47
Im with you Nudist.
"I too am born and bread and as far as I am also concerned, anyone who does abide by said banner sticker or what ever it is, should bloody well peess off! "
FollowupID: 402610

Follow Up By: Member - laura B (NSW) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:39

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:39
should have aksed you this the other day...do you know how high the trailer should be so that you dont need a hard floor...if not how high is you tub and how high off the ground is the hard floor you made....we are almost certain of getting one.....just need to know how high the trailer can be....also do you know how dense it is.I noticed that they used grams not ounces....about 250g/m2.....im not sure how to convert!.......laura
FollowupID: 403226

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:39
Laura B,

I asked this below.

The top of the trailer is 1000mm (1 metre) above the solid floor.

regards,
Brett
FollowupID: 403240

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:06

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:06
Sounds great Russell BUT the "Coight" camper - doesn't bode well for your travels! Unless you are off course "THE" Coight?

AnswerID: 148954

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:27

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:27
Hey Gramps - I'm with you ..... Australians all let us unite...

Ozzie ozzie ozzie oye oye oye...

Let's see the pics R&M......
AnswerID: 148959

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:49
On ya Crazy Dog. Nothing wrong with a bit of national pride mate. As long as we don't confuse it with the crap that went on in Cronulla a few weeks back.
FollowupID: 402138

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:31

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:31
OK I'll give it a go, but I'll have to get the other half to help. So if we can post pics without being a member, give me half an hour or so and I'll see what happens. Rus.
AnswerID: 148961

Reply By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:34

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 17:34
Rus,

For image posting check out these posts

You need to have your images stored somewhere on the net e.g. I use www.photobucket.com
AnswerID: 148962

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:11

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:11
Ok gramps, could you give me step by step info how to do it. I have photos in my pictures but I don't understand (yet) how to place them on exploroz for viewing. Rus.
FollowupID: 402143

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:22

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:22
Rus,

Easier via phone if you want. Email me on noddy333 at ozemail dot com dot au and I'll provide phone details.

FollowupID: 402145

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:15

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 18:15
Going on 60 Gramps and it sickened me to see what went on down there.

I really felt for the families of those effected who had done nothing wrong to incite the riots.

This is a free country (except for road side stops)
and we should all look after that - now show us your pics....
AnswerID: 148969

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:36

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:36
g" alt="Image hosted by Phot
obucket.com">
AnswerID: 149006

Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 11:51

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 11:51
Your Camper looks fantastic! All that in 4 days is really remarkable.
All it needs now is a EO sticker on the rear!
Camper
FollowupID: 402277

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:38

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:38
AnswerID: 149007

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:40

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:40
Well there you go. A big thankyou to gramps who stayed on the phone for a loooooong time and talked me thru it all. Rus.
FollowupID: 402180

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:43

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:43
Rus,

Great job with the trailer mate. You've got posting pics down pat so you really have to be careful about what you tell us from now on LOLOL
FollowupID: 402181

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:48

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:48
Mary & Russel - see I got to put the ladies first.....

Well done on the trailer - should be good- let's know how it all goes over the coming months eh but!
FollowupID: 402183

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:50

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:50
Yo again Russel,

I see you have a hard floor for the camper - does that come with the kit or didja do it yourself. If you did it can you explain how it works - very interested...
AnswerID: 149011

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:56

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:56
Its good to see someone coming up with an original idea and doing it themselves.

Well maybe it is not so original but it does give you a lot of satisfaction building or repairing stuff yourself.
AnswerID: 149014

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:10

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:10
You have done a very impressive job, and in quick time, I might add.

Gotta love the number plate.... 666....

Wolfie
AnswerID: 149021

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:14

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:14
The hard floor wasn't meant to happen. The original ads didn't say how high the trailer should be, so after folding out the tent I then discovered another job to do. The hard floor is in two sections that we just lift off the top and sit on the ground. Made from 20x20 galve sq tube with 150mm legs and 16 mm marine ply bolted on top. We have two of those orange strap ratchet motor bike tie down thingos to hold it all together. It's a little bit agricultural at the minute but I'm making a hinged swing over setup that will look the goods.
AnswerID: 149026

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:27

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:27
G'day Russel,

Mate, awsome job! I reckon you'll be the envy of many.
You'll have to keep us up to date on the durability of the tent, zippers, flyscreen etc.
I'm sure a few guys would be interested in the same thing now that they've seen how it's done.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 149032

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:35

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:35
Great Job Russel and Mary!

Now I hope the dog wasn't leaving presents for you in your new camper?

Glenn
AnswerID: 149036

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:40
how the heck could you see that? Rus.
FollowupID: 402201

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:43

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:43
hahahaha...photo 2, Jack Russell or similar terrier sniffing around.

The eyes aren't that bad yet...hahahaha

Glenn
FollowupID: 402202

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:48

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:48
What tha !!!! Can't see a bloody dog

N U R S E !! First it was the bromide, what are you putting in my tea now ?????
FollowupID: 402203

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:53

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:53
Hi Gramps, look at the second photo, look inside the camper to the right of the boots. One small white JR with its nose down

Glenn
FollowupID: 402204

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 22:13

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 22:13
Thanks Glenn, well spotted. I won't tell you the magnification factor I had to use :)))))
FollowupID: 402206

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:27

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:27
could some one please mark it on the pic.......got the varmint rifle and 20x scope out and still cant see it
FollowupID: 402237

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:39

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:39
LOL Nudie

Don't need expensive scopes with Glenn around. I reckon he's got built in 100x :)))))
FollowupID: 402240

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:02

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:02
but but where's the bloomin dog
FollowupID: 402244

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:11

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:11
Nudie,

Reply 7 of 15, second photo. That bit of white in the tent doorway is actually a small dishlicker undoubtedly up to no good (as all little terriers generally are). See what I mean by Glenn's 100x vision !!!!!
FollowupID: 402246

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:19

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:19
your all having a lend of me...there is no dog in the doorway ......

or do i need a astronomical telescope..like maybe Hubble
FollowupID: 402247

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:22

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:22
LOL Eureka ... maybe Glenn's one of these eye witchdoctors and he's trying to steer us all to this post :))))))
FollowupID: 402248

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:27

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:27
Nudie,

Hubble's all smoke and mirrors. I cheated by saving the photo and pumping it up to a squillion magnification in Photo Editor.
FollowupID: 402251

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:40

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 15:40
i did too and there is no bloody dog of any type in the doorway which is above the boots that i can not also see.....well not very well anyhow
FollowupID: 402305

Reply By: Big Woody - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:28

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 07:28
Hi Russel & Mary,

I posted recently asking if anyone could provide feedback on the Red Desert camper tents in the Primus catalogue. No-one had first hand experience.

Can you tell me if you are happy with the quality of the design, the canvas, the zips etc...?
I too was also concerned about the height from the top of the trailer as I have an offroad trailer converted from the styleside tray of a holden rodeo. It is already 7ft x 5ft so the camper should go straight on.
What is the height from the top of the trailer to your solid floor?

Good on you mate, I think what you have built looks great and is certainly good value for money.

Brett
AnswerID: 149082

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:35

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:35
Hi Brett, from the top of the trailer to the solid floor is 1000mm.

The poly cotton canvas is not that heavy as compared with most Ausie made tents, my guess is 10 oz for roof and 8 oz for walls ( I think the ad says what it is). The stitching appears good and neat. The zipper door got a fair workout last week(every time you went thru it, you HAD to zip it up...SHMBO...) One of the wing nut type threads on an annexe pole has stripped, but that's no big deal.

The plywood bed base isn't of the quality that we'd expect here in Oz. There seems to be pockets inside the ply where the wood isn't all there. I'm 107 kg and in the bolting down stage with the mattress off, I knealt too hard and put a dent the sizt of my knee. The insect screens are all that very fine stuff so that even the smallest of insects can't get thru.Two of the windows have the bottom half in clear pvc so the outer can be wound up for light but not rain. We're going to camp on the
Murray next week for 4 days so I'll let you know how it survives a red gum branch from 10 mteres. Rus.
FollowupID: 402239

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:40

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 09:40
AnswerID: 149100

Reply By: flora - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:57

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:57
hi, whats the dimentions of the tent? do you get the dust cover too....this sounds really good...whats the catch ...is the canvas cruddy???where is it from....cheers laura
AnswerID: 149169

Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:23

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:23
laura, yes the dust cover came with it. The mattress is about 2200 long and 1600wide (about 7'x5') and the floor space is 2700 (9')

A 12' floor space is available, as is walls for the awning (which, by the way is permanently joined to the roof so you can leave it folded over or fold out for shade etc). The awning has 50mm velcro all round ready for the walls but we didn't buy that extra.

The heavy cardboard packing that it came in said MADE IN CHINA, so I'm guessing it was made in china. And it weighs 87 kg total. Rus.
FollowupID: 402329

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:02

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:02
Great job Russ ,

Have been thinking about doing this for a couple of months now , 30 grand campers are definitely out of reach at the moment.

The Minister for finance has been a bit dubious about how it may turn out , but after seeing the model streched out on the bed I just got approval ( I am sure that being a lot less than 30G had alot to do with it :)

Glenn.
AnswerID: 149219