Bike Rescue

Submitted: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:13
ThreadID: 29758 Views:2556 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
A few shots of the bike rescue, on my recent Victorian High Country trip.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:15

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:15
Help! What do I do now?

AnswerID: 148983

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:20

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:20
Panic?

FollowupID: 402162

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:07

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:07
you have forgotten the www. Cheers Rob
FollowupID: 402173

Follow Up By: Pterosaur - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:30

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:30
G'day Wayne,

from one troopy owner to another - copy the contents of the "Tag" box, and paste into this forum - then your pix will display

Terry
FollowupID: 402178

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:42

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:42
This is the URL to my photobucket account. All the photo's are on here
http://photobucket.com/albums/f204/Troopie52/?sc=6

AnswerID: 148989

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:58

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:58
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f204/Troopie52/01.jpg

FollowupID: 402242

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:43

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:43
Struth, did ya run him off the road or something, looks rather steep.
AnswerID: 148990

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:51
Ray,
No, by the time we got to him he had just climb up from the bike. I bet his mates who had passed us must have thought that when we told them that he had come off his bike.

FollowupID: 402167

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:06

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:06
Makes you feel good being able to help someone out of the tripe doesn't it and who knows the situation may be reversed one day.
FollowupID: 402171

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:24

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:24
Can anyone explain to me why these off road bikes cannot have exhaust systems which make them less noisy?

Had I wished to go into the bush, probably driving for 5 to 10 hours, to a place far away from other people and wished to listen to bloody 2 strokes engines revving their little hearts out for a large part of the day I would have gone to central Melbourne,
wouldn't I?

Now I am, possibly, the person in this country least in favour of banning things... but, I have to tell you, noisy off road bikes are testing my patience....

And so are the three wankers on bikes who, after stopping in my camp at the end of a "going nowhere" road on the Nicholson around Xmas and asking my advice (which I gladly gave) proceeded to roar off as if they were at a race covering me and my camp in stones and dust – I was not amused boys… and, it seems, you are _not_ in the minority….

AnswerID: 149003

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:52

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:52
Mike - I understand what you are saying - but just as there are wanker 4wders, there are wanker riders - the majority of riders I associate with "do the right thing" and "have the right attitude". Being a rider, and 4wder, I'd hate to be typecast ;-) (not suggesting your doing that)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 402184

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:07

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:07
>Being a rider, and 4wder, I'd hate to be typecast ;-) (not
>suggesting your doing that)

Well, actually, Ivan that's exactly what I'm doing.

In my experience of dirt road bikers (and I've held a motor cycle licence in a number of countries since 1970) in Victoria most of the dirt road bikers I've come into contact with (and that's probably 100+) have been less than considerate. In fact most of them don't seem to give a toss for anyone else.

And I would still like to know why their bike's noise cannot be reduced? Or is it just that putting a decent exhaust system on them reduces their power? And means the owners would have to pay more cash to get a better bike? Cheaper to send 110dB into the bush perhaps?

FollowupID: 402189

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:16
OK - I take the bait..

I'm happy to suggest that you are either over sensitive, or truly experiencing the low end of the gene pool (also seen in some 4wders).

In MY experience in a 4wd, I have never come across any inconsiderate riders - in fact have stopped and talked to many who are just out enjoying the bush - albeit in their own way..

In MY experience on a dirt bike, I have never come across a 4wder who has an issue - polite waves, quick chats on where they've been, how many in groups etc etc.

Very different experiences indeed - maybe there is a common denominator....

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 402193

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:17
p.s I concede that many exhausts are too loud, and suggest that the reason is based on performance alone - I'm not defending it, so don't go looking for a debate on this one...

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 402194

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:38
This is Sandy not Steve

"Had I wished to go into the bush, probably driving for 5 to 10 hours, to a place far away from other people and wished to listen to bloody 2 strokes engines revving their little hearts out for a large part of the day I would have gone to central Melbourne,
wouldn't I? "

Exchange the driving for walking and the reference to the noise from the bikes to 4wds and this is similar to the arguement a bushwalker was making in our local newspaper about 4wds ruining the peace and natural beauty of the bush!

As part of a group of friends who both 4wd and ride together I have had only one bad incident with a bike rider and two I can recall with 4wders.

We all have to go somewhere to enjoy the lifestyle we have chosen, which means that 4wders & dirt bike riders have to accept that we all want access to the more remote areas of this country. The last thing we want to do is start fighting each other for access. We have a big enough fight on our hands as it is!!

Ok I'm off the soapbox
Sandy
FollowupID: 402199

Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:33

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:33
I'd say that some bikers at least associate noise with the adrenalin of riding.

Engine noise is used to promote motorsports. Similarly there are a few car drivers who like a booming exhaust (and boom boom speakers).

Tampering with exhausts or fitting an aftermarket (louder) exhaust is seen by some riders as almost a necessity when the bike is used off-road. Noise is associated with 'grunt' and macho. That is how it is marketed.

My 30 something mild-mannered neighbour and his missus have a couple of noisy, smoky, fire breathing bikes for bush roads. If you ask him, he will tell you that these brightly painted, noisy bikes are part of the scene.

Undue noise is a very divisive issue in the community and I think the time is fast approaching when Transport inspectors and police will be required to do more roadside machinery checks at or near popular offroad destinations.

It will be like recreational boating where these days it is not uncommon to be stopped by water police and fishing inspectors for spot checks.
FollowupID: 402222

Reply By: Member - Matthew L (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:28

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:28
Ive ridden trail bikes for the past ten years and I beleive it is the minority of riders that give the sport the bad name, similar to that of four wheel drivers. I think Mike might have got out of bed on the wrong side this week!
AnswerID: 149033

Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:49

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:49
I rode bikes too, but not so much in the last 5 years.

To be honest, many trail bikes are noisy and this has to do with the revs as well as the exhaust.

As I isuggested above, I reckon that quite a few blokes like a bit of noise and drama when riding off-road and on bush tracks.

It is easily possible to mute the exhaust and not lose power (which is what Mike Harding is asking) but this is not done because noise is associated with the exhilaration (read hype) of bike riding.

Some riders even justify noise as a safety factor - ie they can hear you coming from several Km away so they get out of your way.

Responsible bikers (and '4WDers') are aware that other other people use bush areas.
FollowupID: 402223

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:43

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:43
Some nice photo's.
Just shows how lucky some peoplke can be without getting injured going over the edge. At least you could recover the bike. Would have been a different story if it was 4wd.
AnswerID: 149037

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 01:49

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 01:49
no idea, it doesnt like your URL's!
AnswerID: 149071

Reply By: Wayne W - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:03

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 02:03
Hi Wayne,
What's upsetting the URL is the extra bits, leave off the
at the end and all is sweet ;-)

Wayne W.
AnswerID: 149074

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 12:29

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 12:29
I tried that didn't work must be something in the photo that EO system doesn't like.

Here's a link to the photos

http://downunder4x4.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=9310#9310">BIKE RESCUE PHOTOS

FollowupID: 402281

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 12:31

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 12:31
Bike Photos
FollowupID: 402282

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:51

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:51
Thanx Redback that was so much better!!
FollowupID: 402317

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:29

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:29
Redback,

Thank you for getting the photos up on the site.

FollowupID: 402341

Reply By: Rusrob - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 07:38

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 07:38
Thanks Wayne for the assistance and the photos,
It will be something to look back on in years to come. Hopefully we can help you out in the bush at some stage.
To all your fellow site readers my 2 mates and myself are responsible , registered, licensed, well muffled 4 strokes, and wear all the protective gear when riding bikes. We too are involved in all types of offroad being 2 or 4 wheels for over 25 years.
The accident occured when my mate hit a large rock on the track which forced him up the side of the cutting wall and then flung him accross the track and over the cliff edge.

Rusrob

AnswerID: 149543