Another 3L Patrol bites the dust

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:03
ThreadID: 29790 Views:2993 Replies:7 FollowUps:26
Just had a call from Pud (of "Pud and Barb" on EO.....but they've just moved house to Goulburn and don't have puter running yet)....to let me know that his 2000 model Series II GU 3 litre time bomb has just exploded. Seems to be a holed piston and they are currently "negotiating" with the kind lady at Customer Relations, Nissan, Melbourne. BUGGAR!!!!!
Cheers :-((

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:15

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:15
Its almost a matter of WHEN , not IF.

Hate to be in the middle on the boonies when it let go.
AnswerID: 149158

Follow Up By: Axle - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:04

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:04
Its" Amazing, builder mate of mine just clocked up 600.000 km on his 90 mod nissan tray back ute, 4.2 I know but that engine has not had a spanner on it, apart from normal servicing. Nissan better get back to that reputation quick or you would think sales will start to suffer.

Axle
FollowupID: 402321

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:23

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:23
Reputation is already suffering. I am surprised other dealers havent gone out of thier way to make the public aware of this. I said it before in here, Imagine how many actually sold their 3 ltr in fear of having it blow up and how would u feel walking into a 4wd second hand car yard thinking..."damn..this is cheap for a 2001 model patrol".

I was in one a few weeks ago, they had 15 GU's for sale, most were 3ltrs. It would be devistating for most to buy one and have it blow up weeks later. Even though its covered by car yard warranty, can you imagine the cheap repair job they would do on it ( as they are aware of the fault) to save money. My hairs r standing up just thinking of it.

Im not having a go at the 3ltr owners here ok....i just think Nissan really stuffed up here BIG time. A total recall should have been done to keep their reputation in tact.
FollowupID: 402330

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:32

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:32
Talking to a diesel mechanic yesterday was working on a navara for a nissan dealership replacing a 2003 model zd30 in a navara with another new motor, thats right another new motor. He already replaced the original once before, now the replacement motor had blown, same old problem, hole in the cylinder.
Turbo
FollowupID: 402333

Follow Up By: Axle - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:56

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:56
Landrover had motor issues in early 90 models (not as servere as nissan) but LRA and dealerships struggled to support customers. Hence we all know the end result there. Hope nissan dont go the same road, need that pressure kept on toyo to keep market competive
FollowupID: 402336

Follow Up By: P.G. (Tas) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:42

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:42
I reckon this would be a good issue for "A Current Affair & Today Tonight" to take up and make the broader community aware of it!
FollowupID: 402346

Follow Up By: dieselup - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:45

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:45
A sure fix
Trade it in on a cruiser
FollowupID: 402373

Follow Up By: Axle - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:56

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:56
Not so Sure its a Sure Fix?

FollowupID: 402378

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 23:00

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 23:00
P.G.

I would be surprised to see this story on ACA as Nissan are a huge sponsor of the program (or at least were when I looked into publisising??? my overheating drama's).
FollowupID: 402415

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:04

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:04
I know a bloke who told Brisbane range rover that he would park his HSE previous shape to the current model out the front of Brisbane range rover with a list of the problems the car has had and the dealerships inabilty to service and maintain the hse. His car was from that point onwards always repaired quickly and serviced. Maybee Nissan zd30 drivers should do the same?
FollowupID: 402474

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:59
Turbo Diesel........

You are spot on there mate. That is what has to be done. But it has to attract the attention of the media. Remember..its easier for those range rovers to park outside a dealership cause they can still drive them there, much harder to get a GU 3ltr towed out front of a dealer.

But if it happens to your GU, and negotiations fall down between u and nissan....thats what has to be done to let the unknown public the facts about the 3ltr failures.

Nissan will come to the table so fast (if the media cover your story), they may even offer you lunch !!!

FollowupID: 402576

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:23

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:23
Imagine how many aren't reported through this or other forums!!

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

AnswerID: 149159

Follow Up By: Darian (formerly Banjo) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:44

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 16:44
Indeed Geoff - good point - must be hoards of them ! Any car can go phut of course - as long as they get support from Nissan, seems such events go with the territory (vehicle ownership) ....... these days anyway.
FollowupID: 402313

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:34

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 17:34
Indeed Darian, any car can go bang.
Just thinking if this forum has seen 3 in 17 days of 2006, the mind boggles!!

I looked at one of these in the local Nissan yard a while back, asked the pimply 16yo selling them how many k's the engine was good for. His answer, "last heaps, 180 - 190,000k's"
I thought that answer a bit odd, maybe he knew something!!

Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

FollowupID: 402334

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:06

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:06
The wait is finally over !!! Guess you could say " I told you so" but I wouldnt do that to pud, or will I ?

hahahahahahaha

Cheers pesty
AnswerID: 149187

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:16

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:16
yeh,
I told him about the MK Patrol on ebay with the 6.5L GM n/a diesel......but I reckon it'd be a major hassle trying to get the 2 things married-up (remember Mauri's dilemma with puters not wanting to talk to each other!!!!!). Hell his 3L doesn't even have a throttle cable (but I don't suppose it'd be too hard to cobble something together). Then there's things like speedo, tacho etc....all are drive by wire on the 3L GU.
FollowupID: 402337

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:23

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:23
CAN I!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 402504

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:21

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:21

Didn't Pud have an engine blow up on him a couple of years ago as well??

Or am I thinking of Pudding and Gumnut?....

Or are they same Puds?.....LOL
AnswerID: 149191

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:52

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:52
Yeh, different Pud Willie. We met Puddin (from Puddin and Gumnut fame) over at that get-together we had on the Murray a couple years ago).
This Pud is the bloke you would have met on the Birdsville Track last July when we heading north and you were heading back home....

PS: That brass fitting with the temp sender was a bit too small to fit in the hole I wanted to screw it into. I'll have to see if I can get a correct adaptor somewhere else :-(
FollowupID: 402348

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 19:04

You should be able to get another adaptor to adapt to the other adaptor.

Alternatively just make the hole smaller..........LOL
FollowupID: 402350

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:37

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 18:37
Anyone want to buy a 2001 GU with a ZD30?????
Only 49,000 kiometres

:-(
:-(

AnswerID: 149194

Follow Up By: dieselup - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:53

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:53
dont stress just yet
we got to 211000 before we had to unload ours -it was about to blow though
FollowupID: 402377

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:47

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:47
I know one thing, the new coil cab won't be a 3.0 L unless Nissan make some really big changes.
AnswerID: 149234

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 23:04

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 23:04
David,

What will be the big changes though.... Nissan's latest high tech intercooled turbo diesel (once what they said, not so long ago, about the 3lt)???
Don't know if I would trust them again.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 402418

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:24
Roachie.

From a different perspective.
What is the depreciation like on the 3ltr patrol?
I can only imagine how someone must feel when told by the car sales guy what there pride and joy is worth on a trade in.
This a bad deal for ALL concerned not just patrol owners.
Manufactures must be held accountable.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 149328

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:34

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:34
G'day Wim,
Have a look in any car yard and see if you can find a 4.2L TD? Scarce as rocking-horse poop.
Now, while you're looking, add up the number of 3L models you see. Even check out the Trader section on this web-site...... several 3L Patrols, but no 4.2 units (well none the last time I looked anyway).
That's gotta tell ya something.......blokes with 4.2L donks are holding on to them.
To be fair though, there have been a fair few more 3L models sold over the last 5 years or so, than the 4.2L
Hey, I just remembered that stupid bloody ad the TV used to have on a few years ago.....all these blokes and a couple of sheilas had their hair all swept back back and looked ridiculous......the reason? the neck-snapping acceleration of their new, shiny 3L Patrol!!!!!! WOW, gotta get one of these rocketships!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 402509

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:14

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:14
Check out the redbook value for a 2003 4.2TD cruiser and then a 3.0TD GU. The cruiser retains 74% of its purchase price while the GU has 73%, far more difference in vehicle condition than anything else.

To say the resale of a 3.0TD is woeful is simply untrue and only serves to propogate more untrue rumours and inuendo about the 3.0TD!

While the series II 3.0TD certainly has more than its fair share of problems, the series III is proving to be a reliable unit IMHO.

FollowupID: 402526

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:19

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:19
>>> Have a look in any car yard and see if you can find a 4.2L TD? Scarce as rocking-horse poop

Tell me about it :'( Plenty of the junk wagons, but no 4.2's or if there are they are top $.. :(
FollowupID: 402590

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:09

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:09
Hey Captain, don't confuse the argument with facts. Roachie and Truckster are trying to drive the price of 3.0Di's so they can sell the 4.2's and get two 3.0Di's, one for them and one for the missus!

I looked at this too about 12 mths ago and posted the results here I think, vertually no difference in % resale between 3.0Di and 4.2. There are undoubtedly more 3.0Di's on the market due to the popularity of the model.
FollowupID: 402622

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:17

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:17
And considering the 4.2 requires an additional $7000 up front when new, I'd say they don't hold their value as well as a 3.0.

Kings
FollowupID: 402653

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:45

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:45
actually its $5000 and well worth it.. ask anyone payin for the rebuild of the 3.0 out of their own pocket now that Nissan have a cut off date. $5k saving when buying, ends up a $15,000 bill.
Good economics.
FollowupID: 402775

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:55

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:55
Ahh, but think of the fuel the 3.0TD saves over the 4.2TD, surely this will help pay for the rebuild if you do happen to be one of the 0.1% who happens to blow their series II motor!!! All the series III are laughing all the way to the bank ;)

FollowupID: 402783

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:56

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:56
lol

keep tellin yaself that Mr ;) you will believe it too!
FollowupID: 402784