GU Patrol Accessories

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 28, 2001 at 00:00
ThreadID: 298 Views:2741 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
I have just taken delivery of a GU Patrol 3.0 Lt Turbo Diesel. This is a company vehicle and I have unlimited private use. I am new to 4WD and would appreciate any suggestions on fitting out this beast with bullbars, suspension etc keeping in mind I will have to hand this vehicle back in 4yrs and do not want to outlay too much from my own pocket.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Colin - Thursday, Jun 28, 2001 at 00:00

Thursday, Jun 28, 2001 at 00:00
David,

I was in the same situation as you 18 months ago. (Except with a Jackaroo TDI). I took myself along to a 4WD training course and quickly followed that up with a couple of tag alongs. This taught me how to handle the vehicle, and also what was necessary versus nice to have. I felt that I wanted to make up my own mind rather than have salesmen tell me what I needed. I have subsequently joined a club as the bug has well and truly bitten and I can't get enough. Just take it easy on your pocket and invest wisely on what you need to do to enjoy your new toy.

Col
AnswerID: 701

Follow Up By: David Harrington - Friday, Jun 29, 2001 at 00:00

Friday, Jun 29, 2001 at 00:00
Colin,

Thanks for your response. I have booked in for some training and i will take your advice on board.

Thanks again.

Dave
FollowupID: 202

Reply By: Mike - Saturday, Jul 14, 2001 at 00:00

Saturday, Jul 14, 2001 at 00:00
Dave In my opinion: all terrain tyres, bullbar, sidesteps, UHF radio, snorkel, cargo barrier,custom drawers, fridge.
Bullbar & sidesteps push the scrub away from your paintwork.The steps also stop all sorts of flying rocks and protect your sills from ground damage from ruts.
Cargo barrier prevents the gas bottle from being surgically removed from the back of your head in a rollover or other accident. Allows you to pack up to the roof.