Good ole Nissan 4.2 diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 19:23
ThreadID: 29801 Views:2019 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Following up on my post 28844 when I nearly cooked the 4.2 I am happy to report that after another 2500km over a varied terrain, the truck is still going strong.

It starts easily at first crank and has not used any oil since the mishap(after an oil change). Fuel consumption is the usual 14.2lt/100km and down to 12.5lt/100km. I always add 50ml of Flashlube to a tankfull of fuel.

Go the 4.2!!

Reply By: SteveL - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 19:31
You won't kill a Nissan 4.2 that easily ;-) -Steve
AnswerID: 149209

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 22:18
Bro, am pleased there have not shown to be any lasting effects from the misdemeanor. Yeh! Go the 4.2!!
AnswerID: 149240

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 00:56

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 00:56
The TD42 is the only engine that will survive a thermo-nuclear war! It's been proven - so I've been told ;)

I cry whenever I think of my 1898 Ford Mav ute that I sold last Sunday. It had done 250,000 HARD kms but the engine and transmission was A1. The tray was knackered, the body was rusty ( I live near the sea) but it still performed like new.

I now drive a Landcruiser - but go the TD42.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 149285

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:41

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 11:41
Thats very low KM's for such an old vehicle. LOL
FollowupID: 402510

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:06

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:06
Yes it is. Up until 1995 it was driven back and to to my job about 15 minutes away from my home with only the odd trip to the WA Goldfeilds.. After that date, it was only ever used in the bush as a prospecting truck. Then in 2001 it was "put out to pasture" as farm hack truck - which is where it is today.

I was gonna use it to go around "Oz" now that I'm retired, but my sons reckoned it wasn't fair on Mum to take her around "Oz" in "that thing".

So I've now got a 100 series turbo Cruiser. It too will be a prospetcing truck. The trip around "Oz" is now officially abandoned ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 402522

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:10
Hey Bilbo,
I think you missed the point about his tongue-in-cheek comment.....
250,000klm is VERY low number for a vehicle that is 107 years old!!!! hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 402524

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:17

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:17
Wphoops,

It's taht danm dsyelixia anaig.

Thknksa, Rochaie

Bilbo
FollowupID: 402556

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:02

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:02
You leave me out of your arguments with Roachie. LOL
FollowupID: 402671

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:38

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:38
I reckon Roachie's OK.

I stuck up for him the other day. A mate of his said he wasn't fit to live with pigs and I said he was!

;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 402685

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:57
So you've never met Roachie then. lol
I have but don't tell anyone that he's not a bad bloke really.
FollowupID: 402691

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:13

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:13
Thanks Des,
I'll get that slab over to you asap!!!!!!

Hey Bilbo, thanks for your support mate........my other nick-name is "BIG BOOBS".............. (cos I need all the support I can get!!!!!!!!! hahahaha)
FollowupID: 402837

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:38

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:38
Others cant even handle life with proper oil and servicing!!!

LONG LIVE THE MIGHTY UNBEATABLE 4.2
AnswerID: 149456

Reply By: simon - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 21:02
long live the mighty 4.2 like f#%k!!!!
mine req a $9K rebuild at 135K due to previous overheating issues.
After if cracked a piston and a satuffed head suffered from multi cracks(X 5) org head could not be repaired.
Vech was serviced every 5K and highly maintained usual nissan overheating problem but never boiled well while i have owened it.
So long live the mighty 4.2 yeah right talk to a few diesel rebuilders.
That being said still would not swap it for a toyota.
AnswerID: 149484