Free Rear End adjustment

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:29
ThreadID: 29881 Views:1719 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
Driving around today, I just got the Jack hand washed and some one decided to change lanes only to cut the truck off behind me and discover when he looked forward again me and the other 10 vehicles in front of me where stopped. Big bang when he hit me and another bang when the truck hit him and pushed me forward further.
I luckily had my recovery hook in the towbar which saved some damage to the rear of the Jack, but the rear bar, the tow hook, the exhaust and long range petrol tank recieved some damage. The tow bar and hook destroy the front of his car. The lift the jack has ensured the , at first glance, received no metal body damage, will have to hwait till the bar is off.

Yes i know, not the exhaust hahaha

All partys are insured and no one was badly hurt

Ads

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:33
Forgot to say, The pics were taken after I had towed him 60m and around the corner to get off the main road. It took over 30mins to disconnect the two vehicles.
AnswerID: 149666

Follow Up By: Sparkiepete - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:16

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:16
Did ya get ya hook back?
Would love to see some photos of the damage done to your car as I drive a Jackaroo as well.
Sparkie
FollowupID: 402968

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:33

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:33
HaHa... "Always think safety" Got a chuckle seeing that hanging out of his radiator... Glad to here no-one was badly hurt.
AnswerID: 149667

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:45

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 19:45
me too Blue ... :))

Lyn
FollowupID: 402959

Reply By: parthy - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:59

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:59
Bloody dunny doors there out to get us all
AnswerID: 149693

Reply By: Sir Diamond - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:11

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:11
i love the sticker always think safely what a bleep a.
glad every ones ok.
but as theres a lot of debate over banning the bull bar i think we should also ban the tow bar there wouldnt have been as much damage if it wasnt connected.
AnswerID: 149698

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:17

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:17
Interesting view Jim

If the tow bar wasn't there, I would have suffered a truck load more damage....Sorry i couldnt care less how much damage he suffered from my tow bar cause he drove into me, tough bleep I say.

FollowupID: 402985

Follow Up By: Sir Diamond - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:33

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:33
and then we can try to ban side steps as well.
FollowupID: 402990

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:34

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 21:34
Ouch!! Poor Jack............ Glad you are OK though

AnswerID: 149705

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:02

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:02
Glad everyone is OK. I always keep the tow ball on, I call it my anti dic&head device. Have had two cars destroy their fronts when they weren't paying attention. In one case my adult daughter was with me, and it turned out that the driver and my daughter went to school together. She said later that the driver had always been a bit of an "air head".
AnswerID: 149736

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:33

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:33
I am glad you weren't hurt mate and it sounds like it should be on his insurance too for the way he did it to you. I always know when your Jack is around if my window is open so I hope you can get a new exhaust mate. A new Crazy number plate too?

Sounds like a compo claim there coming up. Another 4by accident caused by a Commode.
AnswerID: 149742

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 02:29

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 02:29
bugger, great shots though.

hows the rear chassis cross bar ? hope its ok. The tow bar should have spread the load well enough to not have major damage.

Hmm i seem to remember someone giving his rear bumper a big shunt in some ruts one day :-)) Looks like its getting replaced on the freebie ;-)

You dont need that rear muffler anyway, wasnt doing much as it was LOL...
AnswerID: 149765