Canning Stock Route experience with family in Pajero

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 at 20:12
ThreadID: 29962 Views:7045 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
I am planning a trip up the Canning Stock Route for Aug 2006 with wife and 2 children (14 and 9) in an unmodified 9/2005 Platinum Pajero DID Auto (tyres changed from Bridgestone HT to Cooper 265/65/17 112T ATR).

I have some relevant experience from our recent Five Corners family holiday. This 42-day trip took us over, at times, very rough roads but through some remote and fascinating parts of Australia including, Cameron Corner, Innamincka, the Cordillo Downs shearing shed, Haddon Corner, Birdsville, Poeppel Corner and across the Simpson on the French Line, Finke via Mt Dare, Lambert Centre, around the Alice and home on the Great Central Road via Surveyor Generals Corner.

Our car performed flawlessly with the only damage being slight displacement, backwards and upwards, of the Mitsi protection bar at the passenger’s end, from punching into the wall of sand at the top of many of the dunes encountered when crossing the Simpson, the impact point being predominantly on this end of the bar.

My main concern now though is that while for the Simpson total non-passenger cargo weight was about 235Kg (we travel light and cull the in-cabin baggage if it gets above the height of the back seats and use a Thule Ocean 200), for the CSR it looks like being about double that, allowing for extra food, fuel and water.

I would very much appreciate specific tips from anyone who has experience of the Canning relevant to our situation – particular preparations/any essential vehicle mods or useful additions etc. I am a bit worried about the weight of fuel, food and water needed for this trip!
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 at 21:17

Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 at 21:17
Jonathan,