Recaro Seats

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 10:19
ThreadID: 29971 Views:9398 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
My lady has a bad back, and suffers badly on long trips.

I am looking at buying a Recaro or similiar seat, to put in her position, and swap to another when we move on to a new 4WD.

Does any one have any experience with such a move. Can we still use the lap sash seat belts etc, what are the pros and cons.

Does anyone know the WA distributors, not have much success with Google.

Many thanks

Col Tigwell

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 10:55

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 10:55
What sort of vehicle?
We just got the Paratus. Usually designed to use existing belts etc.
Look at Stratos, good suspension seat.
AnswerID: 150123

Reply By: matt000 - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 11:50

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 11:50
Col,
My wife has a bad back as well, and we have found Recaro saets have stood up to many years of off road racing! and long distance touring.
When we first started looking into aftermarket seats around 10 years ago, we probobly looked at every brand, and bought Recaro N-Joys. As we are both tall, they suited our long legs. We found them excellent for travelling between Adelaide and Kalgoorlie in 1 hit. Not many people could comfortably sit in their couch, or in front of their computer for 24 hours, but we needed, and were able to so. You will find that with comfortable, orthopaedicly designed seats, driver fatigue is less of an issue as you sit in a more "correct" position.
The initial purchase price is minor, considered as a percentage of your vehicles purchase price, the purchase price of your lounge, and the number of hours you may spend in your car(s) over the long lifespan of the seats.
1 of our vehicles was involved in a high speed head on collision and the strength of the Recaro seat probably saved my wifes life, staying in shape despte the floor of the Landcruiser buckling.
We have fitted 4 pairs to 7 vehicles now, and would not fit anything else but Recaros!
Despite living in Adelaide, I dealt with Ideal Seat in Melbourne a few months ago, and cant praise them enough!!!!!!! I am sure they would be able to help you no matter where you were.
Ph (03)9555 7788
All the best,
Matt
AnswerID: 150127

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 11:52

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 11:52
Col,

Check out any 4WD shop they usually have after market seats and can have them fitted. The seat belts are not a problem

AnswerID: 150128

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 12:07

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 12:07
When I had my GQ I fitted a KAB seat base under the existing GQ seat....just had to unbolt the existing side supports off the GQ's seat and the KAB suspension seat bolted straight on. Strewth I was disappointed when I bought the GU and found that this has a 0ne piece seat and I couldn't fit the suspension base.
I know KAB do make full seat replacements and boy, are they comfortable OR WHAT!?? ;-))
However, I have never got to that part of my "wish list" yet, so I've still got standard seats in the Patrol.
AnswerID: 150131

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:23
Roachie please tell me about the seats you had against what is in your GU. Nicks GU being the same model as yours has plenty of leg room apparently. Is the reason they have not got back on your wishlist because there is plenty of room or is it the comfort factor - these being so much more comfortable?
FollowupID: 403610

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:32

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:32
I guess I should also have added that I find the Nissan seats relatively comfortable, my long legs make the footwell pretty cramped in Moses. Shoes off makes a bonus of foot room under the pedals.
FollowupID: 403613

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 09:29

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 09:29
G'day John,
At 6'1" I'm certainly not the tallest bloke to climb into a GU. However, I do find the footwell area a bit cramped. I have removed the plastic footrest and cut-off the 2 captive bolts that held it in place. This gives my left foot a bit more room to stretch out. I've read on here about bloke/s who have modified the accelerator bar, so that it sits closer to the firewall too, but I haven't got the agility to contort myself into the footwell for long enough to have a go at that mod'.
Just to clarify....the seats in my GU are stock standard. If I want to modify them.......... (you're right ...they are pretty comfortable and my back problem seem to be in check for the time being, so I haven't added the new seats to my wish-list).........I think I would go the whole hog and get the KAB seating system. To me, the "floating" system is the way to go as you don't feel any of the harsh bumps. When you drive over really rough tracks in low range, you need the seat to be steady, in one position and there is a lever on the KAB that enables you to lock the seat in a fixed position for just this purpose.
FollowupID: 403695

Reply By: Member - Col G (WA) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 12:37

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 12:37
From memory the Recaro dealer in W,A. is ORE in Myaree, I have had a pair of recaro's in an 80 series and found them to be very good, the only problem I had was the raised part of the seat squab, (the bit you sit on) got in the way when you slid out of the car, would not be a problem in a lower vehicle as you step up and out, in a 4by you get out and down usually, they do make models with a flatish squab. The initial price is reasonably high but if you keep them and transfer them from vehicle to vehicle you will soon forget the price.

Col
AnswerID: 150134

Reply By: matt000 - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:10

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:10
I feel i need to add that the "high sides" of the seat are there to hold your legs in the right position. 1 set of seats I had in a lifted ute did not have them and they were not as good on long trips. You will notice only the base model seats are like this. Entry and exit are a matter of techniqe, and after 1 day it will be second nature
Matt
AnswerID: 150140

Reply By: herkman - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:42

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:42
Thanks guys you have helped alot

Col
AnswerID: 150145

Reply By: Raymond from Wanderin 4 Wheelers - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:51

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 13:51
Hi Col

Just before you go out and buy expensive replacement seats. I have suffered from a very badly damaged back for 28 years after an accident. Went to a motor trimmer to get Recaro or similar seat fitted. He suggested that he could greatly improve the seats in the Bronco so that they would support the back for me. Since then I have had seats in the 80 series, two Nissans and now the Iveco altered with extra foam supports and better webbing fit which has allowed me to travel for many many Kilometres without discomfort. May be worth checking with the local motortrimmer. The last set were $120 each much cheaper that replacements.

Ray
AnswerID: 150149

Reply By: pling - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 16:08

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 16:08
My wife and I have the same problem with our backs.

We love off roading in the outback and now use Recaro and are very happy with them.

We started using Scheel seats in a MQ Nissan Patrol 20 years ago and they were also excelent.(all NSW ambulances were fitted with them)

I have used the same seats in 3 different cars and still have them in the shed. Would have continued using them if I could get bases. I don't know of an agent in Australia now.

I would say spending on good after market seats is the best thing we have done for back comfort and trip enjoyment.
AnswerID: 150162

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 18:27

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 18:27
Col ,

Go here to see a nice Recaro setup in a Troopie :

http://www.havewheelswilltravel.iinet.net.au/images/My%20Troopy/13.Recaro%20Seats.jpg
AnswerID: 150173

Follow Up By: South - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:02

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:02
Thanks for posting that link Willie, the main site has an awesome selection of pictures covering most of the existing tracks in australia, well worth taking the time to have a little gander.
FollowupID: 403605

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:49

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:49
Hi Folks, thanks for the comments on my web page. Got my Recaros from (as already mentioned) from Off Road Equipment (ORE) in Myree. Had them fitted about 10 years back because of my back problems. Never regretted it!!. Cheers
FollowupID: 403638

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 19:44

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 19:44
We bought a set of Scheels in 1980, 25 years, 6 different vehicles and many hundreds of k's of outback travel they are still going strong, the best money you will ever spend on your vehicle and your back will thank you forever.
As has been mentioned I don't think there is an Australian agent anymore but Recaro bases and frames fit with minor mods. They were also standard fitment in some RS2000 Escorts.
We have had them recushioned once and the original fabric is still good.
We actually have four of them in the Humvee and it was engineered for ADR compliance with them fitted.
Recaro's would be the next best that are available locally although some of their fabrics don't seem to stand up to long term use.
AnswerID: 150186

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 10:55

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 10:55
That is a good point about the fabric Peter . Recaros would be nice , but how do you buy canvas covers for those . Tailor-made would cost you a squillion .
Willie .
FollowupID: 403708

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:21

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:21
The fabric on the Scheels the name of which I've forgotten is made of the same stuff they make climbing ropes out of so is very abrasion resistant, something about the fibres being solid rather than hollow from memory.
You can make half decent light canvas covers at home especially when the seats are in seperate pieces like Recaro's and Scheels as it can be cut and then fitted down between each seat part and secured with cable ties, with a bit of care you can get rid of most of the wrinkles. Make sure to wash the canvas well before use so as to remove any excess colour.
I've made covers for a bench seat in a work ute this way too.
Never made covers for the Scheels though, every 4 or 5 years I pull them out in hot weather and hose/scrub them to get rid of dust and dirt and then when dry refit them. Other than that they get an very occasional vacuum.
FollowupID: 403711