Fryers Hut

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:21
ThreadID: 29988 Views:3133 Replies:3 FollowUps:16
Suposed to be going to Fryers Hut Wed arvo for 2 nights... Vague recolection of going there many years ago but can't find any info about it now. It doesn't appear on any of my maps and I've Google searched it to death. I believe it's in the vacinity of Sheep Yard Flats, anyone care to offer more info on getting there...???

Blue

Reply By: SteveL - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:26

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:26
Try Fry's Hut,you'll have more luck.-Steve
AnswerID: 150198

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:30

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:30
Thanks Steve... Others are organising the trip and "Fryers" was in the email... With absolutely no info online, the thought crossed my mind that the name may be a little off...

So close yet so far away...
FollowupID: 403612

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:36

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:36
Let them go to Fryers' (wherever it may be though to be) Blue and you go to Fry's turning right instead of left at Sheepyard or going past.
FollowupID: 403615

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:04

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:04
Dunno john, might make for a lonely couple of days... Hoping like hell it was a typo.
FollowupID: 403619

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:43

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 21:43
Head to sheepyard, turn right :)

AnswerID: 150202

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:07

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:07
Thanks Truckster... Don't supose you know what 2WD access is like? As they don't appear to know exactly where they're going, could all the folk turning up in the family car be up for a walk...???
FollowupID: 403620

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:34
mate had his Maloo Ute in there. although it left with the front spolier in the rear of the ute
FollowupID: 403630

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:38

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:38
That's what you get for drivin a holden...(buries head under the desk to prevent foreign object from taking it off)
FollowupID: 403632

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:39

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:39
too bleep in hot to throw something
FollowupID: 403634

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:02

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:02
20C here in Altona... You haven't got the change yet...???
FollowupID: 403641

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:03

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:03
yea tis down from 40 down to 39.99999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999999
FollowupID: 403642

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:06

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:06
You lucky bugger...
FollowupID: 403644

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 01:54

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 01:54
Ha Truckster
have a look at this site

Hollow Hut at Mt Emu

is this my Ute and the girlfriends dog Rudy?

I sent the photo requiring about the hut that we visited in 1983 and now it has a copy right????
Photograph courtesy of Fiona Magnussen © 2003.

I must ask them for the original, its old enough to have a negative.

You just can't trust some people

None of you intended
FollowupID: 403950

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 22:50
Specifically cross the small concrete bridge over the river on the Howqua Rd as you are nearly all the way through Sheepyard flat and turn right.

Standard 2wd access should be fine.

You can't stay in the hut any more. There are loos and horse yards in there.

AnswerID: 150223

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:03

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:03
Thanks Dave, we're all tenting it...
FollowupID: 403643

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:07

Sunday, Jan 22, 2006 at 23:07
Well, we're all tenting it just I may be the only one tenting at Fry's Hut...
FollowupID: 403645

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 12:11

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 12:11
Frys is a popular as Sheepyard.. always fullhouse on long weekends.
FollowupID: 403716

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 14:10

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 14:10
I'm back to work Saturday so I was hoping that Wed & Thur night would be a little less hectic than the rest of the weekend, which the others are staying for...
FollowupID: 403745

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 00:56

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 00:56
Wed/Thurs should be ok
But I have ~6 car loads of mates that are regulars up there heading up early AM Thursday until Sunday
FollowupID: 403940