QLD Gathering venue change

Submitted: Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 10:14
ThreadID: 29999 Views:1525 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Following Trevor's '2 green bottles' post, this is to inform those that are interested in this weekends gathering.
I was out all day sunday and wasn't informed of all this untill we got home last night, hence the late reply.
Originally I picked bigriggen knowing there was no 4wheelin to be had nearby, only some dirt tracks and a lovely scenic drive through the gorge to Queen mary falls, and the other facilities mentioned in the 'gatherings' section.
I was trying to make it close by and accessable to everyone, caravans, motor homes, soft roaders, kids, pushbikes, swimming etc. and more of a gathering w/e rather than a 4wheeling w/e.
But when there was only Trevor and myself left, we figured 'what the hell' lets go somewhere to suit us and where we can get our wheels dirty,I suggested Rover park, but Trevor thought he would get himself into too much trouble, (mind you, I have a sneaking suspicion that this Handbrake was doing her job very effectively, lol, though we won't mention that, as I might get myself into trouble before I even meet her!) Trevor suggested the deer park at Imbil.
After the rather brash post he stuck up and drew a few more out of hiding it seems there was a bit more interest in than I had originaly thought.
So far it seems the general concesssus is that most are happy with Imbil, so that sounds good to me.
It wasn't realy 'my' gathering,as Trevor so kindly put it, I was just trying to get something going where we could all get together in a spot that would suit everyone.
So for anyone still interested, other than those that have already replied to Trevor's post, looks like Borumba Deer Park at Imbil is the go.
Thanks to Trevor's lovely SWMBO (yes I'm sucking up lol.) research, we have a venue with all the previous facilities PLUS some wheelin' for all grades in the forrest neaby.
Keep in mind, there is a permit required for the Kenilworth S/F, available from the QNPW at Kenilworth. 07 5446 0925.
Now if that's not enough for a good w/e then I don't know what is!
See you all there with hubs locked!

Avagoodn
Pezza

P.S. I have tried to change the details in the 'trips/gathering' section, but it won't let me.

Reply By: andymitch - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:04

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:04
Pezza
I would have loved to come down for the weekend but at the moment it is just a little to far from Rockhampton
Andy
AnswerID: 150264

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:20

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 11:20
G'day Andy,
Ha ha, yeah I reckon you might be right.
Though I think you are a good candidate if we have a David/Mackay gathering. ( Check out the reply by Grungle in post 29967 )

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 403710

Reply By: the real chopper - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 12:49

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 12:49
erm... when is this?
AnswerID: 150290

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 13:03

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 13:03
G'day T.R.C.
If you're talking about the Imbil one, then it's as it states mate, this weekend, dates 26-29th jan.
If you're after any info or permit applications send me your addy to pezzamail@bigpnddotcomdotau.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 403732

Follow Up By: the real chopper - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 13:31

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 13:31
thanks, I'll be on Fraser Island...

(But we have an Overlander Gathering out there the following weekend)...
FollowupID: 403734

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 14:10

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 14:10
ROFLMAO, Pezza. You want to hope my handbrake doesn't read this or it may turn into a REAL LOOOONG WEEKEND.
As you know I will still be there with bells on.

Borumba Deer Park ph: 07 54845196. If you mention my name Trevor Raymond, to June (the park owner) she will put us all in the same vicinity.

See you all there, Trevor.
AnswerID: 150306

Follow Up By: jo and mark - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 09:56
hey Trevor, (sorry I threw your phone number out, I had it written on scrap paper) Do I need to ring the park or have you spoken to them with the number of us who are definate?
FollowupID: 403976

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:11

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:11
Hi Jo,

Rang them not long ago, it's all sorted, seems Trevor booked enough spaces for all of us.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 404063

Follow Up By: jo and mark - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:22

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:22
Cheers Perry..

You''re a good man Trevor!
FollowupID: 404066

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 18:40

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 18:40
Thanks for the effort in organising something, but I can't make it. :-(.

Will keep an ear out for future ones.
AnswerID: 150374

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 21:54

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 21:54
hi pezza,
well done for making the effort to put on a gathering but as the jan long weekend is the fraser island cleanup myself and a lot of other forumites were commited many months ago. hope you have a good weekend without us.
best regards peter
AnswerID: 150440

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:15

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:15
No worries old plodder and Peter, as I said before, I didn't even know about the clean up, well done for chipping in though, mind you, if we found a way of disposing of these filthy mongrels we woudn't need these cleanup w/e's.
Hope to see you on the next one.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 404065