Coorong to Murray Mouth

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 12:49
ThreadID: 30051 Views:2485 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
Going down to the Coorong this weekend (Wed night to Sunday). Crossing via Tea Tree Crossing. Is it possible to drive North back to the Mouth? I have heard that it gets blocked off because of a rare bird breeding (fair enough). When does this open up again though?
I have been down to the Coorong only a couple of times and always headed South from this point.
Taking some friends down (1 x landcruiser and 1 x Jeep) who have not been 4wding on sand before so hopefully it's not too soft for them on their first trip!

Reply By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:08

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:08
Hey Gossy.. don't want to hijack your thread, but I'd love to know more about what you've done in the past at Coorong. I'm fairly new to ADL and am still trying to find places to go. Perhaps you could e-mail me at damianreitsma@adam.com.au and tell me about where is good for camping and what the fetures are.. Cheers.
AnswerID: 150539

Follow Up By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:28

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:28
No expert myself but:
1. Drive to Tailem Bend then turn right just out of town and head to Meningie. About 50Kms past Meningie is a servo called Salt Creek. Take the dirt road from here for about 10kms where a turnoff for Tea Tree Crossing is marked.
2. Drive for about 2kms and you are on the beach.
3. Heaps of camp spots South of this point. All numbered and fenced. Excellend for windy days as all behind the dunes.
4. don't ask me about the fishing. I'm crap at fishing!

There is a map shop just off Hindley St called "The Map Shop". They have a "CFS map book" for the "Riverland and Murray Mallee". This covers all the Coorong and all of the Ngarkat Conservation Park (border track and good mallee scrub which I am hoping to do soon). Cost is $59.95. Great value as it has probably more than $500 worth of maps if your bought them separatly.
Scale is 1:100 000 in grid. Lat and Long should only be used on the ocean I think!
FollowupID: 404028

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:57
Gossy, the Border Track is currently closed until end of Fire Season (probably weekend after Easter). You may be not aware of a fire still burning in Ngarkat that has burnt out at least 80,000ha and still burning. Don't know what is left to see down there except desolation.
FollowupID: 404040

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:04
G'day blokes,

Might see you down there as we (ie: YP 4WD Club) are camping at Narrung this weekend. We're heading off from here tomorrow arvo too. I haven't been there before, so I'm hoping I don't get myself or everybody else totally lost.

FollowupID: 404044

Follow Up By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:11

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:11
It will probably be a good 12 months before I can get there.

Good to catch up with the YP 4WD Club. I was going to catch up with you at Argadells but you "chickened" out with the massive amount of rain the area had. We risked it and it was bone dry! Country was that dry to start with the land just sucked up all the water!
Look for a white GQ (mine) red landcruiser and a white Jeep. My GQ will have the sand flag.
FollowupID: 404046

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:40

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:40
Hey Roachie. a new piccy of your rig hey.. bit hard to see but it loks like your having fun...
Anyone know if you can get from Goolwa across the barrages and drive along the Coorong or are the roads marked on private property and hence fenced??? Whats the caming like south of TTP?? Someone said there wasn't mush North of the crossing and there was plenty of it South, but is there any fresh water to be had ? small lakes etc???

Sounds like every man and his dog is heading off camping this weekend.. safe travels and a good time to all..
FollowupID: 404053

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:51

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:51
As you can tell, I'm flat out at work today.. planning my weekend...
Roachie, you mentioned the YP 4WD club was camping at Narrung. Can I impose on you and ask whats there?? I've got a mate and 5 Y/O boy who are coming camping in their 1st 4WD and we were going to head to Butlers Beach on YP, but with it being so hot latley I'm keen to find a little bit more of a pleasant place (ideally water front) with the possibility of a bit of an off rd adventure nerby? Cheers
FollowupID: 404056

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:03
Coyote,

Somehow, rigpic has just reverted back my old one....and I didn't change it!!! The blurred one I had on there was part of our Simpson crossing last July....bit muddy and boggy!!!

Re; Narrung....I haven't been there before. Pesty has researched it and says there's no natural shelter/shade etc, so we need to take our own. Could be stinking hot; could be bloody wet.....who knows??? hahaha

Your mate and his lad would be welcome to come and make themselves known to us if he sees us there. Sorry i can't throw any more light on it than that....we always go fully prepared (as much as possible) for any/all eventualities and try to have some fun no matter what happens.

FollowupID: 404061

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:23

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:23
Cheers Roachie.. If we head that way we'll drop in and have a beer or 2 with you. (not to mention drule over your rig set up) just dont tell my SWMBO if we happen to catch up that this was pre-arranged. It needs to look 'innocent' or I'l be accused of trying to ge tmore "bells and whistles" onto our rig.
FollowupID: 404067

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:55

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:55
Did someone say beer? I'm there................hang on I'm going anyway.
FollowupID: 404132

Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:33

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:33
Gossy,
The hooded plover are on the job between 24 Oct-24th Dec each year.
Dean

AnswerID: 150542

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:47

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:47
I was there this weekend....
Tea Tree Crossing is closed....
Well actually you can drive across it if you want to drive through Coorong water over the tyres which is 4 times saltier than ocean water...
I went across 42mile crossing and drove all the way back to Tea Tree which was exactly 19kms....
I also drove past a sign at Tea Tree which said something like "No Access to Murray Mouth"
I still drove down towards the mouth about 5 or 6 k's though just trying to find a good fishing spot..
Like someone said ,,, the BIRD BAN is over...
AnswerID: 150549

Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:56

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:56
Thought 42 mile was closed 10 days ago???
Was going to go there but the Barossa held more attraction at the time....
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 404039

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:59

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:59
I cant remember 42mile ever being closed but who knows... Maybe it was...
FollowupID: 404042

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 18:54

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 18:54
I can't remember 42 ever being shut either?
FollowupID: 404110

Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:43
I didn't see it for myself but a few people in Robe told me it was closed due to flooding. nice animation brew.....
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 404128

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 21:03

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 21:03
Think you guys are getting your crossings mixed up. Tea Tree is opposite the servo at Salt Creek, 42 is 18km south of salt creek on the bitumen. Have never heard of 42 being closed in the past 25yrs I have fished there.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 404163

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 13:48
hi gossy, can help you out. i spent 2 days there last week after leaving ki and heading home to nsw. tea tree crossing was closed so went over at 42mile crossing went to within 2 km of mouth 110km. beach closed to vehicles at mouth due to dredging, short walk left. went at low tide, this would be a slow drive at high tide . the beach north to ttc was very busy and the high track rough, where possible i went down the beach a bit soft but running 16lb and keeping momentum up no problems. i found a nice camp behind the dunes 5 kh north of ttc and from there only saw 2 vehicles none after 40km. after 15 km north of ttc the beach was less steep and the sand firmer making it an easy run. kept my eye open but didnt see any good campsites towards the mouth. ive done a lot of sand driving and the secret is low tyre pressure, momentum, not stopping quickly and stopping on a ridge top. i did this, one vehicle alone. if you are travelling with others just be carefull and carry a snatch strp and have some good attaching points for it. the beach is closed between oct and dec north of ttc.

i only had 2 days but a top spot. ill be back for some fishing and r and r

regards peter
AnswerID: 150550

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:46

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:46
Hey Pater.. what were the camping sites south of TTP like. I have another 4WD coming camping for the 1st time with a 5 y/o Kid in new discovery. Their 1st 4WD so I'm keen that it's not raumatic for them and that we can make it pretty comfy. Is the camping inthe Coorong all on sand? or is there patches where you can get shade from trees? Is there nay fresh water? What about the fishing. Any comment on what to go for this wekeend?
FollowupID: 404055

Follow Up By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:13

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:13
Coyote, i called into the nat park office in menindee and they gave me a sheet of the camp areas between 42mile and ttc they are numbered and of varying sizes, so you can easily find them as you drive up the beach. some had good wind protection but none would have much shade as trees are scarce, no fresh water, all sand on beach side of coorong, everyone appeared to be fishing except me but dont know how succsseful but the waterlooked very fishy. only my opinion but i would go up the beach to get away from the crowd and traffic. most people within 5-10 km of 42 mile. iv got the map page so if you have a fax i can send it.
regards peter
FollowupID: 404064

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:05

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 14:05
great info from everyone.
Looks like we will have to drive the extra distance on the highway to get to Forty Two Mile Crossing. That's life!
Great news that we can drive up towards the Mouth. will have to play that on the day as the Jepp is stock standard with road tyres and no raised suspension. Looks like it going to be a hot week with 39 degrees on Thursday! Tough on the engines running hard with not much air flow. Not too worried about the two diesels but the petrol Jeep could find it hard.

Thanks again. I will print this forum up and take it down with me.
AnswerID: 150552

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:09

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:09
just rang the roadhouse (8575 7021). Nthly winds blowing the water up across Tea Tree Crossing at the moment so depends on the wind "one hour it's ok then the next it's impassable".
42 Mile Crossing is fine.
AnswerID: 150565

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:27

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 15:27
good on you Gossy..
FollowupID: 404069

Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 16:36

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 16:36
Hi Gossy

Drove right to actual Murray mouth last year from tea tree up and got tyres wet - its a long drive though.

Others have answered actual state of beach track at moment.

Do you use goggle earth program?

Mostly its resolution is low , but one of few places that is high res is the actual
mouth of the murray , you can zoom in and look around and you will discover
what is at the end of some of the tracks off the beach.

Quite revealing

AnswerID: 150577

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 16:43

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 16:43
good point. Will have a look now at it.

Ta,
AnswerID: 150578

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:27

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 19:27
Whatever you fella's do stay off the shellgrit, between the dunes and the sea as it is bottomless.

Personally I would not drive near the waters edge at low tide but that is an individual choice. If you get bogged your vehicle could be history. The top track from 42 mile crossing is quite bumpy and slow close to the dunes. And it is a loooong drive to the mouth(have not been all the way to the mouth yet)

Let your tyres down to 15/18psi at the campsite before the crossing the dunes to the sea or you won't make it.
AnswerID: 150615

Reply By: Gossy - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 09:21

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 09:21
thanks for that. Usually set mine to 19 but I have reset my staun deflators to 13 now so should be ok. The jeep is the only concern on road tyres but I guess that just adds to the fun.

cheers,
AnswerID: 150748