WA - WOW !!!!! - I'm Back

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 01:21
ThreadID: 30123 Views:3182 Replies:12 FollowUps:20
Just back from one of the best trips I have ever done, nearly 6 weeks and 13,000 km's to Perth and the lower SW area of WA.
All I can say is WOW !!!!! if you have not visited this fantastic place then get a move on.
Some areas visited include, The Baxter Cliffs, Israelite Bay, Cape Arid N.P, Cape Le Grande N.P, Esperance and the brilliant Southern coast beaches and National Parks The forests around Shannon and Pemberton.
Cape Leeuwin and the area around Augusta, Cape Naturaliste, Margaret River, Busselton, Bunbury, Hyden and of course Perth and Rotnest and a whole lot more.
Just brilliant, and the best summer conditions you could hope for around mid to low 20's for most of our time there, very nice considering Melb was sweltering in 40 something degree's.

Part of the reason I travel is not just to see the country but to meet people and I was not disappointed in this regard.

In Peterborough SA we spent 2 nights on the way west and one on the way east with Willem and Judith, catching up and enjoying a little bit of R n R. As usual the country hospitality extended by Willem and Judith is second to none, Thank you both again.

In Kalgoorlie we met up with Davoe (Widgiemooltha) who again showed us us some real country hospitality by arranging an invite to a BBQ at Mick's place and then the following day Davoe picked us up for a tour of Kalgoorlie, Many thanks Davoe for both yours and Mick's hospitality, it was great.

And in Perth we spent a very pleasant evening at the home of Richard Kovac and his lovely wife Robyn, comparing Troopies, It was great to meet and thanks for the great evening.

On the way home we stopped of for lunch at Kadina in SA with Roachie, great to meet the legend behind the Nissan. LOL. Good to catch up Bill.

The Troopy performed very well with the only issues being the 2nd battery dying at Augusta (It was a little suspect before I left) so was ready for it.
And a stone cracking the windscreen east of Albany, no big deal will get it changed in the next week or so.

Before I went I could honestly say that I had never heard a bad word about WA, well I have to say I found something to complain about, actually two things....

The first, No 24 hour supermarket shopping. Very surprised considering the growth in the areas I visited and from someone who is used to 24 hour convenience a bit of a hassle.

And the second, The price of Dim Sims in the Fish and Chip shops, they ranged from $1.20 to $1.60, Why so pricey???
One young lady behind the counter of one Chip shop said "They were quite big" (The Dim Sims that is) when I asked to see one they where no different to our eastern states one's at about .70 cents. So any info on why WA dimmies are so over the top would be appreciated. LOL.

I can't wait to return, so many places still to visit and so many more people to meet.

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 06:44

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 06:44
Hi John:

This is good info .. .as my wife and I are heading over there early March, with plenty of time to look around.

Thanks.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 150987

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:15

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:15
Jack you will love the place, Just allow heaps of time as there is so much to see.
If I can help with detailed info on any area you may wish to visit then please ask.

FollowupID: 404632

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:30

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:30
Thanks John .. will do. Just pouring over maps at the moment.

I am there for an ANZAC Day Reunion of my old army unit, so am OK for the city and environs. But coming and and going out is what we are going to enjoy. Like I said ... we've got plenty of time and no deadlines.

I got a tremendous amount of feedback and good advice when I asked about the Eyre Peninsula on this forum earlier, so am really looking forward to that area on the way across.

Thanks again.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 404641

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 06:46

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 06:46
John several years ago when I was in WA [Busselton acctually], dimmies were a "new" thing, I couldn't get a steamed one, I was given the strangest look, so I settled for a deep fried one, which when I got it, had been dipped in batter, and fried, it was the size of a base ball....LOL...perhaps you got one without the batter....

sounds a great trip, in a beautiful part of Australia.

Lyn
AnswerID: 150988

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:16

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:16
Baseball sized Dim Sims, I would like to see those. LOL

FollowupID: 404633

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 07:55

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 07:55
24hr supermarket shopping?????? Where and why do u get or need that lol. It wasn't that long ago that petrol after hours or even on the weekend was almost impossible to get in Perth. I remember having to drive to the airport to get fuel cos i needed it lol. GR8 state tho.
AnswerID: 150996

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:18

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:18
Having to shop during the day interfered with my traveling.
In Melb I love shopping late at night as I don't have to put up with the crowds during the days.

Agreed, Brilliant state.

FollowupID: 404634

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:08

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:08
It's a touchy subject over here and there have been many refferendums on the subject (24hours shopping that is), one not that long ago. Personally I'm a firm beliver in our trading system helping keep the state and it's people the way they are, it's a great place, and has very similar trates to larger country towns in the way the people are. 24 hour trading here is not neccessary as most of the shops wouldn't have the custom to support it anyway and the only thing it would do is let woolies and coles take over all the remaining independants we have here, they would open for 24 hours trading for a couple of months, kill the competition and then only open a handful of stores 24 hour leaving virtually no benifit for the average sandgroper.

When you live in WA you get to know how to work arond the trading hours. For example most of fremantle and the CBD are open sundays. The CBD is open Friday nights, all shops are open thursday nights and the independant supermakets (Dewsons, SupaValu etc etc) are all allowed to open whenever they like. If you like to shop at night, you just go to any dewsons spermarket (most are open until 8pm everday of the week). There are heaps of indepents delis and 24hour servo's that supply you with that much needed coke, pastie or ice in the wee hours of the morning, so it's not really a big deal.

As far as Dim Sims go.... What are they?! LMAO!

Anyway, glad you had a great trip!
FollowupID: 404651

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:25

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:25
Hi Jeff
Yeah I understand the pro's and con's and we did work around it, but it was a bit hard to get used to for the first week or two.

Sorry I missed you, I was in Mandurah for most of the time and when I got to Perth I was tied up with the other half's family stuff and sight seeing with the kids. Next time.

FollowupID: 404654

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:17

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:17
Welcome back John, pleased you had a good trip and returned safe. It was interesting following your travels and receiving your messages using the bcon system...Now...get back to work. :)

AnswerID: 151003

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:53

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:53
I want one of those flags......
FollowupID: 404607

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:24

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:24
Work !!! Work !!! whats that?

My girlfriend is trying to get me to buy a house at "The Cut" Golf Course down at Mandurah.
She offered to pay for my club membership and keep me in the lap of luxury that I require if I bought the house.

Sounds good I said, "What house do you want"?, that one on the beach overlooking the Indian Ocean and the golf course, "No worries" said I "How Much"? Only 1.5 million dollars comes the reply.

We came home to Melb........

Will do a Bcon post in the next day or so.

FollowupID: 404636

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:20

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:20
Help yourself to the flag Ozdyssey it belongs to us all, right click/save image as

I'm just so jealous of the girlfriend John, lucky bugga. Maybe if I asked hard enough the wife would approve.

FollowupID: 404653

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:27
"I'm just so jealous of the girlfriend John, lucky bugga. Maybe if I asked hard enough the wife would approve."

Hmmm !!!!! Ray Do you mean the wife approve of you having a girlfriend? or The wife paying for your golf club membership? LOL.

FollowupID: 404656

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:37

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:37
Golf clubs, can you pack them under tyres in the bog, good job for the girlfriend maybe. Yeah what would I do with a girlfriend, got three shelias in the house now. Only the bluddy cat backs me up here.

Damn hot out there John, gone 40 long ago, at least the smoke is blocking out the sun.
FollowupID: 404661

Reply By: suburban - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:28

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:28
G'Day John! I just got jealous reading about your trip. But when I saw your mention of dim sims I had to reply. Around my area (Sydney) , dim sims are $1-60 to $1-80 each. On a recent trip through Goulburn we bought fish and chips. The dimmies were 80 cents each. So now I leave my dim sim eating until I go through Goulburn. Hooroo, Les.
AnswerID: 151005

Reply By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:32

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:32
Gday John,
Just got back from the same trip, regret we went in the car, [cheaper?] but I had done the 4wd. bits b4 . The two best places imo, were Kalbarri in the nth. & Augusta in the sth. I missed out on a cafe by 3 days in Augusta , it was the one on the rt. next to the servo & dive shop as you enter town. Your right about the cost of ''greasies'' they pay about the same for their stock as I do here,[thats my game] but charge up to $7-9 for a piece of fish!! & they only open about 7 hrs. a day,if I buy another one it'll be over there. but wa is certainly a great place, & that ''superpit'' in Kal. truly bl#ody amazing!! Seriously considering movin over that way, [grandkids etc.over there] .. have a great day. Phil
AnswerID: 151006

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:55

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 08:55
>$7-9 for a piece of fish

that's crazy, who buys it at that price

FollowupID: 404568

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:18

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 09:18
Mad Dog, if we charged over $5 over here we,ed be out of business!! It seems to be exceptable over that way..cya
FollowupID: 404574

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:28

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:28
Phil's correct, fish was very expensive compared to Melb.

I will agree that it was a large piece of flake in most instances for the money.
They also have a funny attitude to Potato cakes.

I like our Melb fish & Chip's shops, WA has a bit to learn about these important aspects of life.

FollowupID: 404639

Reply By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 10:03
Onya mate,

Now we are going to have more Eastern Staters come here - we were trying to keep it quiet :-(((

On a sad note we have just lost a large chunk of that subpurb bush land around Dwellingup due to some idot lighting fires!!!! At least it will grow back but will take a few years; however, we were planning a camping trip to that area in a couple of weeks time and now have to look somewhere else.

Karl
AnswerID: 151023

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:29

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:29
Karl I think the secret is out, Lots of people moving west for obvious reasons.

FollowupID: 404640

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:54

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 11:54
No worries, Mate. It was good to have you and Andrew drop by.

AnswerID: 151053

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:31

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:31
Thanks Willem.
I got the computer sorted, In the end Windows XP CHKDSK program fixed the problem easily.

Catch you soon.

FollowupID: 404642

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:54
Good to see you enjoyed yourself. Did you end up making it to any of my old stamping grounds on the E.P?
AnswerID: 151084

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:32

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:32
Hi Dave
How you going?
We ran out of time for the E.P. on the way home, also the temps were around 45 degrees in that area so we went to Peterborough for some R n R before heading down to Adelaide to catch up with some family.
Have planned to do the E.P. area when the weather cools a bit later in the year.

Thanks again for your hospitality, look forward to catching up again one day.

FollowupID: 404659

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:22

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:22
Hi John, tried to get hold of you on HF a couple of times but conditions weren't right. Glad you had a great trip. I've been that way quite a few times, half my family is around Perth area.
Have to say the place is much bigger now, all the freeways, under and overthingies. I can get lost easily. But a place I enjoy visiting every time.
WA only has one drawback. It's on the other end of the beach :))
AnswerID: 151100

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:31

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:31
Hi Jim
It's just over the paddock, not to far these days. LOL.

Yeah mixed HF conditions during my time over there, could not get Perth Base on 8 meg for a lot of the time, but clear as a bell on 5 meg, go figure. LOL.
I tested the Bcon message system during the trip, very very good will do a full post in the next day or so when I get a little time.

FollowupID: 404678

Reply By: ozdragon - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:53

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 16:53
Hey John

Glad you enjoyed our neck of the woods. Im in Eaton just out of Bunbury.

Best Fish and Chips ive ever had came from Augusta and the the best pies, pasties ect...Augusta bakery.

We visit there quite often and now we have the Toyota Coaster we will visit even more.

AnswerID: 151110

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 17:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 17:03
Hi Peter
Actually I found the pies at the Dunsborough Bakery to be bloody fantastic.

You sure do live in a great part of Aus.

FollowupID: 404688

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 19:18

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 19:18
Hi John
it was good to meet you, and good to see you got home OK

It was my first Internet date..... LOL

AnswerID: 151135

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 19:53

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 19:53
Hi Richard
Good to meet you also, See you survived your first Internet date (I don't bite) LOL.

Take Care, Regards to Robyn.

FollowupID: 404727