hilux fuel economy..........3 ltr diesel

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 16:54
ThreadID: 3019 Views:3454 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
Gudday, have a 3ltr diesel hilux. Standard factory issue setup. I don't flog it cause I,m older and have done all my "wheelies", don,t nurse it because it was ment to be driven. Not last away at traffic lights not first either!!. Live in the country, so do 50/50 long and short trips. Has anyone any experience with fuel economy, what can i expect etc.... would really appreciate hearing from someone. Thanks folks, in anticipation. Des

Reply By: OziExplorer - Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 20:02

Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 20:02
Des from gleeming information from others 9 to 10km per litre. Push it at high speed and heavy foot and you can expect 8 to 9km litre.

Suggest you ask here:
http://forums.overlander.com.au/
AnswerID: 11536

Follow Up By: Oziexplorer - Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 20:03

Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 20:03
Des, what is 'older'?
FollowupID: 6448

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 11:37

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 11:37
dunno what "older" is, but I know it dosen't take you past having fun!!!:)
FollowupID: 6488

Reply By: Bob Y. - Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 22:10

Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 22:10
Des, Young bloke took a Hilux 3L dual cab to the Isa last week, with welder on board. He filled up there, 49.24L for about 530kms. You can do your own maths, seems pretty good to me. Same vehicle did a trip with a 79 series ute last year, for round trip of about 470kms, the Hilux used 92L, L/cruiser used 96L. Hilux had 5 on board, and tried to keep up with L/C. Hope this gives you some idea, see ya...
AnswerID: 11540

Reply By: Lux - Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 22:14

Sunday, Jan 19, 2003 at 22:14
G'day Des, I have a 98 Hilux 3ltr, standard except for snorkel with 75,000 kms on clock, drive it as I feel like, I get between 10 and 12 km per ltr about 25/28 mls per gal. It's all about tuning mate,I still have my vehicle seviced and tuned at Shepparton 4x4 and I now live Melbounre! , would'nt go anywhere else.............
AnswerID: 11542

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 11:34

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 11:34
mate thanks for the info....Shepparton isn't out of the question for me at all. Are they really that good there? BTW what did the snork cost you, if you don,t mind, or was it already on? I 'm getting about 8k per ltr, give or take. Sound like shep maybe the go.
FollowupID: 6487

Reply By: Wayne - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 09:35

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 09:35
Hi Des,
I have '99 model. Seems to be around 10 k/l in town. On the highway it drops a bit, maybe going too fast? I'm going on a longish trip, Perth, Esperance and back along south coast. Will keep a record and post to you when we get back. ( Could be a couple or three weeks)
Usually fill up at around 600ks and usually 60 litres.
Ciao,
Wayne.
AnswerID: 11554

Reply By: Doc - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 12:54

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 12:54
Are these figures for the 3 lt Turbo Diesel or the normally aspirated one? I got around 10.4 lt/100 km over the past 25000 km in my Turbo Diesel.
AnswerID: 11569

Follow Up By: Wayne - Tuesday, Jan 21, 2003 at 00:15

Tuesday, Jan 21, 2003 at 00:15
Hi Doc,
My fuel figures (if you could call them that) Are for natural aspirated 3.0 litre. '99, 125,000 on the clock, around 10 litres per 100 ks . I was out with a mate with a turbo who said he was getting around 11 or 12 litres per 100 ks. It surprised me. I thought turbo would be better on juice? Maybe driving styles? As an aside, if I run the aircon over a full tank, it seems to me to use about an extra 2 or 3 litres or so. This isn't scientifically proven, :-) just seems to be about 20-25 odd ks less than "normal". Anyone else got any figures on this? Luxury has to be driving around in the COOL!! Love it. Also don't seem to notice that the aircon is on. Not like the wifes Celica. In that you feel the drag as soon as it cuts in.
Ciao,
Wayne.
FollowupID: 6543

Reply By: time - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 13:11

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 13:11
I run a '97 3 l (non tubo) dual cab with canopy, 120K on the clock, snorkle, 2 1/2 " exhaust and 31 X 10.5X15 A/T tyres. The 'lux is only used on 4wd trips, so about 1/2 the travel is on the black stuff to get to the mountains (100 to 110KPH max) and 1/2 4wding from easy dirt to a fair bit of low range. I seem to average about 8k/l, some times better but rarely worse.
AnswerID: 11572

Reply By: Lux - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 19:27

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 19:27
Hi again Des, Yes Shepparton 4x4 is very good and George and his crew know their stuff, I had the safari snorkel fitted a couple of years ago by them but don't remember what it cost but a top job, I had George fit an extra leaf to the rears and threw on a set of OME shocks and steering damper as I reckon the rear is a bit soft with a load, I got a bloody good deal I think the 2 leafs fitted was under $150 and got the OME stuff on special when the Shepparton 4x4 show was on. but he is always good on price, even below the large 4x4 joints in Melbourne. hope this helps you Des......

AnswerID: 11589

Reply By: leighh - Wednesday, Feb 26, 2003 at 21:47

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2003 at 21:47
Des, I realise you were after non turbo accounts however for those that are interested in turbo versions my 2002 3.0TD Lux with 20,000kms is returning 11.25ltrs per 100kms or 8.8kms per ltr. This is a fairly typical return. Figures don't seem to improve on highway cruising which was a bit bewildering but she'll cover about 950kms on a 115ltr tank (with a few ltrs remaining). Obviously your economy Des puts you at an advantage but I suppose there are offsets on both sides. Cheers.
AnswerID: 14012

Reply By: leighh - Wednesday, Feb 26, 2003 at 21:50

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2003 at 21:50
Des, I realise you were after non turbo accounts however for those that are interested in turbo versions my 2002 3.0TD Lux with 20,000kms is returning 11.25ltrs per 100kms or 8.8kms per ltr. This is a fairly typical return. Figures don't seem to improve on highway cruising which was a bit bewildering but she'll cover about 950kms on a 115ltr tank (with a few ltrs remaining). Obviously your economy Des puts you at an advantage but I suppose there are offsets on both sides. Cheers.
AnswerID: 14013