Damn tyre places!

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:27
ThreadID: 30220 Views:2432 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
Just spent an enjoyable Weekend N/E of Kalgoorlie with Ben Spoon driving backroads and Exploration gridlines while checking out old minesites,abandoned Homesteads, Rockholes and Dams while meeting up with Minesite caretakers and sandlewood cutters.
Every thing was going fine until one of my brand new Goodyear MTR on the front went flat at 100 kph. pulled up no worries but on closer inspection the Tyre appeared still perfect still with nobblies no sighn of a puncture. It was then we noticed the Tube and the huge split in it WTF!! why the hell put a tube in with a brand new tyre without telling me (all the rest are tubeless) The rim has some minor damage but nothing that would stop a tube;ess tyre sealing. and regardless IF they had told me I would have had the MTR mounted on what is currently the spare rim
They will be hearing from me tomorrow..........................

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:29
They don't call em tyre monkies for nothing.
AnswerID: 151648

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:29
Let us know the answer Davoe.

AnswerID: 151649

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:43
Go for it Davoe

BTW mate I met someone today who knows you inside out. You became a subject of discussion....LOL

AnswerID: 151658

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:55

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 20:55
Whatever Davoe's Proctologist says is confidential !!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 405255

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:11
cmon lets have a clue - from Kalgoorlie or SA - either way they are full of crap and i wouldnt trust them if I were you
FollowupID: 405262

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:12

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:12
I better not pass this on to your lovely sister, Anne.....LOL
FollowupID: 405263

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:16

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:16
Hahahahaha .... nowhere to hide now Davoe :)))
FollowupID: 405265

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:39
damn internet - it is meant to be annonamous :)
FollowupID: 405270

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:55

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:55
"they are full of crap and i wouldnt trust them if I were you"
Ah Davoe, you are so busted with that remark! LOLOL
Have a look at post ID 30222
FollowupID: 405276

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:25

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:25
Davoe,
Makes you wonder what the slimies are hiding when they slot a tube into 1 of 4 or 5 brand new tyres.

Chew the bar stewards legs off !!!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 151669

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:45

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 21:45
I dont intend to go in guns blazing as that often doesnt help but I do want not only an explanation- well no stuff the explanation it would prob be but covering crap anyway - I just want it fixed - for free. There is a bit of damage on the rim in a bout a 2 inch section but ASFAK it is on the rim only and I wouldnt have thought it would affect the bead sealing. Anyway i did not get charged for a tube and when was the last time you get something for nothing. It is the second time I have found a tube and i am pretty sure it is just a slack way to fix a leak they cant be bothered finding
FollowupID: 405271

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:10

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:10
Davoe,
My thoughts for the most part.
Sure the tube was free, but as you say, what are they hiding?
I too wouldn't go in with all guns blazing. I'd just keep asking pointed questions, from what I've seen this corners them harder than a foul attitude.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 405284

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:02

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:02
Well Davoe, that's pretty dodgy!! Hope you sort it out. How are you finding the MTR's anyway?
AnswerID: 151677

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:19

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:19
I will reserve judgment until i find out exactly what went wrong as i got them specifically for the good reports about them regarding puncture resistance. I only did one hill climb with them and certainly traction seemed far better than the Toyos and also better than the rags (the rags had more traction on rocks than the toyos). For those that care about that sort of thing they seem very quite and some have said theres couldnt balance - these are fine. Also after having done 500ks on them they seem to have worn .0002 of a mm so judging on that they should last 430 thousand ks.
Seriosly I dont have too much of a baseline to measure them against as I have uase Toyos which were crap and the rags which were what they were and for 1 purpose rathern than alround ability
FollowupID: 405288

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 22:29
Yeah fair enough Davoe, I'll be interested to see how you go as I know you'll give them a fair run for their money with the sort of terrain you get yourself onto! ;-)

Mine have done 20k so far and the wear is very good, a little uneven on the left front before my last rotation, but that's because my idler arm is loosey goosey and that's hardley the fault of the tyre!

As far as puncture's go, i have actually had one already... We've done heaps of sand at 14psi and some real scrub as wel as heaps of gravel and some rocks.
When I was upgrading the suspension a few months ago I noticed I had about 5mm of metal protuding out of one of the lugs. So I started pulling it out with some pliers, and pulling and pulling until the full length of a 4mm masonary drill bit came out!! LOL Then there was the sound of PSSSSSSSSSS! Oh crap, so I grab my hammer and nailed it back in. Left it like that for 3 days until I had time to whack a saftey seal in it and it hadn't dropped 1 psi! :-) Also found a nail in the same tyre while I was fixing that punture, but it only went into the lug and didn't cause a leak.
Had a leak after our boys weekend up at wedge too, it dropped from 40 to 16psi overnight once I got home, pumped it back up and it's been fine ever since. I figure I had a leaky valve, probally had sand in it, every bloody thing else did after that weekend! hee hee.

Oh well, let us know how you go anyway!
FollowupID: 405291

Follow Up By: Rod W - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:28

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:28
G'day Jeff,
Don't mean to steal your post Dave, Jeff, a few of the blokes have decided to re-activate the previous group you were in. If you're interested get in touch with Jim Hilder.
FollowupID: 405335

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 23:08

Sunday, Jan 29, 2006 at 23:08
Interesting post.

Over the last few weeks, the Erldunda Roadhouse has said they won't repair a puncture, however small for "insurance reasons".

The puncture (well actually it was a complete hardware store) was "repaired" by the Yulara Mechanical Repairs people who charged me (are you sitting down) $60 for the privilege and were rude to boot (oh how I hate monopolies) but at the first opportunity the valve proceeded to slow leak on me and had to be replaced!

Anyways, I always feel comfortable going to Jack Baker Tyrepower in Adelaide who besides from knowing their stuff, are great guys, never overcharge, always over-deliver, and are good Coopers dealers to boot.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 151687

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 12:32

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 12:32
$60!!! Well, I would hope you've gone to your local auto store and bought a saftey seal tyre repair kit for $20 now! Takes 10 minutes to do it yourself without even taking the tyre off the car and you get stacks of repairs worth in the kit.
FollowupID: 405356

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 12:40

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 12:40
of course I have a full tyre repair kit, and a compressor, but I hate backbreaking work when I don't have to.

Your safety seal repair kit is not going to fix a tyre in a manner suitable for high speed heavy road activity, much less rocky territory 4WDing surely?

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 405358

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:23

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:23
What do you think the tyre shop puts in there?!?!

Never had a problem in the past. It's just rubber melting into rubber.
FollowupID: 405366

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:23

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:23
Oh, and it's not exactly back breaking work...
FollowupID: 405367

Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 08:15

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 08:15
Davoe,

Are you sure the rim damage isn't a result of the flat you have just experienced?
AnswerID: 151707

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 11:38

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 11:38
Positive - It was already there. I think it was done last trip while driving through a rocky rock pool last trip with deflated tyres around a headland
FollowupID: 405347