GU DX SNORKEL

Submitted: Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:32
ThreadID: 30232 Views:1682 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
G'DAY

WE ARE OFF TO GIBB RIVER ROAD JUST AFTER EASTER. WILL BE GETTING A SNORKEL FITTED TO MY GU DX PATROL. SEEMS A TOSS UP BETWEEN ARB AND OPPOSITE LOCK. ANYONE OUT THERE HAVE ANY RECOMMENDATIONS EITHER WAY ?

CHEERS.

Reply By: bombsquad - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:52
I'm in the same boat, ther has been a few threads on this one. I'm considering the budget option from "gear to goannawhere". I have read mixed reports, but I have only seen one which I think was from there and it looked OK. Safari seem way overpriced , but are good quality. Anyone fitted the abovementioned budget option since this was last visited on this forum??

Cheer Andrew.

PS Should be a great time of year to go - we are having a good wet up here at the moment, so all the water holes should still be flowing. I don't think there is much risk of the road still being closed at that time, unless we gat a late cyclone etc.
AnswerID: 151732

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 11:41

Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 11:41
I bit the bullet and ordered a unit from Goannawhere today, $325 delivered to KNX. I'll post my thaughts in a week....or2.......or3 etc when it arrives.
FollowupID: 405609

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 11:18

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 11:18
Lambo

I checked out all of them and from memory was given the following prices:

*Safari (ARB) Supply and fit $515
*Airtec (TJM) Supply and fit $560
*Nissan Genuine (Airtec with a Nissan badge) $740 fitted
*Airflow (4x4Accessories) $295 supply plus about $140 fitting = $435

Don't quote me as this was about 6 months ago and this is from memory, if you can do the fitting yourself I would check out Safari about supply only or airflow, but for the better quality, appearance and reputation I paid the bit extra for the Safari.

Regards Snowy
AnswerID: 151739

Reply By: hazo - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:20

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 13:20
From memory My safari was about $325 supply only from ARB and took me about 2 hours to fit and I know its done right! (eg hole through body, edges cold galv painted and sealed!) I've seen heaps with rust starting where they have not painted the hole edges and also leaking as not sealed properley!
I have L/cruiser 100 but should be similar job on patrol.
brian
AnswerID: 151781

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 14:03

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 14:03
Mine is the Safari one.....which I chose mainly because of it's ability to interchange the "head" from the ram style to the Donaldson pre-filter style whenever I need to. From what I've seen of the Airtek and Nissan style units, this is not possible.
AnswerID: 151789

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 20:23

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 20:23
G'Day,

1/ Have seen photo of airtek with a donaldson fitted, still not sure how

2/ Ask salesman to fill it with water, if it doesn't leak you will buy it - you'll be surprised

3/ To save cost, get a local panel beater to cut all the holes and seal them, (was quoted $50)

Rolande
AnswerID: 151894

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 12:08

Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 12:08
Something to bear in mind. I have a Safari and after a couple of weeks the screws that hold on the grill on the snorke started to rust. After 18 mths they look a little untidy. I thought I'd call Safari to get a couple posted out. No can do as ARB have exclusive rights hence they can't deal with the public. I called ARB and after being cut off twice I got through to sales and they told me to go to the hardware store. After telling them that's not satisfactory, they then reckon they had no spare screws and it would take 6-8 weeks to order them and said they would rust again. Hmmm got to wonder about the quality. I think i will go get some stainless screws.

Leroy
AnswerID: 152039

Reply By: bombsquad - Sunday, Feb 05, 2006 at 22:35

Sunday, Feb 05, 2006 at 22:35
Typical, ordered the cheapie - not nesessarily any worse quality the other day, now there are safari units on ebay. hope this helps you lambo!

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 153226