Battery Charging

Submitted: Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 12:32
ThreadID: 3029 Views:1645 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
I have searched the archives and found a lot of stuff about fridges, batteries, generators, solar panels but all I'm looking for is a simple answer.

I have a couple of fridges. One Liemack one engel.
I have a dual battery system on the car and an extra one on the camper.
I don't have the money to buy solar panels or an EUgenerator or eqivalent or expensive deep cycle batteries. They are all N70 normal start batteries.
I am not an auto electrician but would like some advice in layman's terms.
I do not want a long list of "should have's" or other recommendations/options unless they are really cheap.

Question is :- Whats wrong with just charging the camper battery off the vehicle battery using jumper leads ? Obviously you would need to have your car started & running for a while ! Secondly if this is possible how long would it take to charge back up say from 11.5volts
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: OziExplorer - Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 13:31

Monday, Jan 20, 2003 at 13:31
David the problem with hooking your second battery up in the method you describe, is you are not getting the full charge into the battery from the alternator. You are only getting the potential difference between the two battery voltages. The alternator only senses the battery that is most fully charged. This could result in requiring quite a time to fully charge.

The cheapest and best solution for your case is to get a dual battery switch preferably with a field isolation switch built in.
Supercheap carry these switches and they are not that expensive. I don't know if the one they carry has the field isolator switch.
These switches are designed to be hooked up with battery cable.

The switch can have these possitions.
OFF
Battery One
Battery Two
Both
or just the first three.