Dust in spare wheel locks

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 20:58
ThreadID: 30576 Views:2244 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Just looking at previous posts and saw a photo of the adventure camper stone guard. Also noticed in the photo a very clean nissan spare wheel with a lock attached. I think the key may have been in the lock, and wondered how everybody keeps the dust out of their locks. If its full of dust, its blo------ hard to get the spare wheel off when you need it.
I use a small piece of bicycle tube looped through the Yale type lock and covering the keyhole.
It works well for me, I can always open the locks, and most of my work is on outback roads.

Reply By: RustyHelen - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:14

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:14
Great question and I look forward to some suggestions. Our first biggish trip last year and at some point I had to unlock the shovel/axe holder and thought for quite a while that I was in trouble. Trusty spray can came out and eventually I "dissolved" all the stuff and could unlock it but realise this is a very ordinary method.
Rusty
AnswerID: 153941

Reply By: JW - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:27

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:27
Dave,
I found a Taipan brand padlock at a local (Yeppoon QLD) auto shop. They are fully rubber coated and have a dust cap over the key hole. They have a long shank which makes it suitable for locking the spare. After many dusty trips, have not yet had a problem with inserting the key. This was preferrable to taking out a second mortgage to buy a locking nut from Nissan.
regards.
Jon W
AnswerID: 153945

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:28
I usually fill the key hole with vasaline or similar. It stops dust and water getting in and makes it easy to slide key in when it's needed.
AnswerID: 153947

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:44

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:44

I use masking tape over the key entry area on my locks. Works fine and is cheap. If the dust gets in I flush with WD40 or similiar.

AnswerID: 153954

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 17:32

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 17:32
Yeh me too Just a bit of duct tape wrapped around it seems the go. Had no problem yet
FollowupID: 408043

Reply By: hoyks - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:49

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:49
Bike inner tube works for me. Cut a 1" wide ring out of the tube. Works well and is cheap.
AnswerID: 153955

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 22:57

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 22:57
I stuck a piece if 10mm self adhesive sealing foam trimmed to the shape of the bottom of the lock, with a small razor cut over the keyhole, after 2 outback trips & heaps of high country, lock works perfectly.
AnswerID: 153971

Follow Up By: Skid - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 23:28

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 23:28
I use those black rubber door stops found in bunnings over my padlocks, come in couple of sizes - take your locks in and size them up.
Works brilliantly for me for a number of years
FollowupID: 407876

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 23:42

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 23:42
102 uses for a condom.....

AnswerID: 153981

Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:41

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:41
:)))
FollowupID: 407920

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:48

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:48
I just take the locks off before a trip.
Reckon I will be around the car most of the time.

Has any one actually lost anything on a trip with not using locks?

I have had the opposite experience, no I didn't gain anything :-), but I had a friend on a trip loose the key for the lock. Had to snap the stud off.
AnswerID: 154011

Reply By: Johnnotoo - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:16

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:16
A dab of silicon such as roof and gutter sealant works ok too. just don't force it down into the key hole!Puulls off easy when you need it (not too often I hope)

johnnotoo
AnswerID: 154082

Reply By: Fusion - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 10:51

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 10:51
Hey that's my (not so clean anymore) wheel & lock. I've never even thought about dust filling up the keyhole, but with all these good suggestions I'll make sure I do something about it next time we get outback.

BTW - when that photo was taken the car was only about a month old :)

Aaron.
AnswerID: 154269