Troopies at Government Auctions

Submitted: Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 19:21
ThreadID: 30658 Views:3160 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Hey There
I am about to get my first real 4WD. I am in Brisbane and I wonder if the chances of picking up a Troopy for around $20k at the Government Auctions is realistic or not.

Many thanks in advance

Reply By: Dave198 - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 19:34

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 19:34
Have a look and se if there is a website for the Govt auctions. In SA they have a website and also list prices for vehicles over the last 6 weeks auctions.
AnswerID: 154360

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 20:11

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 20:11
Don't forget to leave some cash aside to fix it.

I noticed when I was at ARB on Monday that ARB and Toyota are arguing over who is to blame for the failure of the front suspension in a newish public servant driven 100 Series Turbo Diesel which is looking pretty sorry for itself (how do you say twisted).

For every failure of such a public servant carriage, I'll bet London to a brick there are 10 damaged vehicles that never get fixed.

Somewhat like rental cars - can go where noone else is game!

Ciao for now
Andrew who nearly bought at SA Auctions but ended up paying the same money for a little older shopping trolley that didn't know what a rock was.
AnswerID: 154368

Reply By: gtc - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 20:36

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 20:36
Hey BayBreeze,

Check out http://www.qfleet.qld.gov.au for Qld Govt Auctions. You can also buy passed in vehicles at the reserve price - I think they call it the 'no auction option'. If you look at the stock list, you can phone with rego number and get the price. Not a lot of room for haggling, but still seems to be below market - at least for the ones I've seen. Went last year and picked up a late model Falcon for a friend, he saved a few $000's and is very happy. One advantage is they offer RWC and warranty, which some auction houses do not.

Charlie
AnswerID: 154375

Reply By: age - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 22:16

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 22:16
Qfleet troopies are usually only 3 years old and are pulling $30+K - most have only 40-80000Km on clock. Check Cousins or East Coast website - they buy lots of ex Gov 4WD's and are retailing 78/79 series utes and troopies for $35-45K. They are sought after vehicles so still pull big $$'s. Dont forget a stock new diesel Troopy costs well into the $50k mark these days. You wont pick an ex EPA Fraser Island vehicle at auction other than for a galvanised tray - they are flogged dogs.

Few reasonable priced ex Police Camera vehicles Standard 100 series wagons at the auctions.

Look laterally at what's available - friend recently bought a 2 1/2 year old 34000km's V6 Jackeroo, balance warranty at gov auction (ex judges vehicle) -new tyres, on roads included (promotion at the time) for $24K - mint condition. Hard to justify a hardworked Troopy for $10K more.
AnswerID: 154396

Follow Up By: Scrubcat - Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 20:40

Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 20:40
A couple of things to consider when buying at auction.
Just be aware that most camera vehicles that sit on the side of the road revenue collecting have probably been sitting with the motor running for hours for air conditioning or heater operation depending on weather conditions.
The dealers buying ex-fleet/govt. vehicles for car yards add $5000 on to auction price to cover warranty, profit etc. if you suss out which bidders are dealers and you are the winning bidder next after a dealer, you have bought a vehicle that was going in a dealers yard for a tad more than they were going to pay.
cheers.
FollowupID: 408446

Reply By: Boc1971 - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:02

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:02
http://www.pickles.com.au/

they have auction at brissy --- try to go on days they have repo vehicles --- usualy have no reserve ( or very low )

spend a few weeks going --- some weeks prices are stupid as there are a lot of newby bidders - other weeks -- absolute bargain

Frank
AnswerID: 154402

Follow Up By: camship - Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 10:46

Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 10:46
Make sure you know what to pay, most toyotas go for silly money at auction because everyone wants them. The only bargains are the no demand lots of supply vehicles, like rodeos, commodores, falcons, etc.
FollowupID: 408404

Reply By: MartyB - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:13

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:13
Here is another one.
http://www.fowles.com.au/

from Marty.
AnswerID: 154405

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:45

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 23:45
I've looked many times at buying from SA Govt Auctions, but there are no bargains there - the Troopies and 79series go for dealer prices. Too many private bidders.
AnswerID: 154407

Reply By: Wizard2 - Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 10:01

Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 10:01
You'll find that a lot of government departments (federal anyway) don't buy their commercials any more but lease them. Our 4WD get handed back after 60,000 km not sure who they are leased through or what happens to them once we hand one back.
AnswerID: 154422

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 21:54

Saturday, Feb 11, 2006 at 21:54
yep even the bush smashing muthus we used were leased. I assume they get a tart up and sold off to a dealer at auction who flogs them off as a low km good buy
FollowupID: 408455

Reply By: Par - Tuesday, Feb 14, 2006 at 22:29

Tuesday, Feb 14, 2006 at 22:29
Indeed this is possible ... I did this a number of years back invested $18,000 (unregistered ex Gov) with suspension damage and some body work needed. Spent about $3,000 on bits and fixed up the bodywork. It had about 120,000km on the clock and I also contacted the government service area about associated records. This troopy was pre-79 series but machanically sound. I ended up using the troopy for about 6-years.. lots of off road and camp trailer towing (a family favourite bus). I added a short back seat and we loved the old troopy solid and reliable and simple 1HZ diesel (non-turbo). I traded it for $10,000 with approx 400,000km on the clock. A good exercise if you can do the serving and repairs yourself.

AnswerID: 155025