Off topic: but bloody ANZ (and probably other banks)!

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:34
ThreadID: 30713 Views:2809 Replies:11 FollowUps:20
I raise this issue because I'm a little irritated with (read close to suing) ANZ and I wonder how many other people have had problems?

About 3 months ago I was shopping at my local Safeway on a Sunday and purchased around $35 worth of goods. At the checkout I proffered my EFPOST card and did the usual button pressing with it - "Rejected" with an "04" code said Safeway's bank! (“04” equals “insufficient funds”) "You F******* what" said I, well, actually I didn't because it wasn't the fault of the young girl on the checkout. Nevertheless I ended up paying with the $50 note I, thankfully, had.

Following this I returned home and called ANZ to ask "Excuse me but when may I have my money please" or words to that effect :) "Oh!" they said, "no problem with your account Sir, it's quite in order" - "So why was my EFTPOST transaction refused?" - "We don't know Sir" - Why don't they know...?

So I wrote to ANZ and supplies lots of photocopies - still waiting for a reply after 3 months! Banking Ombudsman here I come - anyone care to join me... or comment?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:39

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:39
So whats the matter with your 4wd?

I missed the question among all the crap about banks.

AnswerID: 154604

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:42

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:42
That's why I put "off topic" in it John.

FollowupID: 408572

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:08

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:08
You simply can't trust bloody banks or anyone who works for one; that's what I say!!!!
FollowupID: 408612

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:23

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:23
Roachie Ain't that the truth, they fit the same category as those Fitch blokes.

FollowupID: 408616

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 07:44

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 07:44
Roachie have you any results for that finch thingy.

FollowupID: 408637

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 08:04

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 08:04
my bank manager is great...
he's gunna give me a loan to get a new car...or we part company
....geez wish it was that simple when it comes to swmbo
FollowupID: 408643

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 08:19

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 08:19
G'day Eric,

Too early to say yet mate; still running on the same fuel from when I filled up after fitting it. I will keep you posted, although I'm conscious of the ridicule I will get either way when I do announce my initial findings. I certainly won't be starting a new thread with any of my results, or I will be accused of helping Bill S to promote his product.

I have done about 800klm since I filled up and I am off to Clare tomorrow to do some volunteer work for the Comm Games and that's about a 220klm round trip, so I'll be needing to fill up then.

FollowupID: 408644

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:52

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 19:52
Mike, like all electronic systems, computer systems some times have glitches, did you retry the card?

AnswerID: 154605

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:23

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:23
I Gave up expecting service from banks... I just buy KY in 44's now its easier.
AnswerID: 154609

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:49

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:49
LMAO - do you have a baby pool - and 3 half nakid chicks prepared to KY jelly wrestle on hand ???

If so - i will bring the beer

Frank
FollowupID: 408579

Reply By: Jarse - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:24

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:24
The answer Mike, is CREDIT UNION. I've been using them for over 20 years, and have never had a problem.

Banks are nothing more than a bunch of thieving b@stards with their extortionate, and increasing fees. I haven't paid a cent in fees since 1986.

My credit union actually showed me how to save money on such things as our mortgage. The difference is it's run by members FOR members.

Banks? NO WAY!
AnswerID: 154610

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:51

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:51
Jarse... Not all credit unions are better than banks. I used to be with the old SEC credit union, now MECU... After a period of about 5 months with money going missing, unauthorised payments, money suddenly reappearing and stuff all help from the staff, a rejected homeloan application on the grounds that I didn't have a savings history(nearly 15 years with them, account balance nearing 30k saved over 4 years with them), I gave up and went back to a bank...

I know it's just one persons bad experience but I've never been treated that badly by a bank...
FollowupID: 408580

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:51

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 20:51
So the interest your paying on your morgage isnt a fee ???

Frank
FollowupID: 408581

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:39
Banks and CU all use the same EFTPOS system and the potential for interoperability issues is there all the time.
FollowupID: 408592

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:13

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:13
Nope, the answer is not a credit urine.

I was with the Sutherland one.. closed my accounts when I moved, WITHDREW money...

8 odd mths later I go to get credit card down here, they tell me I have a blot on my credit rating, for non payment of money to the CREDIT URINE...

Called them, I asked how could I owe you money when I closed my accounts and withdrew cash? They said "a system error".

Didnt do me any good bleep in bleep s.

Go with www.ingdirect.com.au online scum.... they all suck your money away...

Charge you to ask your balance, charge you to deposit, charge you to withdraw, and then LIMIT how much of YOUR money you can withdraw????? WHAT THE bleep IS HAPPENING TO THIS PLANET?
FollowupID: 408600

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 07:48

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 07:48
Its happened again I am agreeing again truckster.
The bank put 30,000 into my account by mistake and tried to charge me for the privilege.

FollowupID: 408638

Reply By: Tim M - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:27

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:27
They have a pretty good wine club if that is any concellation!
AnswerID: 154619

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:37

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:37
Same thing happened to me at the dentist the other day . I had heaps of credit available , but it kept knocking me back .

I said to the receptionist , to ring CBA Mastercard . She did and it was confirmed I had plenty of credit and no , they could not explain what had happened .

Imagine being at a restaurant and something like that happened . You would look like a bloody idiot .

Willie .
AnswerID: 154622

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:44

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 21:44
Worse still to have just filled the truck with over $200 worth of diesel at a roadhouse in the middle of nowhere. Had to wait about an hour for everything to come back on line.
FollowupID: 408594

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:16

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:16
had same as peter happen, and they ask "do you have the cash?" If I did wouldnt I be using it to get outta here.

They asked me to wait, I said how long do you intend for me to wait as my hourly rate for work (which I was at at the time) was $50per hour min 4 hours. lol
FollowupID: 408601

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:01

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 23:01
I had it happen at a restaurant Willie... Took the missus out for her birthday, standing there red faced with a bill for $150 and my card wont process... They were very good about it, took a manual swipe and billed me the following week... The hostess was great, called the manager and they wispered so as not to draw unwanted attention(actually had some consideration for how I was feeling), still some people seem to have super hearing and there were a few looks and giggles...
FollowupID: 408610

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:28

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:28
I am also with ANZ and about to change to a local credit union with no fees, I started all my accounts set up with CC etcc with no fees, since then fee's have increased on the card (even tho i spend over the minimum amount each year) and they have introduced a range of new fee's. Freak, every time i call them with a problem you get frustratred because unless you run a few M through them each year you have ZERO leverage, they dont give a damn. So i say stuff all the banks, they can all rot in hell, and switch to some smaller local guy and vote with your feet, if you can.

hey any financial guys here want to start the aussie 4x4 credit union - i'll be in!
AnswerID: 154636

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:57

Sunday, Feb 12, 2006 at 22:57
I'll start it... You guy's give me all your money and when I'm done modding my rig, I'll let you know how much you can have back... I'm pretty sure you'd still be better off than with any bank...
FollowupID: 408609

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 09:22

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 09:22
a bank will never be able to match a deal like that. i hope you dont have your call centre in india.
FollowupID: 408652

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 10:20

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 10:20
I promise all calls will originate from Australia... Can't promise all your money will stay here though...
FollowupID: 408660

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 09:13

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 09:13
The bad news is , is not ANZ's fault.

This type of thing happens will all the Banks , and its usually the result of the EFTPOS system , of which Safeway/Woolworths would be the least reliable.
AnswerID: 154673

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 10:57

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 10:57
the least reliable for what reasons? and what's wrong with the EFTPOS system?

Leroy
FollowupID: 408663

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 12:40

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 12:40
Nothing specifically wrong with EFTPOS , but it requires a good connection to their bank for it to work.

Checked out Woolies/Safeway lately . . . same gear as they had 5 years ago.

Their swip readers are well known for being substandard.

I have NEVER had an eftpos issue anywhere BUT . . . Woolies.
FollowupID: 408676

Reply By: Pterosaur - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 11:50

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 11:50
I've had this problem a few times - embarrassing and frustrating it is too ! Particularly when you aren't carrying enough cash !

But, much as I'd like to blame them, I don't think it was the financial institution at fault (I'm with a Credit Union).

I think that sometimes either through physical or other (EM) damage to the strip on your card, dirty (or faulty) card reader, or software errors in the EFTPOS system these errors occur. BTW, I don't regard this as a justification or excuse.

Don't know really, just my thoughts and conclusions - but I HATE being told I don't have enough $$$ when I know there's heaps (well small ones anyway :-)) available in my account.

Terry
AnswerID: 154697

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 12:19

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 12:19
As much as I would like to bag out banks, they are only the end point in the system. There are heaps of middlemen brokers (ie. other comupters and crap belonging to other organisations) in the network b/w the shop & bank. My grip is always CBA not ANZ anyway.
AnswerID: 154703

Reply By: Michael B - Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 13:06

Monday, Feb 13, 2006 at 13:06
Mike,

Just the way of the world today, and I don't think that there are any short answers.

I operate a credit union account and a bank account with ANZ.

A few months ago my credit union account dissapeared, yep all gone and no trace.

Of course this happened late on a saturday night, checked via telephone access "you have no account under this Number" went home and checked via internet......nuffin, just was not there.

My account appeared just like a miracle late the following tuesday.

I could get no satisfactory explanation of where it has been!!! even though the CEO is a family friend and I spoke to him after not getting too much help elsewhere.

So, I guess the moral is, while human beings are still required to input/change/fix/update etc mistakes will be made.

Satisfaction will depend just how long it takes to get the problem fixed, and in your case not much by the sound of it. Good luck...

Michael B (SA)
AnswerID: 154706