Qld Fuel price subsidy

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:29
ThreadID: 30905 Views:1856 Replies:6 FollowUps:19
See how kind we Mexicans are to our brothers in the deep dark north :)))

NSW/Vic largesse

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:38
Hmmm methinks that argument is a tad out of date, Gramps :o)

Queensland State Governmemt has been subsidising the fuel since a loooong way back and long before the GST(It will benefit everyone...yeah, lol) we had to have.

AnswerID: 155741

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:45

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:45
I can agree with the fact they have been subsidising since prior to GST but that was only because they still received HUGE subsidies from NSW/Vic via other State grants measures. The only difference now is that those grants have been eliminated/reduced and replaced with the GST (from NSW/Vic).
FollowupID: 409733

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:46

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:46
I was surprised to find the the price of diesel on the Gold Coast is very similar to Sydney. Where are all these subsidies going ? Not into Qld Health, that's for sure !
AnswerID: 155743

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:53

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 17:53
The Gold Coast is just the perfect example of double dipping on the Mexicans crazy enough to go there LOLOLOL

As for Health, we'd all like to know why more is'nt spent in every State on probably the most important portfolio of all.
FollowupID: 409735

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 18:04

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 18:04
Agreed. I'm a private patient so when I got a kidney stone I was operated on within days. I wonder how I would have gone in public ? I was out of pocket $3k, but I have no complaints about the quality of treatment.
I don't think that whether you live or die should depend on your bank balance....oops, I forgot socialism is dead. Long live the medical millionaires......NOT.
FollowupID: 409737

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 18:16

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 18:16
Yep, the sad part of today's health system is that your chances of survival are very much dependent on the health of your bank balance.
FollowupID: 409739

Reply By: Redeye - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 20:13

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 20:13
Do not wish to hijack the forum but you can receive a 20 cent/ liter discount on fuel “Hick !!!” if you purchase six or more bottles of wine from Coles (Liquor Mart). I just got mine wine Hick !!!

Get the fuel tomorrow

Redeye
AnswerID: 155763

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 10:49

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 10:49
Any limit on the amount of fuel?
FollowupID: 409805

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 11:24

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 11:24
or the wine :)))))))))
FollowupID: 409806

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 19:23

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 19:23
150lt I think, could be more.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 409848

Follow Up By: Redeye - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 08:33

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 08:33
Yep there is a 150 Litre limit on each 6 bottles.

I save $30 on a tank and couple of containers which hepls pay for the wine.

Redeye
FollowupID: 409899

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 16:20

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 16:20
I know it is referred to as a subsidy, but it is not. It is simply the absence of a tax. Back before GST, all states introduced a petrol excise except Qld. With the GST, the states agreed to get rid of the excise and include it within the GST take. ie replace one tax with another. Qld decided to retain the status quo. ie not to increase it's tax take, so introduced the 'subsidy' at the same level as the previous petrol excise.

I agree with others though, it is often hard to recognise that there is a subsidy. Fuel often costs around the same as it does in Mexico.

A bit like the Woolies and Coles 4c discount. You can always find fuel a couple of cents cheaper nearby, so it is really only a 2c discount. 2c on $1.24 (current price of diesel around here) is 1.6%. If you use 50 litres of fuel a week, that is a saving of about $51.00 per year. Woo Hoo!!! I'd drive miles to get that!!!!!
AnswerID: 155856

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 16:32

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 16:32
hahahaha amigo, you're right about the Coles/Woolies discounts. We're getting it cheaper - yeah, it's all in the mind.

We get some good local competition with a United outlet 100m from the Shell. Keeps them honest at least some of the time :))))
FollowupID: 409825

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:00

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:00
G'day Norm,

You are spot on with that explanation!. Was working on implementing GST and can tell you that the fuel excise issue was totally seperate (relates to some asian cigarette dealer in NSW challenging the rights of states to charge an excise - he succeeded). Mind you now that it passes through a couple of hands it is only a matter of time before someone forgets this.

It is very convenient for those mexicans to bleat and squeel on the GST when all they need to do is apply some half decent financial management and leave God's country alone. Oh common Gramps now you know I didn't men that!

FollowupID: 409929

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:31

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:31
Beatit,

LOL just trying to inject a bit of needle well before State of Origin when the Cockroaches will kick some Cane Toad butt (again!!!!).

The Forum was going a bit quiet and too politically correct on some other posts for my liking.

FollowupID: 409938

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:39

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 12:39
G'day Gramps,

My family and friends live in NSW. My best mate always bleats about this and wants to make the point whenever he can - he particularly hates NSW money going into WA roads, I make sure I remind him of this whenever I can!

I agree that some stirring can get them on line just pick any politically incorrect topic like Native Title. BTW from memory you drive a Toyo and I see that some members are proposing a move north for you. I would like to point out that we have standards so the Toyo would have to go.

FollowupID: 409942

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 20:40

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 20:40
Glad we live in QLD. Just had a squiz at the prices you cockroaches are paying and old morris minor seems to be getting his fair share, bloody pollies :(((
You're all welcome up here, we'll the healthy ones anyway :)))))))))).

AnswerID: 155890

Follow Up By: angler - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:23

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:23
One thing you have to remember about pollies is every sitting minister is a multimillionaire, none have to pay for any of the following,

phones,
fuel,
booze,
credit cards,
cars,
accomodation.

Each pollie both in government now and retired costs the taxpayer about 1 mill a year to keep. (from readers digest).

And they also decide if a pensioner gets an extra 50cents a week.

I do not agree with the statement "If you pay peanuts you get monkeys." We certainly don't pay peanuts. We get greedy snouts in the money trough.
And we can't stop it!!

Pooley
FollowupID: 409878

Reply By: bigcol - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:15

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:15
Very old news.
Morris trying to say you poor New South Welshman are getting ripped off.
Well poo hoo

Morris is badly informed. Queenslander's pay less for fuel because the state government taxes us less.
QLD deserves a bigger slice of the pie to pay for all the infra-structure needed to accomodate nearly 70000 Mexicans and Cockroachs that move here each year.
Any one stop to think that the billion's of dollars worth of commodities we dig out of the ground up here are worth something to country in income and in revenue collected

AnswerID: 155906

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Feb 19, 2006 at 22:29
hahaha and I thought super defensive cane toads were extinct LOLOL

Ever thought why they can afford to tax you less ?

What? No other state digs, grows or produces billions of dollars of commodities?

Wake up and stop being so ridiculously parochial.

Thanks for finally rising to the bait :))))))

FollowupID: 409879

Follow Up By: bigcol - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 08:15

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 08:15
Well Gramps it's been well documented well before the GST that Queensland is a lower taxed state.

I didn't say we were the only ones producing commodities.
Take that into account and Queensland far out weights both NSW and Victoria in revenue earnt.
SA, NT and WA get more than they pay in GST revenue, but i don't here you whining about that.
Gramps i'm wide awake, and sick of the yearly whinge from ill-informed mouths like Iemma.

Gramps maybe you should be the oine waking up and joing your 70000 mates each year that are moving to the sunshine state

FollowupID: 409897

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 09:28

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 09:28
Just forget it, is it 2025 that Queensland will have a larger population than Victoria with current population movement and growth?
It's getting too crowded up here anyway, and real estate values are going up too. At least they swim in the surf in winter, summer is too hot for them.
Last one out of Vic better turn off the light!
FollowupID: 409909

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 09:31

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 09:31
Bigcol,

As per an earlier response, Qld is less taxed because of the subsidies it received from NSW/Vic both post and prior GST. They were called State grants prior to GST.

As a % of Australia's GDP, NSW produces 34.8%, Vic 25.4%, Qld 17.3%, WA 10.9%, SA 6.6%, ACT 2.0%, Tas 1.8%, NT 1.2% (Source: ABS Cat. No. 5220.0, State Accounts, 2003-04).

Qld, SA, WA, Tas and NT all get more than they earn via GST. I'll leave out the ACT because of it's obvious existence in la-la-land :))))) I've only mentioned QLD because of it's fuel subsidy which is the point of pertinence to this forum.

As for Iemma, I have no time for his lot whatsoever, however remove $3billion (i.e. the amount NSW gives away each year from it's GST revenues) from Qld's budget and what would happen?

Can't move to Qld mate, too many bloody relatives up there already LOLOL

FollowupID: 409910

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 13:22

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 13:22
Gramps,

Statistics are a funny thing. They can say whatever you want.

NSW produces 34.8% - 33.7% population
Vic 25.4% - 24.7% population
Qld 17.3% - 18.8% population

R.

FollowupID: 409955

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 13:28

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 13:28
LOL agree with you entirely Robak. You only have to listen to the pronouncements of our esteemed elected representatives to realize the same statistic can be used to justify diametrically opposed views in any argument. Even which fridge is best. Thank God we all know it is an immutable truth that Waeco reign supreme :)))))))))))
FollowupID: 409957