Jackaroo Equipe turbo diesel auto -Purchase?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 14:37
ThreadID: 3108 Views:3339 Replies:13 FollowUps:16
I would like some views on should I or shouldn't I purchase a Jackaroo Equipe (3.1 DI turbo diesel automatic, barometer, inclinometer, electric this and that, 10 stacker CD) -new (at a end of model runout, 2002, bargain price of $45,300 on the road).

I test drove one the other day I thought it was a bit gutless in taking off from the lights, I have seen some diesels taking off from the lights like a scalded cat, whereas this thing seemed a lot slower. however it pulled well in overdrive ( 4th gear) up freeway hills at 110 kms.

The airconditioning I thought wasn't up to scratch as it didn't cool the cabin down as much as my old falcon= maybe it's still to be adjusted in the predelivery service work or because the colour of the vehicle being black attracts the heat.

What I have read about the Jackaroos:
they are reliable
reasonable off road -but no landcruiser
reasonable fuel economy say averabe 14km/litre city/touring/offroad mix
comfortable and spacious
improved stability over previous models on uneven highway roads

Most of my miles will be highway driving, although I live in the city and commute to work(thats why the automatic),also, I am dreaming of travelling around Australia, I might have to tow something a camper trailer maybe.

Price/value for money is a significant factor, as is fuel economy.
I nearly signed the deal however I thought I had better do some research before jumping in (also the black colour is the only colour available hence the bargain price).

Any constructive/destructive criticism would be much appreciated.

regards,
Victor

Reply By: OziExplorer - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 16:07

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 16:07
Victor there are a number of factors to consider. Considering the Jackaroo is being phased out, that always decreases market value at re-sale and in some cases Jackaroo spares are already an issue. It is the same as the Frontera. No front guards and all sorts of bits and pieces that they cannot supply for about six months now.

I have owned a black car, and you just cannot believe how bad they are. I inherited a black Falcon company car, and it was just unbelievable compared to white. The airconditioning could not even come close to keeping up with the extra heat. I had the airconditioning checked out three times. The last place said to me before he checked it that you need an airconditioner basically double the size to cool a black vehicle. He tested the air conditioner and said it was among the better performers. We had a white Falcon exactly the same model and the air conditioning in that was always to cold. If you parked the car and came back and it was in the sun, you had to stand back while you opened the doors so the heat wave did not hit you. I used to put the key in and start the vehicle standing outside for a couple of minutes to let it cool down. Was a total nightmare, and traded the vehicle the mid-summer it was that bad. Conservatively, I would say easily 10c to 15c higher tempreture when parked and locked compared to a white vehicle. I think if you search on the net there is bound to be some information on this.
AnswerID: 11926

Follow Up By: Victor - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 18:40

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 18:40
Ozi,
thanks for your prompt reply.
In regards to the Jack being phased out I checked earlier posts and thought that the Thailand operation would still produce Jacks?
I'll include this earlier posted item below.

FollowUp 7 of 9 posted 21 Jan 2003 at 21:36 - (FollowupID: 6591)
Rabmail posted this followup

Tuco69, you are correct in respect to the Isuzu US vehicle manufacturing operation only. Isuzu GM have a large manufacturing operation in Thailand and they are already producing new models of the Rodeo and the Trooper built to an Australian Spec.

Go to http://www.isuzu-tis.com/eng/ for more details. I am driving a new Dual Cab model and they seem like a good vehicle.
Dick

FollowupID: 6824

Follow Up By: Oziexplorer - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:41

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:41
Victor I think if you check in WRITING with GM Holden, you will find the Jackaroo is being pulled. I did not know any official announcements had been made about the Trooper.
We will predominantly see vehicles in this sector in Australia from Thailand due to our minute market sector. Thailand is right hand drive like we are, and as there are only from memory five right hand drive countries in the world, you will predomantly/only see Thailand made vehicles in the future imported into Australia.

Another thing about black, every scratch you get in the bush will be easily seen as the undercoat underneath is white. Not a good idea to take dark coloured 4WD off-road and get them scratched. They look shocking. On white you cannot see the scratches.
FollowupID: 6827

Reply By: Member - NOBBY - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 18:32

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 18:32
VICTOR.. I HAVE A 3.5 AUTO PETROL JACK AND COULD NOT BE HAPPIER. YOUR DIESEL IS NOT MEANT TO DRAG OTHER CARS OFF AT THE LIGHTS BUT I'LL BET IT WILL STILL BE GOING LONGER THAN MOST. MY JACK IS COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE ON LONG TRIPS AND RETURNS 16L/100K ON LONG TRIPS TOWING A FULLY LOADED CAMPOMATIC( AND MOST OF THAT WAS UP BLOODY MOUNTAINS). THEY OBVIOUSLY HAVE THEIR BAD POINTS BUT TO DATE (25K) I HAVE NOT FOUND ANY. I ALSO WOULD STAY CLEAR OF A BLACK CAR..
AnswerID: 11936

Reply By: damien - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:28

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:28
Victor, the Jackaroo is one of the most underrated vehicles going around, but i'm biased - i own one!!

Firstly, i'm not sure if it was a typo on your behalf, but it is actually a 3.0L T/D - the old, old model was a 3.1

I own a manual, so i can't really compare acceleration with an auto, but i would suggest that there aren't too many T/D's that out accelerate the Jackaroo. As previously mentioned, if you want to drag people off at the lights - buy a petrol!!

As for the air conditioning, i find mine is excellent, although it obviously takes longer to cool down the cabin of a 4wd than a passenger car. As Ozi mentioned, black can have a real impact in this regard - mine is white.

Performance is excellent & it will easily tow a camper wherever you want to go. It's off road ability is vastly underrated & it is much more comfortable on road than many of its competition.

Fuel economy is superb for a vehicle of its weight & performance. The real beauty of a T/D is the fact that the fuel economy will not be hugely affected (as petrols are) by towing.

Good luck with your decision. If you decide to go ahead i'm sure you won't be disappointed, although i too would steer clear of black if at all possible.
AnswerID: 11938

Reply By: Truckster - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:39

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 19:39
You sound like you answered it yourself, your unhappy with it why would you dish out $45k for it?

AnswerID: 11941

Follow Up By: Victor - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 10:00

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 10:00
Truckster,
my budget is not as flexible as I would like and the equipe has all the features I want. after testing other vehicles since my post, the Jack is not as bad as i thought.
regards Victor.
FollowupID: 6973

Reply By: Member - Terry- Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 22:18

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 22:18
Victor, I also own a tdi auto equipe. To date it has done 10,000 km,50% of that off road and sand. The td pulls well, is great fuel wise in the sand and the auto makes it a breeze off road and in the sand.
It does not have the take off of the petrol however I believe the tdi jack will hold its own against any comparable 4wd.
Air conditioning works well in mine (white because it is easier to polish out the scratches) and really, unless you are doing extreme work do you need anything bigger or tougher.
regards Terry
AnswerID: 11958

Follow Up By: Victor - Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 23:38

Monday, Jan 27, 2003 at 23:38
Hi Terry,
thanks for the reply and to all those others who contributed your information is invaluable.
By the way Terry do you want to sell your equipe? Sounds like it's just what I Want.
kind regards
Victor.
FollowupID: 6845

Follow Up By: Member - Terry- Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 23:24

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 23:24
Part of my reasoning for buying the jack was that the equipe supplied a good spread of features for the price when compared to others of the same standard. I spoke to many 4wd service centres and mechanics who basically said the jack was tough had very few if any problems and was under rated as a 4wd.Holden have never promoted the jack properley.To date I am very happy with mine.

Terry
FollowupID: 6952

Follow Up By: Victor - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 09:48

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 09:48
Terry I spoke to a service manager of a new car dealership about Jackaroos and how I was concerned about the jackaroos imminent demise(not imported after2003/2004?) and about problems he had dealt with in his day to day work.
He said:
-parts should be avail for 5 yrs (another person (car salesman) said holden was obliged to keep spare parts for 10years by law)
-some diesel jacks can have a problem at about 80,000kms with injectors (melting?)
-why not try the Prado which the dealership also sold (how convenient),m
consequently, i test drove a prado -seemed like vibrations were coming into the cabin and the car swayed sideways on uneven surfaces.
I also tested an older Monteray and it seemed to sway sideways also.
I think the new Jacks ride quality is superior to these two vehicles, I think its a pity they are no longer to be imported!
thanks for the reply
regards Victor.
FollowupID: 6967

Reply By: Old Soldier - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 07:22

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 07:22
G'day Victor,

I agree with all that has been said here, and, like Damien, I own a Jack and believe them to be very under-rated.

I have had several Patrols over the years and would take the Jack anywhere I would take a Patrol.

Your only problem would seem to be is with airconditioning and THAT colour.

Mine is a deep red [a fairly dark colour] and the aircon does a good job.

Black may be a bit harder to cool.

I guess that [and I'm surprised that nobody has yet said it] it would be quite ON THE CARDS to exepect that buying a BLACK JACK would be a bit of a GAMBLE. :) :) :) :)

[ooooh - somebody take me out the back and shoot me :) :) :) ]

Good luck with your decision.

enjoy the bush

DennisN
AnswerID: 11971

Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 09:01

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 09:01
Victor -

I have a 2000 V6 Monterey, dark red in colour, 57,000km on the clock. Absolutely no problem with it. Goes just about anywhere we wish it to go. The aircon is only average and could do with being a bit more powerful in the cooling stakes, but it's adequate.

The Trooper/Jackaroo has been pulled out of production in Japan however the production base has been transferred to Isuzu's Phillipines Laguna factory. In Australia, Jackaroo is to remain on sale through 2003 with a replacement due in 2004.

Basically, the Jackaroo is an honest vehicle that has no pretenses. Look after it and it should look after you.

PS... $47480 was the rrp of the diesel equipe, plus on roads. $45300 on road sounds good. See if you can bargain them down to $44000-44500.
AnswerID: 11974

Follow Up By: victor - Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 11:32

Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 11:32
Hi Savvas, what sort of fuel consumption do you get?
regards Victor

PS I'm still looking.
FollowupID: 8514

Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 08:15

Monday, Mar 03, 2003 at 08:15
It's a thirsty bugger. I'm at 58,000km now and get between 19-23L/100km in stop start daily running (depending on how stressed the wife is getting the kids to school - when they're organised it's 19 and when they're not....)

Country/highway running is a different kettle of fish. A trip from Sydney to Bulahdelah last January saw 11L/100km. A mate of mine with a Jackaroo Equipe V6 with 5,000km on the clock got 15L/100km for the same trip on the day before us. I was running 98 octane fuel and Shell Helix Ultra synthetic engine oil, he was running standard ULP and whatever the factory oil is. My motor was also 52,000km "looser" than his.

The average for offroad trips is about 13-14L/100km, not towing anything but otherwise fully loaded with 2 Adults and 2 Children on board.
FollowupID: 8608

Reply By: john - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 15:36

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 15:36
Hi Victor,

I have a 2002 3.5L petrol Jackaroo Equipe in Black, that's done about 5000ks.

So far we are happy with it and have done a couple highway trips and a bit of off road driving.

My air cond seems to work ok, but I've noticed it takes a while to cool the cabin down after the car has been parked, once you've been going for a while it seems to cope well. I'm guessing this is due to the colour of the car and I'm sure a white car would would be easier/faster to cool after being parked in the sun. We did a run on the freeway North of Sydney in 40 degree heat a week or so ago and it the cabin temperature was quite comfortable.

The only other draw back is that the colour showns every scratch and mark. My car is only 4 and a bit months old and the tree scratches etc are pretty obvious, I suppose it's a 4wd drive so it's meant to look like that:-).

AnswerID: 12009

Follow Up By: Brett - Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 22:47

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 22:47
I have a black commodore and white pajero, heat wise no difference. Compared to the amount of glass around you sucking the heat in, the black paint on your roof doesn't make much difference, a black interior will probably make it worse. Only bad thing about black is scratches, slightest scratch shows up, looks good on my commodore but had to get white for the 4WD.
Nearly bought a jack (only ever had a holden in the garage) went for a few test drives but wasn't overly impressed with acceleration (never driven a diesel before) Ended up with the diesel Pajero as engine wise it left the jack for dead, goes like a rocket and hasn't used over 10L/!00K yet. But it won't take you as far off road as the Jack and will cost you another 10K.
FollowupID: 6948

Follow Up By: Damien - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 12:15

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 12:15
Brett, i'm assuming you bought the new 3.2L Pajero, becuase there aren't many others that will out accelerate the Jack
FollowupID: 6980

Follow Up By: victor - Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 11:31

Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 11:31
Hi John what sort of fuel consumption do you get?
regards Victor.
FollowupID: 8513

Follow Up By: John - Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 16:55

Saturday, Mar 01, 2003 at 16:55
Hi Victor,
The fuel consumption from the 3.5L isn't great. Most of the driving we do is short trips and we run at between 20 and 25 L/100ks (most weeks it's about 22L/100ks). On the highway it does a bit better averaging between 15 and 17 L/100ks.

I have a mate with a 3 year old, 3.5L Monterey that does 1 or 2 litres per 100ks better than mine around town and on trips, so I hope mine improves as the engine gets a few thousand more ks on it.
FollowupID: 8531

Reply By: Member - Willem- Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 23:40

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2003 at 23:40
Victor, The Jackaroo has been a good on and offroad vehicle since its inception in the early 80's. The only thing that you may need to consider is the Used Car market value. These vehicles do not have a good trade-in value....look at the ads. And now with a name run out at the end of 2003 the trade-in value may be depleted even further. Unless ofcourse you aim to drive the Jack for 250,000/300,000km. Just a few thoughts. Cheers,W
AnswerID: 12042

Follow Up By: Victor - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 09:54

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 09:54
Willem, Your views make sense and the Jack is the one I want and I'll have to keep it for 20 years to justify the outlay, new parts after a time are my main concern also getting a new white one is the other concern. I may have to wait for a good second hand equipe in my budget range, with the poor resale I may not have to wait too long.
regards Victor
FollowupID: 6971

Reply By: damien - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 12:18

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 12:18
Victor, another point that i don't think has been mentioned - it is very important to get tinted windows, especially if you are going for a dark colored vehicle. You will be amazed at the difference they make.

Go for the darkest tint legally possible - one of the best mods you can do to your vehicle
AnswerID: 12070

Follow Up By: Dion - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 16:23

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 16:23
Window Sox fitted to the rear passenger doors make a difference, and a good cheaper alternative to tinting for those two doors.

Dion.
FollowupID: 6989

Reply By: Dion - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 16:30

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2003 at 16:30
Victor, until this time last year, Mum and Dad had a 1998 3.0L TD Jackaroo manual (from new), fantastic vehicle as far as grunt goes. Throttle response was excellent. This time last year, they traded it in on a new 3.0L TD Jack (SE), this time an auto, only beacause Mum's left shoulder is crook and Dad's left leg is crook, (artificial hip replacement). The auto drives very differently to the manual. Throttle responce and ability to bolt out of the blocks is excellent in the manual, but not so in the auto. The auto has to be driven slightly different to get the best out of it. But it won't take long to learn it's little quirks. The auto is still able to maintain 110 km/h when towing, however we have found it best to leave on D, and as the gradient slows you down, decrease the accelerator, not increase it. This holds the vehicle in OD longer, (it's a tuff gearbox) although this method has a slight speed loss, ecenomy is better than accelerating and forcing the box to change down.

Dion.
AnswerID: 12086

Reply By: Jacka - Thursday, Jan 30, 2003 at 20:29

Thursday, Jan 30, 2003 at 20:29
I have a 2000td manual and has done 75kms. I go offroad regularly and have modified mine extensively including an ARB airlocker. Have great pleasure with keeping up with the bigboys out there. The only problem I find with the vehicle is that Holden dont know enough about the diesel motor. Have been to over 5 different dealers with different results constantly! Overall the truck has been fantastic, come back from the Simpson in July and didn't have a problem all trip!
AnswerID: 12207

Follow Up By: Victor - Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 08:43

Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 08:43
jacka, my local engine reconditioner stated exactly that: no one knows how to fix these diesels. He also said there is only one specialist in Aust. that can fix the diesel fuel pumps (lives in Murwillumbah NSW) most everybody else replaces the fuel pump with a new one. The engine reconditioner suggested I stick to the petrol 4 WD!
FollowupID: 7088

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 08:55

Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 08:55
Jacka...

Is the locker in the front or rear (or both)? In 2000, Isuzu changed the rear diff type and ARB didn't have a locker for it. I'm curious as to what you got. Part numbers if you have them would be good to know.
FollowupID: 7090

Reply By: Jacka - Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 14:03

Friday, Jan 31, 2003 at 14:03
Air locker is for the front only and available at Arb
AnswerID: 12259