Dual Battery System

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 26, 2006 at 22:38
ThreadID: 31193 Views:2032 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
My name is Bruce and this is my first time on the foum. I have a 1999 triton diesel 4cyl trayback ute and i want to fit a dual battery system to it. I have obtained quotes from 4x4 outlets and the price to have one fitted is around the $1000 mark which is a bit out of my price range. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas how i can fit a dual battery system to the vehicle at an affordable cost. I will be running a fridge and possibly a winch at a later date. I am also a bit confused at what type of battery to use as the aux.

Reply By: Bruce Muller - Sunday, Feb 26, 2006 at 22:40

Sunday, Feb 26, 2006 at 22:40
I have checked that. I was actually after info on fitting system to a triton
AnswerID: 157218

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 00:31

Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 00:31
My article will help and feel free to contact me if you wish.

Article

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 157233

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 09:06

Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 09:06
Bruce,
Go along to your local auto electrician. Most of them will do a far better job and much cheaper than the 4x4 places. Should be able to get the complete setup installed for around $6-700
AnswerID: 157250

Follow Up By: old mate - Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 10:42

Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 10:42
I agree. I put a dual battery system into my Pathfinder and the big 4x4 shops wanted around $1200. Found a good auto sparkie at Ipswich and did the complete job just under $600. I'm more than happy with it.
FollowupID: 411504

Reply By: BorisK - Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 19:12

Monday, Feb 27, 2006 at 19:12
I have a Prado with dual batteries because thats how I bought it. With my econovan work car I just use a big AGM dual purpose battery instead of the small bleep y battery and I run a 35 L waeco for cold drinks and bait for fishing after work and it suits me fine. Fridge is on permanently during the week in the econovan. Battery cost only.
AnswerID: 157345