Question for Ruth at Birdsville Caravan Park

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 07:58
ThreadID: 31320 Views:3333 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Hi Ruth,
Can you let me know the current price of Diesel out there please?

Reply By: Lyds- Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 12:00

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 12:00
Brian,

Don't even think about it. Just put it under the "priceless" column on the mastercard. :-}

AnswerID: 158062

Follow Up By: Eric M - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:01

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:01
Try buying your diesel here in Perth Metro $1.32 to $1.46.

Whatis this I hear about RIP OFFS.
Cheers ERICM WA
FollowupID: 412571

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 13:40

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 13:40
Hi Brian, paid $1.29.9 last week and in Mt Isa paid $1.25.9. Our diesel price is good here because it comes from local! Shouldn't laugh about this really (because it is not nice to laugh at other people's expense) BUT we have been paying $1.20/l for years and years, then once the agents procured local diesel it dropped to about $1.06 which was great. Now, the reason we are laughing is because finally the rest of Australia is paying for something at the same price as us. For us to go anywhere involves hundreds of kilometres even for shopping, dentist, doctor, visiting whatever - in the city to do these things, city folk can drive around the corner, across town etc. or catch bus, train or taxi - we just have to pay for the fuel and get there. Sorry not nice to laugh or crow.
Some time ago - about Christmas I think I put up some notes from the Caravan Industry Association - who researched costs of trips - fuel, accommodation, tourist things and food - and fuel was the cheapest of all of these. Can find the info if anyone really wants it. Don't find anyone on this Forum asking whether price of beer has gone up in any outback pubs - no-one seems to kick up about the cost of a carton being $46/52/60 anywhere. OK , sorry, here endeth today's lesson. LOL.
AnswerID: 158085

Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:47

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:47
Ruth

What a true statement. We are getting ripped off by the fuel companies and government taxes but as you say NO ONE on this forum complains about the cost of beer and smokes. I make my own beer and don't smoke so that doesn't bother me.
I filled up with diesel here in Bathurst yesterday and paid $1.36 a litre. I have no choice but to fill up or stay at home and walk. At least I can claim my fuel thru my business.
I remember when I went to the Birdsville races last year I paid $1.28 a litre for diesel in Bathurst and only $1.31 at Birdsville. Yes, I know there are less state taxes on fuel in Qld.
When I am planning a trip I look for the dearest fuel and cost my trip on that price. I know it is only mind over matter but when you get home and the fuel has cost less than you budgeted you feel better. Last year we worked on $1.60 a litre which it was at Innaminka. Not complaining as a lot of people don't realise what it takes to get fuel out to some outback places. Us suckers close to the big cities are the ones getting RIPPED OFF and we can't do a bloody thing about it.
Had my rant for the afternoon.

The Bigfella
FollowupID: 412466

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:54

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 14:54
Hi Ruth, what do you mean by 'Our diesel price is good here because it comes from local!'

I'm delighted to see you are paying a reasonable price and at Mt Isa they are paying about the same price as on the Gold Coast. Hard to understand, but good on them.

When I come out your way (via Innamincka), I'll buy as little as I can in Innamincka and get to you with empty tanks!! Next fill, Mt Isa.
FollowupID: 412467

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:24

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:24
Thanks for that Ruth..... I should have explained that I need the info for trip planning. About a year ago, someone emailed me a really cool trip planner and I am using it to plan our trip out there later in the year. The first info it needs is average fuel price...... so I thought I'd start with Birdsvilles pricing. As the diesel on Fraser Island was WAAAAAY more expensive than the price you just quoted, I expected the outback diesel to be similar. Our motto is "if you wanna drive there.... you gotta pay the fuel bill or stay at home".... and we don't wanna stay at home!
;-)

Anyways.... thanks for the info, much appreciated

FollowupID: 412489

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:20

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:20
Norm, the reason I say local fuel is that just west of Windorah is IOR which stands for Inland Oil Refinery at Cuddapan and our fuel comes from there (only about 300 klms away).
FollowupID: 412534

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:31

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:31
Well there you go. You learn something on Explore Oz every day. I didn't know that. Thanks Ruth.
FollowupID: 412536

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 13:41
Brian,
easily seen you are a QLDer,
for most of the country Birdsville fuel prices arent that far away from everyday prices to be a concern.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 158086

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:17

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:17
Howard .....

From the ACT

And YOU'RE hangin' it on ME for being a Qld'er??????????

That'll be the day!
FollowupID: 412487

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:18

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:18
Hello Howard - are you both well?
Just for interest, how much for fuel in Canberra? I've been hearing it's expensive down south.
FollowupID: 412488

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:47

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:47
Goodday Ruth,
Both Margaret and I are both fine thanks,were planning another trip to the cape this year but oldest daughter got engaged at christmas and wedding is mid July. Sort of right in the middle of our plans not to mention the $.

as far as fuel goes here in Canberra, ULP $1.185 after 4 cent discount at Woolies and Coles.
Diesel is around $1.30 to $1.34 depending on the servo.

Might have to bring a big drum to Birdsville next time.
Howard,

Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 412495

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:12

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 19:12
Good to hear you are well - sorry about the expensive wedding cutting into your travel plans - LOL LOL. (That's why I only had boys).
Thanks for the fuel prices - same as here almost.
Happy travels next year!
FollowupID: 412531

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:54

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 16:54
Brian,
sorry, wasnt trying to hang anything on you , its just that its hard to understand why people who pay heaps less for fuel day in day out than the rest of the country worry about what it costs.
Luck to you for living in a state that recognises the impost that large distances put on the cost of doing business and everyday life.
enjoy yourtrip
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 158119

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:50

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 17:50
Howard,

I stand corrected.... and offer my humble apologies. I should also have mentioned that I am planning a trip, using a trip planner that someone here at EO emailed me and the fuel cost is one of the first items required. I am simply trying to budget things out..... basically if we want to do the trip, we'll have to pay the bill! This way, at least I won't have a heart attack at the cost of fuel at the end of the trip.

Interesting that Birdsville's diesel is so much cheaper than ACT's or here on the Gold Coast even.... we pay about $1:30/L,

FollowupID: 412512

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:13

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 22:13
update since post earlier today , tonight on way home diesel has gone up to $1.39.5 up 5 cents ,ULP dropped from $1.185 to $1.179 down .6 of a cent .
go figure- thats right its thursday off pay week , next thursday ULP goes up 9- 10 cents a litre.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 158204

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 15:32

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 15:32
Brian, I just went and fuelled up before fishing on Sunday a.m. and to my horror the diesel cost : - $1.39/litre.
AnswerID: 158364

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:33

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:33
Hi Ruth.
Diesel at Tweed Heads is $1.249 a lt. It has been thisw price for weeks.
PS Can we send some of our rain out to you???
Regards.
Vince
FollowupID: 413044