Colour Grey/Silver Cars

Submitted: Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:14
ThreadID: 31390 Views:3184 Replies:27 FollowUps:30
Can anyone explain the reason why a person would even consider buying a car or 4x4 that's the same colour as the road ie silver/light grey = dry road, the Dark Grey = wet road, I've been looking at this trend for years and when i mention it to ppl they are surprised just how many of these colours are on the roads, I see them in rain and fog with no lights on , some might have parkers on but then parkers are for parking , How many guilty ones out there .

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:40

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:40
I bought a Skyline which was the perfect silver /grey colour. I usually ntried tom remember to drive with the headlights on (TI model had a headlights on beeper if you opened the door) I sold it to my parents and it has gone 10 years without an accident that could be contributed to its colour. Wouldnt buy a new car that colour but 2nd hand I didnt consider it a big factor. I think you will find there are other colours harder to see depending on back cround conditions and time of day etc
AnswerID: 158439

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:45

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:45
Oh i see your from Widgiemooltha just up the road from Norseman, have you heard of the woman called Anne Elliott from near there or maybe she was from Kal' but, she was a singer and i bought one of her Cassettes at Widgiemooltha Roadhouse way back in 1979

FollowupID: 412876

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:48

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:48
Never heard of her. i live on camp 20k sth of Widgie
FollowupID: 412878

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:44

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:44
Doug T,

Agree. Ran across a few of those last week when negotiating heavy rain on the Pacific Hwy. Some fools were doing 100/110 in very heavy rain without lights. Made life interesting :))))
AnswerID: 158441

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:48

Friday, Mar 03, 2006 at 23:48
They just do not think and don't care

FollowupID: 412877

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:28
But why is it that when it's pouring down with rain or you're driving towards the setting sun, the few cars that DON'T have their headlights on are those that are bitumen-grey !!!!

Sometimes they have Parking Lights on - so they don't waste too much electricity - if you watch closely when they are about 5 metres, you can actually tell that they have their Parkinh Lights on in daytime !!!

I have a silver Pajero - only because that were selling at $8000 off list and few colours were left ! I have with the headlights on unless it's a bright sunny day. You can't avoid a car you haven't seen.

FollowupID: 412918

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:12

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:12
Trendsetters

I have read all of the above with avid interest, ebbing and waning from C H I T!
I have a death trap(made me take my pills earlier than usual), to I have the safest coloured car available.

Thanks to Brian B for providing what appears to be the only scientific based input in this thread I now have problems whatsoever in admiting/stating the following.

One of the three vehicles in my 'stable' is an 05 JEEP Cherokee KJ CRD. It is Mercedes Benz Bright Silver in colour and is the most fantastic vehicle ever invented and is only just pipped by Toyota in the 4WD arena. (Troopy's in particular).

It makes all Nissans look like pussies in their various 'bright carnivale' colour schemes.

Now! if you can't see silver/grey whilst driving I would strongly recommend the following :

(1) For those over 25Yrs - check what your hands are doing cause it does make you go blind

(2) Over 35Yrs - reduce your alchohol intake

(3) Over 45yrs - move the kids out of home as they are affecting your physical well being

(4) Over 55yrs - park SWMBO in a nursing home as her constant nagging is increasing the tunnel vision she has been accusing you of all these years.

(5) Over 56yrs - have an eye test.

(6) Over 60yrs - accept that you are colour blind

(7) Over 65 years - start wearing the obligatory 'hat' whilst driving along at 40kph reminising over long ago 'memories of the good old days'

(8) Over 70 years - admit you have reached your use by date and get off the road.
FollowupID: 412956

Reply By: allanmac856 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:03

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:03
There are worse colours than silver. Why anyone would want a dark colour like black etc is beyond me. Might look ok, but not easy to see & show up paint imperfections/ scrathes etc like dogs balls.

Advantage of silver is that it hides dirt/road grime better than other colours.

AnswerID: 158445

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:08

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:08
Agree Black is for the Poms in pom land, and about the Dog Balls ....my little fella ain't got his , lol, he's 9 now and has long forgotten he had any.

FollowupID: 412884

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:05

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:05
Our company has 3 metallic silver vehicles. 1 car and 2 4x4s. Regardless of visibility I would never get a silver 4x4 as the scratches can be seen from 50 metres away!

Look good when they're new though.
AnswerID: 158446

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:07

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:07
Brisbane City Council had a fleet of grey utes in mid 90s , would have got them on a discounted price , I guess one of the stupid Councillers like it,

FollowupID: 412914

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:37

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:37
Doug,

It's an interesting subject. One of my roles at work with the Ambulance Service is being part of the QLD Travelsafe Committee. We spend a bit of time looking at factors surrounding accidents and I dug up an article that I recently received from a friend of mine in New Zealand.

The article is in inverted commas and follows:

"Silver cars are the safest on the road
13:53 19 December 2005
Author Professor Shaoni Bhattacharya
University of Auckland

Motor vehicle safety, MedlinePlus
British Medical Journal
Silver cars are much less likely to be involved in a serious crash than cars of other colours, suggests a new study of over 100,000 cars.

People driving in silver cars were 50 per cent less likely to suffer serious injury in a crash compared with drivers of white cars, the research found.

White, yellow, grey, red and blue cars carried about the same risk of injury. But those taking to the roads in black, brown or green cars were twice as likely to suffer a crash with serious injury.

Sue Furness, at the University of Auckland, led the study but says the team does not know why silver cars appear safer. "We think it may be due to a combination of light colour and high reflectivity," she speculates.

She suggests that increasing the proportion of silver cars on the road might provide a "passive strategy" to cut car crash injuries.

"If there's proof that certain colours are safer and easier to see in all road conditions that might be useful to people in terms of purchasing a car," says Roger Vincent, of the UK Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents. But he adds: "A lot of people will buy things purely on fashion.""

Just thought I would share this with you as our experience to date is that silver vehicles have a good rate of reflectiveness and generally feature fairly low in crash stats. Black, brown and green cars figure high in our data.

Still this is purely statistical information and needs to be taken with a grain of salt as there are a huge amount of other factors involved in the crash information I see. Like yourself I reckon silver and grey vehciles are difficult to see in certain conditions.

Have a good one.

AnswerID: 158451

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:48

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:48
Thanks for that follow up Brian, Just that i got a scare one day , went to pull out onto the hwy and and on the second look to the left one was in there and on first look i'm buggered if i seen it and it was a silver/grey ,
If i were to be buying a new car it would be Yellow or Orange like as the Ford GTs , that Green is nice too , it's not like the green in your reply , what about the Mini's ....British Racing Green ....nup no way
But your feedback was good reading.

!MPG:8!

FollowupID: 412887

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:37

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:37
There are many shades of grey - my two-tone Silver Pajero is so light that at times I've looked at mine from a distance and thought "that can't be mine, it's white"

FollowupID: 412923

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:00

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:00
"Just that i got a scare one day , went to pull out onto the hwy and and on the second look to the left one was in there and on first look i'm buggered if i seen it and it was a silver/grey ,"

Eeeerrrrrrrrrr nothing wrong with our eyesight is there???? perhaps we might need to have the peepers checked???????
FollowupID: 412935

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:11

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:11
Trendsetters

I have read all of the above with avid interest, ebbing and waning from C H I T!
I have a death trap(made me take my pills earlier than usual), to I have the safest coloured car available.

Thanks to Brian B for providing what appears to be the only scientific based input in this thread I now have problems whatsoever in admiting/stating the following.

One of the three vehicles in my 'stable' is an 05 JEEP Cherokee KJ CRD. It is Mercedes Benz Bright Silver in colour and is the most fantastic vehicle ever invented and is only just pipped by Toyota in the 4WD arena. (Troopy's in particular).

It makes all Nissans look like pussies in their various 'bright carnivale' colour schemes.

Now! if you can't see silver/grey whilst driving I would strongly recommend the following :

(1) For those over 25Yrs - check what your hands are doing cause it does make you go blind

(3) Over 45yrs - move the kids out of home as they are affecting your physical well being

(4) Over 55yrs - park SWMBO in a nursing home as her constant nagging is increasing the tunnel vision she has been accusing you of all these years.

(7) Over 65 years - start wearing the obligatory 'hat' whilst driving along at 40kph reminising over long ago 'memories of the good old days'

(8) Over 70 years - admit you have reached your use by date and get off the road.
FollowupID: 412955

Follow Up By: Joe King - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:28
Brain B, Keep in mind it was a study done by Kiwi's, how serious can it be taken LOL
FollowupID: 413025

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:08

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:08
Brian B

Take absolutely no notice of Joe King (Pssst he drives a Mardi Gra coloured Nissan).

FollowupID: 413049

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:00

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:00
just posted a new one on this one is not SILVER

http://members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/cop.htm

FollowupID: 413063

Follow Up By: Joe King - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:56

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:56
Lucy, no no no, I drive a Technicoloured Suzuki Mighty boy...
FollowupID: 413210

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:11

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:11
Well! thats a big one in your favour Joe, now that we know that you aren't one of the 'suspect' Nissan driving brigade. (LOL)
FollowupID: 413301

Follow Up By: Joe King - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:26

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:26
Lucy, how dare you think that, here, here's a cake of soap, go wash your mouth out
FollowupID: 413307

Reply By: Steve M - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:43

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 00:43
I almost had a head-on collision with a silver/grey car recently when I was overtaking. Middle of the day, good weather, I just didnt see it til very late. From then on I swore I would never buy a car that colour.

AnswerID: 158452

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:17

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:17
Much more importantly, over 90% of all drivers involved in traffic accidents in the September 2003 to September 2004 period had not eaten asparagus in the previous hour.

I think those results speaks for themself.

LOOK!!!!......or hand in your MDL right now.

Doug, you're the reason I no longer ride motorbikes on the road. VERY SCARY.......no terrifying in fact!!!!!
AnswerID: 158455

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:40

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:40
G'Day Mate
Still scrathing my head as why i'm to blame for you not riding your bike, the thing is we're all only human and even the ppl with the best and sharpest eyesight can miss something,as for my eyes ....well sometimes i use reading glasses but for distance i have no prob's ..i can se a jet in front of the vapor-trail naked eye and at 62 i guess thats not too bad,
!MPG:4!

FollowupID: 412925

Reply By: crfan - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:27

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:27
In Western Australia most Taxis are White, A guy bought a bright Orange taxi thought he would be the most unlikley taxi to be hit guess what /most hit and also written off in a crash and he was never in the blame...
I also agree that cars that are the same colour as the road are hard to see but the road can change from road to road (Shark Bay (Monkey Mia)Road is made from shell that is white)new cars have better head lights so so do you ban all cars that dont pass a test (Jap/California)
AnswerID: 158456

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:41

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:41
We all know what taxi drivers are like though

FollowupID: 412926

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:58

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:58
What the hell were you doin' still up at 1:27am ....LOL ....ZZZzzz,tis ok it's a great site this eh.

FollowupID: 412933

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:36

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 02:36
Question for you all.
Is any silver/grey vehicle any worse than a fully green/brown camoflage painted vehicle (not Army) travelling in a cloud of dust
AnswerID: 158457

Reply By: Member - John - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 07:14

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 07:14
Doug, I happen to like Silver/Grey and realise that it it can, in some circumstances be a hard colour to see, but so can all other colours given the right circumstances, that is why I drive with my headlights on. Headlights on should be mandatory in my opinion.

AnswerID: 158463

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:45

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:45
I prefer GOLD really...... it's worth more

FollowupID: 412949

Reply By: Member - Matt L (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 07:37

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 07:37
I am glad that Brian posted all that statical information as I was on my way out the door with a paint brush to repaint my car.

Matt
AnswerID: 158466

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 08:06

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 08:06
Its happened to me a few times with the same colour cars.
Once coming down the Canarvan development rd on a big long straight stretch of rd. No idea a car was coming until it was virtually on me.

Only just on Thursday going to turn right and had my darling wife in the car and she screams at me [nothing unusual in that] same colour car coming at me.
We just missed each other.

AnswerID: 158468

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:16

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:16
Grey/Silver cars? It's been the fashion in Europe/UK for years now old chap. Get with it.
AnswerID: 158483

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:45

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:45
This is Australia Mate , not the "mother country" !MPG:4!

FollowupID: 412927

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:18

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:18
thanks Sherlock. The point I'm making is that like many trends in Europe/"Mother country" the trend will catch on over here for better or worse. As you said. This is Australia.

FollowupID: 412941

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:17

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:17
I think the colour of cars could be a minor issue, but there are a lot of other reasons why someone may not "see" a car coming. The background against which the car is silhouetted, what else is in the drivers field of vision, for instance if there is a truck on the road ahead and a smaller car coming from the other direct the eye is naturally drawn to the larger object. or the object with the larger visual image.

That is one reason why when people have an accident with a motor cycle, they say "I just didn't see it!" and that is quite probably tru as there may have been objects in their field of view that were larger, or presented a larger visual image.

So we need to look out for smaller faster moving objects and in particular make sure that we look very closely into the background to make sure something is not blending into it.

Of course I do drive a pewter coloured GU
AnswerID: 158484

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:54
Of course they don't see things, hey i've Cars continue on past me when i'm Working and have given me the finger, then gone past the police car as well then wonders where the hell did that 6m wide load come from, Some other team had a caravanner wipe out half his van last year near Charters Towers and began to mouth off at the Truckie and the Cop demanding hid rights to his half the road so the copper booked him , then his Mrs was warned as well to shut up....would have been a good one for funny home video's ..

FollowupID: 412930

Reply By: steve21 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:18

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 09:18
maybe this is why people park across the bottom of my drive! they can't see my charcoal LC, 2mtrs away!!
cheers steve
AnswerID: 158485

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:23

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:23
The fact that vehicles all come in different colours is in itself a safety factor.

If all vehicles were one colour only, we would fail to notice them purely because of that.

Those over 50 with weakening reading capability but claiming to still have perfect eagle distance vision fail to acknowledge that it is their brain which can no longer process multi tasks as it once did.

Men in particular become more and more single task oriented as they get older, so even with perfect vision, if they are concentrating on the mossie on the widscreen they will fail to process data about the Mack truck coming no matter what colour it is.

The solution is to take the drivers license away from anyone over 60 who fails to see a silver car. (and admits it).
AnswerID: 158497

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:50

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:50
I'll just treat that with the contempt it deserves .....lol

FollowupID: 412950

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:51

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:51
It sounds like you've hit a nerve !

FollowupID: 412970

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:54

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:54
Chuckle - at least Doug can tell when someone's taking the p!ss a bit....

I was going to write more but I got interrupted to do another task.

FollowupID: 412971

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 12:14

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 12:14
Like ..Umm MOW THE LAWN & WASH THE 4X4

FollowupID: 412977

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:56

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 10:56
For every person who says "we had a closer encounter with a grey/silver car" there will be an equal number of other people who can say the same about every other colour car. And even those who can only "remember" close encounters with a partcilcar colour - if put under deep hypnosis will be able to remember other colours.

I like silver. We've had two silver cars. We still have one of them. They look nice (when clean). We've also had orange, blue, red cars. I don't reckon that any one particular colour is better than the other for visibility.

But we are basically ony using white now - and that's because they are easier to keep up the appearance of being clean - even when they're dirty or have scratches.

Jeff
AnswerID: 158507

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:11

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:11
Trendsetters

AnswerID: 158511

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 12:02

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 12:02
I agree with these rules for women, but we men need one rule at a time or we get confused.

When we get confused we fail to see silver Cherokees especially when they are being driven by er .. err well, anyone

I can't remember what I was going to say.......oh yeah - what sort of person is reminded of pussies when looking at a Nissan????? That really confuses me enough to need a lie down.

FollowupID: 412974

Reply By: 120scruiser - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:17

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:17
Simple answer - resale and looks.
A white car is a white car where as a darker colour just seems to be able to sell easier, Not necessarily for a higher price but just sells easier. Its OK if you turn your cars over regularly.
I am on my second grey car and have had no problems but I do turn my headlights on as soon as it gets a little dull whether for rain, dusck or overcast.
Personal opinion I suppose.
BYW I wanted the gold colour Prado but 1 my wife already has a gold car and 2 the colour of the interior was disgusting.
AnswerID: 158514

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 11:28
There is silver and silver.

Wife's Falcon has a light silver that is even paler when well waxed and is easy to see.

Bloke down the road has a pewter Toyota that is easily missed when there are shadows across the road.

Cars that remain unwashed or unpolished are harder to see.
AnswerID: 158519

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:00

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:00
you'd think a brighter colour would be easier to see. Mine is, I suppose, Navy. Not really that conspicuous, and I thought that was sometimes the reason for others' behaviour. Trouble is, even when I have 3 kayaks on the roof, all with white hulls, one is bright apple green on top, one red, and one yellow. Plenty of colour contrast there and not easy to miss, you'd think, but I still get drivers who are either: too dopey to notice, or they do notice but don't care.
AnswerID: 158554

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:32

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:32
Just try driving a vehicle which is full camo, full matt finish and has bugger all reflective surfaces.
I drive with headlights on most of the time, mates reckon that from 100 yards away on the highway it can't be seen even if looking directly at it.
I've had friends drive past when I'm stopped at intersections in the scrub, had to use the cb to call them back.
AnswerID: 158568

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 20:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 20:28
swmbo's...they shop by colour and price
AnswerID: 158613

Reply By: russ36 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:16

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:16
i ride i brightly coloured yellow suzuki motorcycle that stands out like dogs balls, and i must say i never have trouble being seen by other motorists. sure, its more important for us 2 wheelers to be visible, but if it works for us then its got to work for cars too. its all about minimising accidents, and every bit helps
AnswerID: 158628

Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 07:25

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 07:25
Doug

Very good subject.

Your headlights are required under ARR to be on at night (sunset to sunrise) and "during periods of low visibility"

I have a GU patrol which is a gold/grey that blends in with the road. I put my headlights on when on the highway. Whatever the colour of a vehicle it will always be safer driving with your headlights on to assist other drivers in seeing you.

Why did I purchase a vehicle of that colour? I couldn't afford to buy new and when you buy second hand colour choice is limited.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 158664

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 14:14

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 14:14
Geriatrics thread
AnswerID: 158701

Follow Up By: miker - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:32

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:32
It's obvious!! We need to legislate to ensure all vehicles are coloured canary yellow from a given date onwards !!

Whew - that was a close one.

Miker.

FollowupID: 413203

Reply By: GEG - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 18:43

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 18:43
Totally agree with you about the silver and grey vehicles - I and my mother have been saying it for years -...they are hard to see when you are in a hurry and they wizz around the corner, or over a crest. So too was a recent situation when i was a passenger and the driver pulled out from an intersection and bang, a green car smashed into us.

The reason - Well the driver didnt see the green vehicle as it blended in with the green trees that lined the street, which also had green grassed nature strips.

But just to let you know, Silver and grey vehicles can go longer without a wash as the dirt dont show as much as say black cars...

Im about to order a pewter color..its sort of a platinum metallic color, my last car was a silver one...but only because i bought it second hand and didnt have a choice. but it doesnt show dirt as much as all the other colors...
AnswerID: 158750