Size of 80 Series fuel tanks

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:39
ThreadID: 31413 Views:17232 Replies:2 FollowUps:14
What are the sizes of the fuel tanks in an 80 Series?

Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:58

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:58
95 l in main and 50l in sub = 145 litres but can only get about 130-135 out.

I usually work on a 800 km range for fuel purposes but could get 900+ if generally flat open going but I'd be worrying about fuel.
AnswerID: 158567

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:56

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:56
Alan, yours has got to be a pitrol ....I hope :)) If I dont get 1000K++ from mine then I'm doing some heavy 4wding
FollowupID: 413047

Follow Up By: Joe King - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 19:17

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 19:17
I agree, I get 800k with the front tank before the light comes on, loaded, 100kms highway travelling, just did it over the x-mas break..
92TD 80
FollowupID: 413081

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 19:36

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 19:36
Mines an auto td , get your "best" range round town stop /start , 1000+ klm on h/way towing c/t + boat on roof ,book says 95+50 in sub ,best/worst fill ever had was 90lt main + 45lt into sub.
FollowupID: 413083

Follow Up By: cruiser - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:02
To Joe King

You must be "Joe King"........."800k with the front tank before the light comes on, loaded, 100kms highway "

That means that for approx 80 litres you are only using 10 litres per 100Km while fully loaded travelling @ 100K/H.

Thats 10 Km to the litre and about 28.2 MPG in the old scale.

The best I can get out of mine (is about 12.3 Litres per 100Km, which is about 8.13 Km to the litre and that means on mine that when the light comes on at about 80 litres, I have a range of approx 650K.

All of this while trying very hard to maintain 100 KPH on highway, no hard acceleration and only loaded with luggage for 2 people. When I tow either my camper or caravan, my consumption climbs to about 14.5/15.5 Litres per 100K.

My vehicle is a stock standard 94 TD manual, so if your records are correct, you have a good one there that should not be let go.

By the way, there are about 5 80 series TD in my club, and I probably get the best consumption of all of them.
FollowupID: 413095

Follow Up By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:28
Mine is a 1994 model non-turbo and it does use a bit more than my mate with a 100 series turbo. I never get 1000+ out of it or have never gone far enough to really test it. I freak out about the E mark so there could be few more kms in there. The max I ever put into the tanks was 128litres and the sub was coughing and the main was hard on the bottom of the guage (I was towing)

I usually use a bit of the main tank and then switch to the sub and sometimes run it till it coughs before going back to the main tank.

If just on the main, I get about 650 as a max so mine might be a bit thirsty compared to above.

Towing I get about 18-20l per 100km depending upon terrain and non-towing about 14l per 100km.
FollowupID: 413105

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:36

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:36
Add snorkels, winches, rear carriers and rood racks. These can make a difference !~
FollowupID: 413109

Follow Up By: Joe King - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:42

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:42
Thats what I got cruiser, 2 people with luggage, set the od when I filled up at home, 800k before the light came on, my mate has a 4.5 petrol & he gets 600-650 from his front tank...
& yes, I have no intention of selling....
FollowupID: 413111

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 22:07

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 22:07
I reckon there is either alot of Bull about fuel consumption or there are people who only drive when there is a tail wind and dont exceed 90 my experience is more like that of Alan H (Narangba QLD) with my NA 4.2 Deisal i have never got close to getting 150l in. Get around 650k out of the main and 3-350 out of the sub. lot less if 4wding
FollowupID: 413126

Follow Up By: cruiser - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 22:09

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 22:09
To Joe King,

I have had 2 x 80 series cruisers.

1 was a duel fuel 4.5L petrol and well maintained (until a 5 tonne tip truck rearranged the front end) stock standard vehicle, no snorkels/winches/roof rack etc etc, and on LPG I used about 20/23L per 100K, and on petrol about 18L per 100K on highway, but then again, it was so nice to have power on tap, that I did use it as much as legally possible.

The other one is the 94 TD as in my earlier reply, but it is no go kart like the petrol was.

I have on many occassions pulled straight into a servo (in the TD) when it comes on and I seem to consistently have about 15 litres still left in the tank regardless of if I am driving hard or not, it is just the Klm on OD that vary. As I said, 650 is about the best I have achieved.

Anyway, good on ya, I just wish I could get that extra 150K before the light comes on.
FollowupID: 413128

Follow Up By: jon p qld - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 09:14

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 09:14
800km from the main tank is not unbelievable, I've acheived the same. Did an 1153 km highway trip without refueling, I was not towing, two people and a small amount of luggage, kept it on or below 100kph.
Put the campertrailer on the back and I can wipe 400klm off that figure.
80 series 1hz with steel bar & winch and 7.50/16 split rim tyres.
FollowupID: 413163

Follow Up By: Joe King - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:51

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 15:51
as soon as my light comes on, if I pull into a servo, working on the 95l, there is about 8l left in when the light comes on.
I'm not saying this is consistent either (the 800k's), its just the only time I have taken notice as my mate that bought the petrol 80 wanted to know what I get so I did it for this trip only, I don't worry about this sort of thing as when I go somewhere, Im going for a reason so I'm gonna get there regardless of what it costs.
its also the only time ever I have gone away & stuck to the 100kph all the way, being x-mas break up the bruce highway, coppers love that time of year up here.
& Davoe, I have no reason to lie about it, I don't post for the sake of it, some one brought the subject up, I just told my experience...
JK
FollowupID: 413207

Follow Up By: cruiser - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 17:49

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 17:49
Joe,

Please dont take my replies the wrong way. I at no time was having a go at you, nor did I wish to imply that you were lying or posting for the sake of posting.

In fact I said, I wish I could get the extra 150K out of my tank as I am sure most people would if they could.

I am simply saying that I cannot get that sort of consumption from mine as a way of comparison for the person who made the original post, and it is obvious that vehicles of same make and model vary in their performance.

I also do not worry much about this sort of thing because like you, if I am going there, it is for a reason and the cost is secondary, cause lets face it there are to many variables to take into account for things to be constant, however, like most of us, from time to time we all conduct these little test if only to guage how our vehicle is going.

It would appear that you have a good one and as I said in an earlier reply, dont get rid of it.

Cruiser

FollowupID: 413231

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 18:07

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 18:07
Joe, I believe you well and truly. Unladen on a trip in 2wd only, with no rack, towing nothing I can easily achieve fuel figures that will cause other owners to exclaim "&*((#$(t". Naturally aspirated 1hz with the injectors and timing done, enough gear for 2 people inside and 235 tyres rotating at 100k/h max.
A headwind will blow my consumption out dramatically. So will stop start driving around town.
Put the hubs in and leave the blacktoop and the figues get worse, dramatically.
FollowupID: 413238

Follow Up By: Joe King - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 21:31

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 21:31
No worries fellas, if I take notice from now on when I do go on trips, I will possibly find results closer to what has been posted (but I hope I have got a freak) its all good...
JK
FollowupID: 413286

Reply By: Laura B - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:03

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:03
our 80 is on lpg and usually if we fill both up the petrol is 90 odd lt and the lpg is between 70-80 odd lt....

Laura B
AnswerID: 158625