Seat Covers - which ones!!

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 19:05
ThreadID: 31446 Views:13028 Replies:12 FollowUps:12
Guys,

Looking to get some decent seat covers for protection - looking at Black Duck and Michele's Sac's,,,,

I've read the previous posts, and both seem to be top notch - two questions..

1. has anyone actually seen and compared both - does one stand out from the other? (cost seems to be reasonably similar)

and

2. are there any others in the same ballpark that I should be considering...

As a bit of side info, they are for a Land Cruiser (100 series), and I am looking to purchase the ones that don't include the headrest cover (cos I'm looking at a In-Headrest DVD for them...)

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:01

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:01
I was not convinced that hours of sitting on an sewed edge of canvas would be all that great, so I bought the Candy Canvas. Plus, I'm a South Ozzie, so local is ALWAYS better.

The Candy Canvas has a one piece seat and a seperate one pice back rest - no seams to annoy - wheras the Michelle sacs have a cotton backed cover and seams amidships to dig into the thighs & butt cheeks (?? do they - have not tried same). Is this better? Dunno.

I paid $ 190 the pair for my Patrol, front seats only. You decide the value.

AnswerID: 158766

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:46

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:46
Yep, gotta agree. I've had my candy Canvas covers for over 4 years and they fit and "work" well.
Probably the only gripe I've got is that the stretchy cords to hold them on are a bit untidy, but what the hell, that only affects the ankle biters in the back seat.
They wash well and dry quickly. Still look as good as new.
FollowupID: 413420

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:02

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:02
As soon as l can lm getting Michelle's Sacs covers,top quality and great looking,last black duck ones I saw were back in the dark ages.
AnswerID: 158768

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 20:06
Hi There Ivan,

I have gone with seat covers from a company called Takla. I have chosen the canvas ones and they are around a year old and they still look like they did when new.

http://www.takla.com.au

I met these guys at the last supershow as they are located in Perth but they showed great interest in solving the problem i had with having toyo 100 series Snowy which has the sahara shaped seats and are a totally different shape to the standard GXL.

The guys from Takla even came out to my car in the carpark at the supershow to trial a set of covers on my front seats to ensure all was good before I placed an order.

Great work from Takla in my book.

Stuart
AnswerID: 158771

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 14:18

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 14:18
We also have a set of Takla covers. We wanted waterproof as we have dogs and the fact we go to the beach so often and get in the car wet.

We've had them now for 4 years and unlike the Big W throw away sheep skin, these still look as good as new. Have never had a tear or damage of any sort despite the dogs and their nails, etc. Definately worth the $$$.

We take them off now and again and the seats look as good as new underneath.

Mate has Black Duck and they are just as good.

I'm not sure about the notion that sheep skin make good 4WD covers considering the amount of times they are likely to get wet, muddy and sandy.
FollowupID: 413396

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 21:37

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 21:37
Do canvas covers wear/fray the material underneath?

What are they like on the thighs and back for long drives?

Reason I ask is that some seat covers make your back and thighs sweat even with aircon.
AnswerID: 158792

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 08:39

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 08:39
G'day, the ones we have show no sign of making the seat wear or fray. There has also been no experience of sweating etc.
Hope this helps....
Ours are made by Candy Canvas
FollowupID: 413547

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:34
Big W sheepskin.. 10th the price, and when they die, throw em, get some more.
AnswerID: 158808

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:36

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:36
Looks a better deal to me :))))
FollowupID: 413311

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 07:54

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 07:54
i was gunna say....whats wrong with sheepskin? they work for me

i like the recycling idea below, but the kids mut will probably win out
FollowupID: 413337

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 08:05

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 08:05
Canvas seat covers - protect seat underneath,Expensive, hard to clean , Long lasting but still wear through,

Cheap seat cover from kmart - Protects seat underneath, cheap, No cleaning required, just get another, Will last long enough
and LOOKS BETTER, Canvas seat covers are what the thrashbuckets at work have on
FollowupID: 413340

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 10:16

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 10:16
I concur. I bought a cheap.....no ridiculously cheap set of sheepskins for the wife's Fairlane at Supercrap that cost all of $20. The base and back is sheepskin, the rest some faux-fur kinda horrible sh*t. Still perfect years later.

I also put some sheepskin covers in the Patrol that cost 10 times as much. Both are still fine and the Patrol one's are currently doing their third tour of duty in the 75 series.

I've washed the Patrol ones a couple of times by just chucking them in the washing machine with a load of wool mix. They come out just fine, smell nice and haven't changed shape. The red mud that came out of them was interesting too. Considered taking out a mining lease on my seats with all the iron-ore in them (I'm a window down driver).
FollowupID: 413362

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:23

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:23
Yep, why go past sheepskin? Brand new they are cheap from certain stores or e-bay and they are sooo niiice to sit on, ooooh! :-)
FollowupID: 413522

Reply By: eerfree - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 22:50
Sheepskins,when they die DONT throw them out , cut out the good bits, they make the best car wash mitt.
eerfree
AnswerID: 158810

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 11:47

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 11:47
I bought a set of Michelle's Sacs, they are a pain in the arse to fit and they were so tight they took the lumbar out of my seats and made them feel like concrete. Took them off and sold them, I'd rather be comfortable than sit on them. A mate of mine who is a tradie uses them and after 1-2 years his have stretched and softened and are comfortable to sit on.
AnswerID: 158855

Reply By: Pterosaur - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 13:21

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 13:21
I tried the various sheepskin covers about - after years of successful use on my last vehicle ( a Jackaroo) - however, I've now got a troopy with Paratus seats and have found that none of the "off the shelf" sheepskin covers that I can find will fit - anyone know of ones (brand ?) that will ?

Would rather sheepskin than canvas.

thanks
Terry
AnswerID: 158873

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 22:55

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 22:55
You have to go custom fit with paratus, or call them in geelong, and ask them.

I didnt bother with mine, only paid $200 for the pair :)
FollowupID: 413511

Follow Up By: Pterosaur - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:11

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:11
Thanks Truckster, already tried them - they'll do covers OK, but not sheepskin - have found a mob in Tassie.,"The Sheep's Back" who reckon they have ready mades that may fit, or will make one up for me (the dog doesn't get an aftermarket seat :-)).

Black Duck canvas also make ones to fit, but I reckon the canvas would abrade the cloth on my seat.

Wish I could have got ONE for $200 - got mine from Paratus when I was on the way home last year, cost more than $1000 more than your pair ! :-(
FollowupID: 413517

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:17

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:17
got mine off sold.com.au when it was around :(
ex ambo seats.

anyway theres a dude in frankston opn beach road/st that does custom fit sheepskins, he wantd $800 for a set + the back! I laughed at him, he wasnt happy!!

You want a cheap solution?

Go to the markets, buy a length of sheepskin that would be used as a mat. $50ea tops.

Cut to size of the seat.

Sew some elastic onto the sides to create a loop to loop over the seat.
There ya have em

Did this to a bike and it lasted 4 bikes and 200,000klms - was still going when the bike was totalled..
FollowupID: 413519

Reply By: Scoey - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 15:54

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 15:54
Just an option that no one's mentioned yet are the Snap-On seat covers the mechanics use to keep your seat grease free when the service your truck. You know the bright red ones you see Ronny Revhead and Timmy Tappetcover on the seats of thier hotted up Dunny doors?? A mate of mine has them and they seem to do a top job on his 75 Series!
Scoey
AnswerID: 158894

Reply By: Brian Bentley - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:54

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 16:54
I bought a set of swagman canvas seat covers last week for my 75 series cruiser ute, happy with them so far and they had the best price.
I ordered them over the phone and got them in 4 days from victoria to mackay queensland.

They came with headrest covers but not attached to the seat covers, easy to fit, all velcro.
AnswerID: 158914

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:10

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:10
Perhaps this is hi-jacking the thread, but I seem to be rolling the outside edge of the drivers seat on my 100 Series (I hope that makes sense).

Is anyone using those roller-bead style cover things that cabbies swear by, and if so, are they comfortable and/or help with my problem.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 159007

Follow Up By: Billowaggi - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:03

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:03
Yea I have tried them, if you wear shorts and have hair on your legs they tear the hairs out every time you move!
Regards Ken.
FollowupID: 413785

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:43

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 23:43
Why hide and cover a good seat, you never get to see and enjoy it. Cover it when it's old and tacky.
AnswerID: 159014