DEEP CYCLE BATTERIES

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:29
ThreadID: 31503 Views:8793 Replies:13 FollowUps:21
I NEED TO REPLACE MY SECOND BATTERY IN MY 4WD.
ANY THOUGHTS ABOUT GOING DEEP CYCLE OR STANDARD BATTERY?
IT"S USED FOR RUNNING A 40LTR WAECO AND 2 VERSA LIGHTS 3 OR 4 TRIPS A YEAR.SOME SAY IT"S NOT ENOUGH USE FOR A DEEP CYCLE,THATS KEEP CHARGED UP THE REST OF THE TIME

Reply By: Mike DiD - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:37

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:37
The low-cost recommendation would be an Exide Extreme - hybrid between Starting and Deep Cycle.

The more expensive option that should give you longer battery life is a fully sealed AGM battery - FullRiver, Remco, AbsorbedPower. AGMs work well as both Starting and Deep Cycle batteries.

AnswerID: 159107

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:48

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:48
I'll second that.
Exide extreme. Wait for KMart to have a sale and get one super cheap.
FollowupID: 413624

Follow Up By: brian - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:49
Totally agree with mike deep cycle not required for your application
FollowupID: 413625

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 10:04

Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 10:04
K-Mart have had a 15% sale on the past couple of days - don't know if it's still on today.
FollowupID: 417534

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:55

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 15:55
quit the shoutin chief........oh and I agree, an exide extreme should serve you well.

Leroy
AnswerID: 159109

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:03

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:03
Worlds first time that questions been asked.....

Heaps of threads, do a search for "second battery", "deep cycle", and a few of the more obvious words.
AnswerID: 159112

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:25

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:25
and the countdown begins . . .

10 . . . 9 . . . 8
AnswerID: 159114

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:51

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:51
7.....6....5....4...3..2..1 aaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrhhhhhhhhhh [ wonder if David could save money if he deleted the SEARCH function]
FollowupID: 413636

Reply By: Browser - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:33

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:33
Hi Challenger,

I think that this is your second post and I have noticed that each one you have used upper case lettering. Just in case you are not familiar with the protocols I thought I should point out that the use of upper case letters suggests that you are shouting or talking with a raised voice.

Just thought you should know.

regards,

Browser
AnswerID: 159116

Follow Up By: CHALLENGER - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 16:51

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 16:51
HI BROWSER

SORRY I DIDNT KNOW ABOUT PROTOCOL,BUT THIS IS THE WAY I TYPE ONE FINGER AT A TIME.

REGUARDS CHALLENGER

PS .THANKS FOR ALL THE REPLYS TAKE CARE OUT THERE
FollowupID: 413908

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 17:23

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 17:23
G'day Challenger,
We're not having a go at you mate....christ knows, I'm not real flash on the keyboard either.....but it does get other people a bit hacked off if you type in UPPER CASE all the time.
Please hit the button on the left side of the keyboard called "Caps Lock". That will make all you letters come out in lower case (like the way my words are coming out now). If you want to get real flash-harry and have a capital at the beginning of a sentence etc, you just need to hold the "Shift" key down with one finger, while you bang the letter key that you want as a capital with another finger...hehehehe
Cheers and here endeth the typing lesson.
FollowupID: 413915

Reply By: ACDC - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:15

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:15
I would,nt be waiting for any specials Exide batteries go up in price by 10% from the first of april!!
AnswerID: 159134

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:48

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:48
1st of April ?? ya gottaloveitt !!!!!
FollowupID: 413652

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:10

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:10
Challenger,

I'm not convinced the Exide Extreme is really a hybrid battery.
The specifications do not rate the Extreme in AH (Amp Hours), just CCA (Cold Cranking Amps).
I'm not knocking the product at all. I run one as my Starting Battery.

Even at 3 or 4 times a year, I would recommend a proper Deep Cycle battery.
Fridges can drain a battery quite considerably. Even a Waeco with its built-in low voltage cutout. This will ultimately reduce the working life of a conventional battery.

A starting battery (CCA rated) supplies high amperage for short periods of time and prolonged discharge will cause problems with the battery.

Deep Cycle batteries (AH rated) supply a relatively low amount of current for a long period of time. Just like when running your fridge and lights.

A Deep Cycle Battery is available in several constructions:-

Wet Cell - The cheapest and if mounting in the Engine Bay of your vehicle, probably the best choice for you.

AGM - Absorbed Glass Mat. More expensive but quicker to recharge and will not spill. Also enables a deeper cycle (energy drain) without permanent damage than a conventional wet cell battery. Worth considering.

Calcium - No comment. (AGM not that much dearer and is superior)

Of course, the ultimate choice is up to you and how much you are prepared to spend. But paying a little more up front for a deep cycle battery, will give you a longer working life out of it.

AnswerID: 159148

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:21

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:21
If you call Exide they will tell you the Extreme is an 80AH battery.

Leroy
FollowupID: 413705

Follow Up By: itisi - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:16

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:16
Three out four of my batteries (between car/van) are Exide Extreme and all have marked 620 CCA and 80 A/H on them!!! When the other battery goes into retirement (Bosch) will replace with another Exide.

ARB also have a similar battery (house brand) for around the same price as an Exide and same specs. That was my first foray into these types around 3 1/2 years ago.And was hooked.....

By the way, Bosch appear to be good for starting but not much good for using as an auxillary
FollowupID: 413787

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 13:58

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 13:58
Leroy, I accept your offer:
"If you call Exide they will tell you the Extreme is an 80AH battery"

I notice you have rightly not claimed it's a "Deep Cycle battery"

Exide website claims it's not a deep cycle battery but a Cranking battery!

However if you ring them and they tell you the Exide Extreme is a genuine "Deep Cycle" battery, and not a 'Cranking battery' post it here with the phone number you rang and the persons name who you spoke with please!
FollowupID: 414350

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 14:16

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 14:16
Yes mine has 80 a/h on the sticker. This battery is used by many not only as a cranker but also to run fridges and accessories with long lasting success. No matter what the website says the good user reports speak for themselves.

Just had a quick look at the website, it's listed as a cranker but they also state this:

Thick Plates - Thick plate material is used to provide plenty of power plus the capacity to withstand repeated discharge.

There ya go, a crank battery with some deep cycle characteristics it's now obvious why this battery is held in high regard among the users.
FollowupID: 414353

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:06

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:06
Ray, you better tell Exide you have an 80a/h sticker on their cranking battery, as they are not aware of it!!

As to the "thick plates" I wonder if they use the term "thin plates" on their lesser quality batteries, wooops there are no lesser quality batteries L0L
FollowupID: 414414

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:36

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:36
hahaha, I deal with that often. Lack of communciation within the company is often a problem.

Yes I agree thin plates is what a good cranking battery must have.
FollowupID: 414420

Reply By: MichaelR - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:27

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:27
I have a wet cell deep cycle. The problem with most 4WDs is that 2nd batteries are restricted to about 300 mm in length. I have searched around to obtain the highest amp-hour battery in this length to give greater fridge life. And the winner is AmpTech (see www.supercharge.com.au). 100AH at about $135 at Ariel batteries in Clifton Hill (Vic) or at Autobahn. Seems to work OK.
AnswerID: 159190

Follow Up By: itisi - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:23

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 01:23
Trying to rack the cobwebs from the old grey matter here but I'm sure that Tyrepower also have the supercharge brand.
But I could be wrong.........again
FollowupID: 413788

Reply By: DARREN - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:55

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:55
I just happpily replaced my exide Extreme 80AH with another the same, it was just over 2 1/2 years old and powers my 60l Engel full time and I know I have given it a bit of a hard time and flattened it once or twice.

AnswerID: 159308

Reply By: Blackie - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:55

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:55
My local KMart has the Extreme for $150.00 at the moment. Is that a good price?
AnswerID: 159309

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:58

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 12:58
That's the normal price, they had it for $138 last week.
FollowupID: 413868

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 12:35

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 12:35
They were $156 this morning, they are on the rise.
FollowupID: 414325

Reply By: itisi - Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 17:36

Wednesday, Mar 08, 2006 at 17:36
Your lucky.
Our Kmart price is $165 so I wait till they have a 20% off sale

AnswerID: 159342

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 15:07

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 15:07
Below is the EXIDE website page relating ONLY to Deep Cycle batteries, the 'Extreme' is not mentioned on this page anywhere, neither is the word “HyBrid” mentioned or even implied anywhere on this page.
http://www.exide.com.au/products/deep-cycle.php

Below is the EXIDE website page named as PASSENGER VEHICLES which relates only to “passenger vehicles” and guess what, it does show the 'Exide Extreme' is stated to be a “Passenger Vehicle” battery, the word “HyBrid” is not mentioned or even implied anywhere on this page either.
http://www.exide.com.au/products/

The Exide Extreme is rated by Exide as only a Cranking battery with its technical specifications only rated as CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) and nowhere on any page of the Exide website is the Extreme stated or even implied to be a Deep Cycle battery.
I could not find anywhere on the Exide website the statement or even an implication that the Exide is rated in Amp Hours, of any number, as a Deep Cycle battery is only ever rated as a/h.

If I’m wrong, and the Extreme can be shown to be a Deep Cycle or even a “HyBrid” battery and not a Cranking battery on any page of the Exide website then I would appreciate being pointed to the relevant page!

Sure you can use an Exide Extreme to run a fridge, as you can also use any starting battery to run a fridge, but it does not last as long, will not re-charge as fast as an AGM battery and it will not run for as long as an AGM battery either.

It’s just a compromise battery when you want to buy a cheaper Aux battery!

And yes I’m sure those who use them will say I’m wrong, that they work and that’s all they are interested in, my point is so will any other Cranking battery, but when you go away for a few weeks you will have to start the vehicle to recharge the battery, and with an AGM Storage battery you don’t have that problem and overall long term owning costs are far lower as well.
AnswerID: 159720

Follow Up By: itisi - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:28

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:28
Yes, and we all know that "everything" we read on the internet is "gospel".
I had a Bosch N70 battery 700CCA for an aux and it would only give 1 night when using the car fridge, the Exide around 3 days before needing recharging.
The Exide clearly states on the label 620CCA, 150RC and 80AH.
ARB also have a similar battery (may even be made by Exide, I dont know). There are others around as well. They are even referred to as a "marine" battery in some places because of the hi current and deep cycle ability.
Yes it may be a compromise but so are lots of things in life.
I for one, am quite happy to stay with my current setup as are hundreds (or more) of others.
Having said that, when the time comes to replace the batteries, I may check out the Supercharge units
Rod
FollowupID: 414388

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:45

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:45
Yes mine has 80 a/h on the sticker. This battery is used by many not only as a cranker but also to run fridges and accessories with long lasting success. No matter what the website says the good user reports speak for themselves.

Just had a quick look at the website, it's listed as a cranker but they also state this:

Thick Plates - Thick plate material is used to provide plenty of power plus the capacity to withstand repeated discharge.

There ya go, a crank battery with some deep cycle characteristics it's now obvious why this battery is held in high regard among the users.

If it works, use it.
FollowupID: 414396

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:51

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 17:51
And I've found the beauty of this battery opposed to a pure deep cycle in the automotive situation is the speed of recharge. I had a devil of a job recharging my deep cycle even with huge welding cable, no probs at all with the exide. If it only lasts a coupla years I'm still happy because it does the job, and because it's cheap I don't worry about abusing it and premature death....a no worries battery :)
FollowupID: 414397

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:18

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:18
"I had a devil of a job recharging my deep cycle even with huge welding cable, no probs at all with the exide"

Ray, could it be the problem of the wrong choice of battery isolator - do you use a mechanical solenoid instead of electronic system ?

The facts are, an AGM will recharge faster than any wet cell battery, and that's what is required of any "storage" battery!!

I could get you an agm 90a/h deep cycle for 200 that will last for over 10 years when looked after... as you would, that's only 20 per year :-)
FollowupID: 414416

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:44

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 19:44
No the problem was the length of cable and a big heavy mother of a deep cycle, all sorted now with a battery of less resistance.

Yes I'll get an AGM after I've had some more use from the exide.

How long will the AGM last if not looked after. I prefer to enjoy life not worry about looking after batteries so they tend to get a hiding. The most important thing is that the system works to suit the user.
FollowupID: 414421

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 23:25

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 23:25
I have to ask the question, what makes the Exide Extreme the battery of choice with so many 4wd'ers ???

It's specifications are fairly basic, 150RC, 670CCA and costs about $135.

Many batteries have those same, or in some cases better specifications and some of those cost less than $100, however they don't have the 'loyal or is it fanatical' following as the Extreme....... why not ??

AnswerID: 162754