New Hilux suspension and wheels

Submitted: Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 21:57
ThreadID: 31638 Views:6488 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
g'day all,

I was wondering if anyone out there has had any experience wit their new hilux 4x4 regarding suspension and tyres. Its hard to find any sort of reputable advice -

what im after is - what is the largest tyre size that can fit on a standard height hilux?
(my friend has a single cab 4x4 and has fitted 265/70x17 Cooper ST's. They fit ok for the road but I reckon if he goes off road they will rub. he will put suspension on soon)

What height suspensions are out there for new hilux? brand and costs?

And what is the largest tyre that you can fit on a new hilux with suspension?

Thanks for any feedback you may post as Im sure this will help alot of people.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 22:23
Well I can't answer them all. You won't get more than about 50mm lift at the front. You can get more at the back, but not a lot of point in much more.

I fitted OME which cost me about $1,800 including greasable shackles.
On fitting, I got 43mm lift at the front, which has settled to 39mm; and 70mm at the back which has settled (including regular load) to 64mm. Settles further when loaded for trips, although I have also fitted Firestone air bags. Others may claim more at the front, but if true (after settling), they are probably limiting wheel travel a fair bit. And it is not brilliant in an IFS to start with.

I've also fitted 31inch tyres, which give another 25mm (or so) of lift. These tyres are above the legal limit (new National standard if adopted notwithstanding), but I was prepared to take my chances to get the benefits.

I don't know how big you could go, but for practical off road purposes, I wouldn't go much bigger than the 31s.

Fitting 17inch wheels is nuts in my view unless you are staying around the big cities. Buying good off road tyres to fit 17inch rims in country and remote areas will be difficult, if not impossible.

In my view, if you want more lift than I've achieved, you probably bought the wrong vehicle.
AnswerID: 159817

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 16:45

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 16:45
Hi.
Iwas reading the Daily Telegraph today & saw an add from TJM products which mentioned a new suspension kit for the hilux.
Try them on their web address.
Vince
AnswerID: 159949

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 20:48

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 20:48
a mate has put on arb springs front and back and runs 265/75-16 tyres same as 32inch. no problems and given 65mm overall lift but as norm said this tyre size is not legal and 'may' have insurance implications.

regards peter
AnswerID: 159978

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 11:10

Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 11:10
so what is the legal maximum tyre size and how do you work it out? Is it stated somewhere what the largest diameter for any particular vehicle is? How many off us will get shafted for not knowing the laws when we have an add fault insurance claim. This should be advertised.

TUFF_IFS_LUX
FollowupID: 414680

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 21:07

Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 21:07
TUFF IFS LUX,

Somewhere in here you'll find it for NSW.

FollowupID: 414776

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 21:10

Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 21:10
Where the Hell did that come from ?

Check out the RTA NSW site and search for vehicle modifications etc.

FollowupID: 414778

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 20:51

Sunday, Mar 12, 2006 at 20:51
all states have different laws relating to vehicle modifications. ckeck your states rta or eqivelant web site or give them a ring. suspension upgrade wont be a problem but you generally cant go above the next larger tyre size.
my rodeo has 265/65/16 which are 50 mm larger diametre than standard so this gives 25 mm lift but in nsw is technically illegal, if i had an accident, my fault and the insurance company thought my braking was a factor i may have problems with a claim. i accept this and hope my 35 years driving with no problems continues.
regards peter
AnswerID: 160128

Reply By: b.a.e - Monday, Mar 13, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Mar 13, 2006 at 21:38
For offroad purposes, King 16x8" steel rims. Cooper STT 245/75R16.
AnswerID: 160301