Near tragedy possible averted by 4wd

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 20:54
ThreadID: 31781 Views:2640 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Hi everyone,

Just watched seven news in Brisbane tonight and they reported on a little kid who went to chase a ball over a busy northern suburban road today and was subsequently struck by a 4wd. It looked like a Hilux from what I could see. Seven were beating this up a little bit in the pre-news promos and I think you all get the drift about "4wd vehicle runs child over"

The upshoot is that the little kid ran straight out in front of the 4x4 and went under it but luckily on this occasion was missed by the wheels and the car had enough ground clearance so that she received only a minor injury and will be out of hospital tomorrow.

On this occasion it would appear that the high clearance vehicle saved the day for the child which is a great thing. Had it been a conventional vehicle then things would have been a lot worse.

I just wanted to share this story with everyone as it goes against the usual flow a bit.

Best part is the young kiddy is fine. Her parents seemed greatly relieved and the poor woman driving the 4x4 is a bit of a mess as you could imagine.

Anyhow everyone have a good night.

Reply By: Laura B - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 20:59
Same as that footy player who "ran over own daughter" - news made out that he reversed over her and that 4wd have crud viewing out of mirrors - totally forgot to say that it rolled forward over her !!

Glad kid is ok!! what was the go with the 2nd lot of kids playing on railway tracks after the first 3 were killed - only heard half the story!

Laura b
AnswerID: 160749

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:04

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:04
Hi Laura,

Yes good news for the kid. I can't help with the kids on the tracks story as I missed that bit.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 415543

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 22:21

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 22:21
The 3 kids killed on the tracks was a week or so ago near Ipswich (Qld) I think.

The connection with this story is that the mother involved here was a close friend of the mother of the 3 kids killed.

Go figure......
FollowupID: 415560

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 10:59

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 10:59
Ozdyssey,
Where is that great dune photo taken .
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 415626

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 20:44

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 20:44
Willie

Byfield Qld north of Rocky - just south of Stockyard Point.
Breathtaking spot.

FollowupID: 415729

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:11

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:11
Thanks , it is a briliant photo .
FollowupID: 415748

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:00

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:00
Saw that item as well.

Interesting to hear the police officer say that she may have been saved because it was a four wheel drive with higher clearance.

What is Mr Scrubby going to say?
AnswerID: 160751

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:07

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:07
G'day Andrew,

I think that is the first time I have heard it reported that way.

As far as our mate at the Pedestrian Council is concerned, he will probably add it to his list of stats showing 4wd's involved in pedestrian accidents.
FollowupID: 415544

Follow Up By: rustytruck - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 23:39

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 23:39
Don't worry about what he says! What you need to worry about is the reply you will get when you attempt to become a member of the Pedestrian Council. You are entitled to make a donation to the cause but become a member..................forget it - it is a closed society. Try it - just to drive him mad!

rusty
FollowupID: 415572

Follow Up By: Rotty - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 11:02

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 11:02
I hope you were being facetious in saying "Our mate at the pedestrian Council", I think most forum contributors would have another term rather than mate!

Better having the good news that the child was slightly injured by a 4Wd rather than killed by a 4WD. Probably find that there are more children killed annually involving a normal street car than 4WD, but that does not put scrubby in the headlines.
FollowupID: 415627

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 11:18

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 11:18
Rotty,

Yes I was having a go at him. I thought that was pretty obvious.
FollowupID: 415631

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 19:02

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 19:02
Cobber, maybe??

FollowupID: 415710

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:09
Why on earth was a small child permitted to run out onto a busy suburban road?

Parents living near a busy road have a duty of care to protect their children.

In fact parents have a duty of care to look after their children FULL STOP.
AnswerID: 160759

Follow Up By: Laura B - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:15

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 21:15
just what i was thinking!!

but having 2 very small kids myself - it only takes
2 seconds and something happens - 2 weeks ago i got my 2 1/ yr old daughter out of 4b and because its just been lifted she can now see underneath it and before i had even shut the door she had put her hand on the exhaust and burnt her hand!! wasnt too bad and didnt need hospitalising but thats all it takes!!

Laura B
FollowupID: 415548

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:01

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:01
Jeez Jimbo, you've had kids, you know what it's like. What would you suggest, chain them up like a dog.

Drivers also have a duty of care not to run over kids but some don't realise it by the way they tear around the streets.

I'm willing to drive slower to help kids live, are you!
FollowupID: 415744

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:33

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 22:33
Ray,

I observe all the 50 and 40 Km/h speed limits. I refuse to speed in areas where kids may be. This is despite the turkeys who sit up my clacker pressuring me.

Drivers certainly have a reponsibility not to run over kids, BUT, if those drivers are acting in a responsible manner, observing the speed limit, driving a roadworthy vehicle, and a child appears from nowhere because some fool lets thier child run amok, it is not the fault of the driver.

My lads are now 16 and 20, (I know it's hard to believe that one with such angelic looks as mine could have boys of that age LOL) and were brought up strictly. Rules were rules and the road was a no-go zone.

I maintain my comment that that child should have been nowhere near a busy road. It's simple, and responsible, parenting.

FollowupID: 415753

Follow Up By: Qlddisco - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 10:38

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 10:38
have to agree with u there jimbo !!
FollowupID: 415843

Reply By: 4runner - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 23:50
Apparantley the kids that were killed on the railway line allegedly happened over the weekend, according to the news here in Perth. They had been warned about an hour before the tragedy took place to move away by the police, but received a 000 call to say that 3 young children had been killed on the railway line. More than that I cant tell you, as thats what the news on the TV said. Never let the facts get in the way of a good story, no matter how wrong the day and dates are. The media will beat anything up as long as it gets them the ratings
AnswerID: 160804

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 10:29

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 10:29
Channel 7 always over exaggerates in their news promos. I got no time for their news readers here in Perth Miss Piggy with the face lifts but not the neck and I Love me Rick.
AnswerID: 160875

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 12:25

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 12:25
The 3 train track deaths...all around 8 years old, hadn't been home most of the day, were miles from home, parents knew not where they were and had been told to move on earlier in the afternoon. Older brother had been killed in a car "accident" sometime recently while trying to evade the police. Oh, and they were indigenous...mother claims police had a responsibility to bring 3 now deceased home earlier in day whenthey were asked to "move on"...
AnswerID: 160905

Follow Up By: Chucky - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:28

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:28
I thought it tragic how the mother got on t.v saying that she was a good parent and only took her eye's off the kids for a couple of minutes when they took off.
If my child disappeared and I had now idea where he was I would go out the find him.
And as well as the lost lives of the three kids, their deaths will weigh heavily on the driver of the train and the passengers who saw the bodies was well.
FollowupID: 415678

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:33

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:33
Agreed. Unfortunately for the responsible in society the social reproduction of such people generally continues on.
AnswerID: 160956

Reply By: Qlddisco - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:51

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:51
the words used by the father of two of the boys killed on the r,tracks >> just doing there normal thing going walkabout !!! they had an older boy who was killed only months earlier after he was killed in a police chase (stolen car) i think his age was only 14 ! its a tragedy to see such youngens dieing like this !! As a parent u really do have to have eyes in the back of your head !!! living in hervey bay and being on fraser is. quite alot >> we have seen so many close calls with vehicles narrowly missing kids (backpackers usually speeding) but still it is the parents job to make sure there kids dont get into these situations !!!
AnswerID: 160959