Engine differences in Troopys

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 02:05
ThreadID: 31787 Views:8783 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
I'm looking for a new truck as some of you would be aware. I'm considering various options. One is an old truck and transplant a Chevy V8 disel in it. The other is a new Toyota Troopy.

I've had a look at some 2002 and 2003 model Toyota Troopys and they seem to have the HZ diesel motor in 'em. No turbo as standard. And fair bit noisier than the GXL HDT motor. I do long distances and I've had enough of noise with my Ford Maverick ute.

I'm given to understand that the current TURBO diesels in Troopys have the same motor as the GXL Turbo Diesel - the HDT. First question - is that assumption correct?

Given that is correct, why is the power and torque lower in the Troopy engine than it is in the GXL Turbo Diesel? I've been told that's because the Troopy turbo diesel doesn't have an intercooler. Is that also correct?

Assuming that is also correct - why doesn't it have an intercooler?

After talking with my son's mate that specialises in performace cars and coupling that with what little I remember from my early days a diesel mechanic, I reckon I can get the same power as a GXL TD by fitting an intercooler. i.e power & torque up by about 15%.

That would be nice Troopy.

It's no good asking Toyota. They just wanna sell me one. The salesman just look at me with glazed looks. Ya can see thier little brains asking 'What's he on about?" 'What's an intercooler?" "My head hurts".

My rig, with caravan, would then be able to pass road trains like an arseshot greyhound as did my lost lamented GXL turbo diesel did, oh so long ago - about 5 days ago actually!

Wonder where it is? The Barstewards!!!

They'll be arseshot if I catch 'em!!

Bilbo