Spacecase Ultratherm iceboxes

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 14:40
ThreadID: 31802 Views:3444 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Has anybody used the new Spacecase Ultratherm Insulated Containers as iceboxes?

They are sold through ARB. They look pretty tough but are on the expensive side. Sometimes good things are expensive, but its nice, before you lay down dollars to have a few reasuring (or other) opinions.

What I'm keen to work out is if they are better than the Downunder or similar type ice boxes. I have seen many types including the Ultratherm but can't really judge their keeping cold 'abilities' .

For my type family car trips they are mainly 3-6 days away. We want to keep the size on any icebox to a minimum. When we camp we mainly take dry food stuff but some food and of course some drinks need that 'icebox' treatment.

In terms of volume I look at the smallest in the Ultratherm range with outside dimensions are 62 x 42 x 34 cm. (Inside 56 x 36x 27 cm). This sort of shape also packs well in a smallish vehicle.

Can any one offer any performance comparison information?

Thanks in advance, Family camper

Reply By: hound - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:28

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 16:28
If its the same box I got from arb a few years back(gray space case) there not ice boxes just storage boxes. I have one as a tool box. Anaconda has the same boxes at a better price.
AnswerID: 160955

Follow Up By: Family camper - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 17:22

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 17:22
Most of the Spacecase range is as you say - for basic storage. But they have the Ultratherm range (3 models) too.
Family Camper
FollowupID: 415687

Reply By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 23:40

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 23:40
is it me or does this not sound like an ad. cheers
AnswerID: 161057

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 23:47

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 23:47
paranoia?
FollowupID: 415774

Follow Up By: Family camper - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 07:06

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 07:06
Yes(Oldmagpie), it is you. I have no vested interests and am genuinely interested in your responses, are they any good? I would not use this forum for any ad purposes.

Cheers, Family Camper
FollowupID: 415793

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:47

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:47
G'day, first post here in two years of watching.
Utratherms are NOT the same as grey storage boxes. They are fully insulated.
I have a couple and they work great. Originally purchased for the boat but used everywhere...
They are also not new - the army has been using these for years. Actually the space cases and ultratherms were designed around army specs so durability is as good as it gets. One of the criteria is to be dropped from a chopper fully loaded and not fail.
I would however argue that they take up a lot more room than a fibreglass esky for a similar insulation value, so unless you plan on pushing the thing out of a moving vehicle, an ultratherm may be a bit of overkill......
AnswerID: 161143

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:52

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:52
"unless you plan on pushing the thing out of a moving vehicle"

hahahaha ..... kids can get a tad 'feral' when they're hungry. Might just be the safest option LOL
FollowupID: 415881

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 14:16

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 14:16
Gramps,

Is that two of the fattest burmese ever in your avatar?
I've got one....
Noisy little bugger aren't they?
AnswerID: 161147

Reply By: Family camper - Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 13:39

Saturday, Mar 25, 2006 at 13:39
Has anyone else used these Ultratherm boxes? What is your experience?

Just in case anyone didnt know they are made by Trimcast.

AnswerID: 162816

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 09:25

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 09:25
I recently bought a 45L down under 5 star ice cooler from Repco. I have used recently when the ambient temp varied 16 to 27 degrees. I freeze water in 2l juice bottles, and I reckon the ice box is great.

I have put ice in it on Monday gone camping and on friday morning there was still frozen ice in the bottles. I only put frozen food in it and my drinks (grog). The catch & seal on this ice box is very effective. Sparky
AnswerID: 164943