Are they having a loan of me??

Submitted: Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 07:07
ThreadID: 31828 Views:2619 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Hi all, put the truck[gq] up on the hoist yesterday for a check ever, b4 the trip, the guy ses I need the swivel hubs done & 4 new shocks [koni] . The shocks were not covered in oil & dirt like u would expect, if they were leaking just 'normal 'dirty , the hubs DID have a bit of dirt caked around them , but did'nt 'appear' to be fresh or untoward?? but I'm no mechanic,I mean , thats why I took it there , right? so maybe I should just have the work done [$ 1400] , EXCEPT , 3 yrs. ago I took my 60series to them, & they ' found ' the exact same work needed to be done.?
So I guess I need a second opinion, the veh. has done k200,000 , I bought it 6mths. ago [wa] from the trader section here, it was WELL maintained & the shocks have done about 40,000,. I hit everything with degreaser, & pressure hose so it's all shight & briney , & I figure by the time I get to Perth[Birdsville/ Alice/Central rd./Perth. I will get them checked again at the same place that serviced the veh. for the last 10 yrs. & go on there recommendation.[ I will be keeping a CLOSE eye on things on the way]. Am I been a idiot, & a tightass!!?? wotcha reckon?

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 07:19

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 07:19
Gee Phil , I think I would get a second opinion before you leave .
Willie .
AnswerID: 161068

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:05

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:05
will most prob. do that ,the only trouble is they are all nice and clean now ? no tell tale signs.. Phil
FollowupID: 415860

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:31
interesting that he is quoting you on the top of the range shocks....I would go somewhere else
AnswerID: 161080

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:07

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:07
Troll, they are the shocks already on there. They have,nt done that much work though.....
FollowupID: 415861

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:31

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:31
I'd ask him "why" the swivel hubs need to be done and seriously how he came to that conclusion. Do the shocks still dampen the suspension within limits and aren't the Koni's re-buildable anyway?
AnswerID: 161081

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:25

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:25
Konis are rebuildable.

sounds like this dude is being taken for a ride.

quite i had for Swivel hub from 4 places was $550+ parts was cheapest!

$165 for kit off ebay and few hours at home!
FollowupID: 415873

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 14:29

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 14:29
Precisely!

The bloke's a dick.... look elsewhere!
FollowupID: 415885

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 21:28

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 21:28
Cost me $300 to rebuild 4 konis.(well i didn't do it they did)
FollowupID: 415994

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 12:35

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 12:35
Hey truckster if you can do swivel hubs in a couple of hours i 'ii give you a job!..^_^..
FollowupID: 416083

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:34

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 08:34
If the hubs are worn, your steering may be "off" (assuming that they aren't bad enough for the wheels to fall off :). If the shocks are crook, steering, braking and ride quality can be affected. These things may not easily recognizeable at the moment but its a LONG way and a lot of driving to Perth.
Get a second opinion, and from experience it's better to spend BEFORE the trip, rather than during it.

PS Every time I've been to a certain national suspension chain , my entire suspension needs replacing....funny that.
AnswerID: 161082

Reply By: dinodog- Central Coast NSW - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:04

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:04
phil, I think he is having a go. How in heavens name can he make the asumption that ALL your shockies need replacing, has he done a dynamic test on them all? How can he do this with the vehicle sitting on a hoist, he can't. As for the swivel hubs what needs attention, wipers/seals, bearings, cvs? he can't say so for sure unless he strips them down. The only thing he can see are the wipers for leaks and that would have to be very obvious or some extreme scoring to the swivel itself. Take your vehicle to a specialised 4x4 suspension business and get second opinion and even if you don't know what is going on be there when they test things and ask questions that way you put them on the spot and you learn whats going on.
AnswerID: 161088

Follow Up By: dinodog- Central Coast NSW - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:08

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:08
just another thought, when I buy a vehicle I always source a repair manual for it. even if you are not mechanically minded at least you have a reference point as to what is involved in certain repairs and most also give some indication of how to detect faults and how to test certain parts and systems. cheap insurance.
FollowupID: 415812

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:55

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 09:55
Hi Phil,

A second opinioin might be worth a shot I think.

Hope it gets sorted for you.
AnswerID: 161102

Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:10

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 12:10
Thanks all for your advise, i,m off now to get a second opinion!! cya,
FollowupID: 415862

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:02

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:02
Hes gonna burn ya mate, Shocks can be tested easily and hubs..well in my espierence with GQ's 200,00 isnt the norm for front end repairs on a GQ..even under harsh driving conditions. Unless of course river crossings have been the norm for previous owner and never changed the diff oil.

Ange.
AnswerID: 161175

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:38
I've had them ($14 test at nobull place) say they couldn't test shockers because of the weight of my rig ...

where they bull sh1tting?

Andrew.
FollowupID: 415982

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 21:07

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 21:07
All shocks can be tested. Rig weight has nothing to do with it. They may have meant that the equipment they used to test "on car" shocks was not capable of handling the weight of your rig.
FollowupID: 415987

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:02

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:02
Hi Phil - check your manual, but I think Nissan recommend the front hubs be repacked every 40,000 k. If so, then they are due at the 200K service.
He may just be following the book on that one.
As to shockies, an indication of wear is simple - do they stabilise quickly after a bump, or is there some ossilation. With only 40K on the shocks, it is hard to believe they need anything......Keith
AnswerID: 161217