Ayres rock with young child

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 14:26
ThreadID: 31869 Views:4627 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
Gday all

We are doing a trip through the centre in June, and will be visting Ayres rock. My Question is, Has any one climbed the rock with a young child in a back pack (2 yrs), There doesnt seem to be any restrictions for this.

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 14:38

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 14:38
Would not recommend it!

Climbing the Rock is not a "walk up the hill". It is quite steep in parts.
Certainly would take a stronger man than me GungaDin!

Besides, the local Coories don't want anybody to climb it anyway.

AnswerID: 161339

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 14:43

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 14:43
I have been there 5 times and never noticed anyone doing that. Hope your bl**dy fit. Can't even do it myself. Got to chicken rock, sat down to tie my camera to my belt and started to slide, I figured if this ass of mine didn't get grip there was no way was I going any further. Would reccomend the aboriginal guided tour around the base, very interesting.
Barb
AnswerID: 161340

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:02

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:02
Like others, I wouldn't recommend it. The Olgas were just as interesting for us. Try a walk through the Valley of the Winds, or a "sedate" 4wd around them. (But go the right way around, not like me!)
AnswerID: 161345

Reply By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:26

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:26
I would not recommend trying it.
It is quite difficult without anything on your back.
My wife could only make it to chicken rock, she is quite fit, but started to lose traction and lost her nerve to go any further. She had to sit on her backside and scrabble back down. I would suggest giving it a miss and just do the base walk, allow a couple of hours and take plenty of drinking water.

AnswerID: 161352

Reply By: Perry - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:50

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 15:50
Climbed with my daughter in backpack in 1985 when she was 18 months old.
Of course I was a lot younger then too. Didn't have any problems though and it didn't take any longer than when I'd climbed ten years previously.
Go for it, it all adds to the experience.
Perry
AnswerID: 161353

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:02

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:02
We did it with a walking three yr old and I made sure he was securely tied to me with a piece of rope.

The wind can be ferocious up the slope, and it would take nothing to lose your balance with the windage of a backpack.

But plenty of people do it.

You makes yer own decision when you are there. Don't have anyone make it for you - either way.

enjoy

Ken
AnswerID: 161355

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:20

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:20
Please respect the local aboriginal culture and stay off the Rock. We would not like anyone climbing over our churches. Surely we can do that much for them after what we have done to them.
AnswerID: 161356

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:22

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:22
What about my right to climb the rock? I respect the Aboriginal culture, climbing the rock is an Australian right I think. And what have I done to them but treat them with the same respect I give every person. You may have done something to them I didn't.

What has happened in the past is just that, a reflection of the values and culture at the time, things are very different now, for goodness sake man Women even have the vote now, should we not climb on them either?

FollowupID: 416098

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:35

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:35
Ian H.
WAKE UP!!!
FollowupID: 416101

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:37

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:37
What dya mean ACDC?

FollowupID: 416102

Follow Up By: atoyot - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:08

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 11:08
The impression that I got is that they don't like people climbing the rock cause so many of them get killed; nothing to do with culture as such, so I don't know what thats got to do with churches.
FollowupID: 416206

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:30

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:30
I carried my two year old Nephew up the rock in a back pack years ago and it really wasnt a problem. Obviously its a bit harder but you know your own fitness. As for the " local coories" most of them arent locals anyway ( just blow ins after a buck ) and when they take about $25 bucks off you when you enter the park I reckon the choice about climbing it is yours. If they were serious about you not climbing it they could always drop the price a bit for those who just want to look at it, its all about MONEY.
Id personally climb it while you still can!

Have fun
AnswerID: 161359

Follow Up By: rob1 - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:49
Agree with you Hairy, if they didn't like "whities" or anyone for that matter, climbing the rock they would have no trouble closing it off permanantly. It's all about the $$$$.

Rob
FollowupID: 416115

Reply By: ingo57 - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:43

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 16:43
Thankyou every one for your responses, hope its not a windy day!!!

theres no way Im driving all that distance without climbing the sucker, besides the photo will make a great family chrissy card.

AnswerID: 161360

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:24

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:24
They close the climb if it gets too windy or too hot.
FollowupID: 416099

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:39

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:39
Or if it rains as per our last trip :)))
FollowupID: 416103

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:51

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:51
Al planned to climb the rock, took one look at and decided no way....it was closed for 2 of the 3 days we were there, you take your chances with the weather,
FollowupID: 416105

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:59

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:59
I know how he feels :) Decided to open the purse strings and take the helicopter flight instead. Magic from the air. Pity they can't travel all around the Rock though :(
FollowupID: 416106

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:14

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:14
why is that Gramps, can't the fly over the sacred bits?

would love to see it from the air
FollowupID: 416109

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:25

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:25
Yeah, the sacred sites thing is the 'official' reason but the cynic in me says it may have something to do with maintaining the value of the walkaround tours and some sort of traditional accommodation offering etc.

Glad we walked around it back in 84 - FREE - with very few restricted areas. Same with the Olgas. Very restricted now compared to then. Take the helicopter flight if you get the chance (Rock + Olgas around $200pp). You won't regret it.
FollowupID: 416112

Reply By: johnsie - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:34

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 17:34
Dont call the Central Aboriganals Coories unless you want a black eye its a east coast term and their opion of a east coast Aboriganal is less than cordial a lot of the time.
AnswerID: 161364

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 21:03

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 21:03
These days they will give you a black eye for calling hem sir!
FollowupID: 416139

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:54

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:54
I recon the climb will be ok , but watch the dingos lol
AnswerID: 161377

Follow Up By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:45

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:45
They shot em all
Barb
FollowupID: 416160

Reply By: rob1 - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:57

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 18:57
ingo57
It is VERY steep and SLIPPERY. There are anumber of plaques at the base in memory of the people who have died while climbing the rock.
As was said, it is your decision whether or not to climb the rock with a child. All I would advise is use EXTREME care. If you slip and fall, there is NOTHING, I repeat, NOTHING to grab onto to stop your fall.

Rob
AnswerID: 161379

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:17

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:17
I climbed Ayers Rock/Uluru on New Years Day 1979.

Me mate took his 6 month old son up there in a front pack at the same time.

Its nice at the top with a cool breeze washing over you, even in the heat. Didn't take any water with us(still full of beer from the night before) but we were able to drink from little pools along the way. It saved our bacon.

Just be sensible when climbing and watch where you put your feet
AnswerID: 161390

Reply By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:35

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:35
I am glad to see that you are still calling it Ayres Rock
AnswerID: 161394

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:57

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 20:57
Heres a few things to keep in mind. Just because you paid a small fortune to climb it doesnt mean you will be able to.
If you go to the following website you can see how often it has been closed in the past
http://www.deh.gov.au/parks/uluru/vis-info/safety.html

For safety reasons the climb will be closed under certain circumstances.

Heat - closed at 8:00am if the forecast maximum temperature for Yulara is 36 degrees centigrade or more;

Wind - closed if the estimated wind speed at 2500ft is 25 knots or more;

Storms - closed if there is any storm activity between NW and SW closer than 50km to Uluru;

Rain - closed if there is a greater than 20% chance of rain in the next 3 hours;

Lightning - closed if there is a greater than 5% chance of thunderstorms in the next 3 hours;

Cloud - closed if cloud descends to or below the summit of Uluru;

Darkness - closed from half an hour after sunset to half an hour before sunrise;

Rescue - closed during all rescue operations on Uluru.

Cultural Reasons - closed upon request from Traditional Owners following a death or due to a cultural event or ceremony occurring.
AnswerID: 161397

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:16

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 09:16
Yes i got there and it was closed NOT HAPPY fortunatly it opened later and although I wanted to get sunset photos i climbed instead and got the photos next day.
My advice would be if it is open climb it dont put it off coz you may not get a next time.
And for those that say do the base walk instead or the valley of the winds yea yea did them as well and i dont care what anybody reckons is just as good nothing else compares to the summit walk
FollowupID: 416192

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:24

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:24
We climbed Ayres Rock two years ago and a mate had a 18 month old daughter who we carried up no worries at all but he carried her 1/2 way and I carried her the rest.
AnswerID: 161413

Reply By: Laura B - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:59

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 22:59
i was thinking the same about our 2nd daughter who will be one when we go.....but then my other thought was how do we get 1st daughter up there who will be three.....gonna stick to the base walk....a very good 9 km walk....starting to get fit now!!LOL!!

Laura B
AnswerID: 161426

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 00:05

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 00:05
personally I wouldn't take a chld up there, it's bloody steep, but it's personal choice, I would never climb it but that's because I would never be able to handle the coming back down it part. The kids and I sat on it part way up and got our pics taken and that was it for me, I still had to come down that short distance on my backside....LOL....

The base walk is good, as are the other minor walks, the Olgas are easier to walk around

Lyn
FollowupID: 416170